We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beds, friendly staff”
Review of La Marejada Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Marejada Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Playa Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Port Perry, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great beds, friendly staff”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Home to the comfiest beds I've ever stayed in at a hotel! Gail is an excellent host and will arrange your day trips for you. The pool is clean and a great spot to refresh during the mid-day heat. The staff at the bar and restaurant are super friendly. Tips: Pay cash for everything in Playa Grande, you'll save money.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OntarioMountainMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    41
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
93
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We stayed next door to La Marejada at the Rip Jack and went here for dinner and lunch once each. Very good fish tacos and the entire menu was very affordable. When we got back late from the turtle tour the owner even stayed open later for us and made us dinner. Even gave us some complementary pulpo (octopus) antipasto and shots after! Lovely people and friendly service and good food. Would go back in a second!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at La Marejada - it is a great boutique hotel with 8 rooms, a small bar/restaurant and a small (but ample) pool. The location is great, just 3 min walk to beach! The food was good, but a little spendy. The drinks were great and reasonably priced (try the mojito)! The staff at the bar was so wonderful and they even offered to make our kids items that were not on the menu (such as pasta w/ butter). Gail and Marco were so nice and helpful! The hotel also offered great little extras like ice chests and boogie boards that can be borrowed, a communal clothes line, and $5 laundry service. Each room has a little table and chairs for sitting outside and relaxing. It was a very intimate and enjoyable experience - I was thinking it would be fun to rent out the entire hotel with a group of friends!! The only reason I'm not giving it 5 stars is because it was difficult to get Internet in the room (we are in CR for 6 weeks and my husband has to work from here and needs a good Internet connection) and because there was no small refrigerator or safe in the room. If none of that matters to you, you'll think this place is a 5! We would definitely stay there again!!

Room Tip: Room #1 has the biggest outdoor patio, but it is next to the bar (not sure how noisy that is?). We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

I had the whole fried red snapper which was excellent. Served with salad & fried homemade potato chips. My wife had their shrimp Fernando, in garlic sauce with crostini. Help was very friendly & it made for a great evening.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MBondman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We loved our stay at La Marejada!! Where do I even start?
It's hard to find an affordable and quaint place to stay but La Marejada ticks all of the boxes. The rooms are clean and updated with a little terrace to have an evening cocktail or read your book. The second floor units are a little bit more private than the first floor rooms.The pool is very clean and there are hammocks througout the property to relax (if the ocean isn't your thing). The location can't be beat with just a short (2 minute) walk to the beach. There is a little restaurant to satisfy all of your cravings - I would highly recommend the fish tacos and tuna tartare.
Gail (owner) is very friendly and is happy to help organize tours, surf boad rentals, and taxis to and from the airport (and her prices are well below everywhere else).

We loved our vacation so much that we're thinking about making it an annual trip. Places like this are few and far between so if you're lucky enough to stay here, enjoy it!!!

Room Tip: The rooms on the second floor are more private than the first floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monique p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cody, Wyoming
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We stayed at La Marejada just one night as they were booked the rest of our time there. I am glad we did. It is a small piece of property but has all the essentials. The beds were comfortable, shower nice - although it was a hand-held shower unit so not as easy as a standard shower. The pool outside was refreshing after our time at the beach. And there were ample outdoor showers and hoses to rinse off all of our beach stuff at the end of the day. There are also lines to hang wet bathing suits, etc. My favorite part of this hotel is the restaurant. The food was delicious and affordable. La Marejada is right next door to Rip Jack and enjoys easy beach access through a 3 minute trail. It is also only about a 5 minute walk to the Frijole Surf Shop for surf and boogie board rentals. All in all I recommend this place without reservation.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank momwithtoddler46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Just got home from a great vacation in Playa Grande, Costa Rica. We stayed at La Marejada Hotel for a few days. The place is very clean, the beds are comfy, the rooms are simple, but tastefully decorated, the pool is adequate, refreshing and clean, friendly staff, and best of all, it's a short walk to the beach. The restaurant has a sushi night and it's fresh and delicious and don't forget to order a mango or papaya smoothie before going anywhere. The owner Gail is wonderful and accommodating. She gave us tips about the waves and the area and even lent us a boogie board, umbrella and a blanket! She also helped us book our shuttle/taxi ride to the airport. Really nice lady and nice hotel. I'll recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: All rooms are similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachnSunset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Grande
0.0 mi away
Hotel RipJack Inn
Hotel RipJack Inn
#2 of 6 in Playa Grande
377 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Cantarana
Hotel Cantarana
#1 of 6 in Playa Grande
274 reviews
0.2 mi away
Playa Grande Park Hotel
Playa Grande Park Hotel
#6 of 6 in Playa Grande
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Bula Bula
Hotel Bula Bula
#4 of 6 in Playa Grande
371 reviews
2.9 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
2.1 mi away
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Marejada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Marejada Hotel

Property: La Marejada Hotel
Address: 200m Sur de Minae, Playa Grande, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa Grande
#4 Family Hotel in Playa Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Marejada Hotel, located in the quiet town Playa Grande is a hotel for surfers and beach goers alike. The hotel is located a quick walking distance to the white sand beach of Playa Grande. Our on site restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner focusing on fresh, homemade food made with the best local ingredients available. The property itself is shaded with mature palms, has an inviting pool to cool off in, as well as hammocks for relaxing outside in the tropical ambiance. The rooms are simple, clean, and stylish, with A/C, hot water, and comfortable beds and linens. The surrounding national park ensures an experience for nature lovers and gives a tropical sleepy charm to the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Marejada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Marejada Playa Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing