We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“just as good as the first time.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Marejada Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Marejada Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Playa Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Kinloch Rannoch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“just as good as the first time.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2009

Our return did not disappoint...same friendly ,helpful owners, not forgetting to include Manu at Marbar, friendly competent staff serving delicious freshly cooked food and drinks at reasonable prices and some local 'characters' all add to the experience.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lillibiscuit2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    41
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
92
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2009

We just LOVE La Marejada!! GREAT service from the girls, clean rooms and affortable! We would absolutely return there. If you are going to Costa Rica and Guanacaste and you are looking for a nice small hotel away from the tourists in Playa Tamarindo, you should go to Playa Grande and La Marejada. Nice beach and you can walk to Playa Tamarindo, watch out for the tide =). You should rent a car though,.. There's a small(!) supermarket with not so much to choose from and it is not that fresh. So you really have to have a car... at least for a few days. (The girls can help you with that).
And you have to see the turtles!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdventureNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new england
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2009

This is the type of place to stay if you want great food, clean rooms, excellent service, and beach access. My girlfriends and I had an incredibly relaxing time at La Marejada Hotel. The kitchen served up wonderful, fresh food; our room was refreshed everyday; the pool was clean and sparkling; the atmoshphere was amazing. Carli and Gail made us feel so welcomed and we will definately stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cincodan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St John
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2009

Very clean, comfortable beds, peaceful, relaxing atmosphere, Great waves out front, everything is perfect about this place. My all time favorite place to stay in Costa Rica. The owners Gail and Carli are very cool and attentitive to your every need. It's a great place.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marjiewana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2009

My boyfriend and I just got back from our trip to Playa Grande. We read the reviews of all of the hotels in the area before we went and picked La Marejada based on the reviews. Now that we have been, I dont even think the reviews do this place justice. It was sooo amazing, we felt at home, comfortable and well taken care of from the moment we got there until the day we left. Plus it was a much appreciated added bonus that it was soo incredibley affordable!!

The rooms were super clean and the bed was cozy. The air conditioning worked wonderfully and the shower was hot immediately and hot all the way through long showers. It was fun getting to know all of the other travelers that were staying at the hotel- it was small and quaint so you really felt like you were part of the Playa Grande community right off the bat.

In short- the atmosphere was great, Gail and Carly (the owners) were more than accomodating and kind hearted and my boyfriend and I will for sure go back!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SD2329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2009

If you want to stay in a hotel that makes you feel totally at home, relaxed, comfortable, and at the same time be close enought to walk to the beach in less than 2 mintues, than La Marejada is for you. This was my first time to visit Playa Grande and we could not have picked a nicer hotel. We were originally staying in Tamarindo, but after a day trip to Playa Grande we checked out of our hotel there and into La Marejada. The food was amazing and the three owners (Gail, Carli, and Lindsey) could not have been nicer or more accomadating! The pool and rooms were very clean and the A/C kept us very cool - added bonus that the rooms were so affordable my friend and I were each able to each get our own. This is one place I plan on going time and time again!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 101lynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2009

My girl friend and I and another couple stayed at Hotel La Marejada for several days in mid-June. I decided to stay here based on other reviews and wasn't disappointed. The hotel was basic but very clean. Each room has A/C which worked well and ample hot water. One minor complaint is that the room had no place to put suitcases or hang clothes so the suitcases stayed on the floor. The hotel is two minutes from the beach in Playa Grande and judging from all the surfers, Playa Grande is a great surfer's beach. Gail and Carli, the owners, are incredibly nice and helpful. We had heard about a beach called Pirate's Cove (a great side trip by the way) from other guests. When we asked Gail about how to get there, she told us she and some friends were going there that morning and we were invited to go. There is a nice bar/restaurant at the hotel and a continental breakfast is included. Cash is king in Costa Rica and we paid $55/night in cash.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vince47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Grande
0.0 mi away
Hotel RipJack Inn
Hotel RipJack Inn
#3 of 7 in Playa Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.2 mi away
Playa Grande Park Hotel
Playa Grande Park Hotel
#6 of 7 in Playa Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Cantarana
Hotel Cantarana
#1 of 7 in Playa Grande
5.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Bula Bula
Hotel Bula Bula
#4 of 7 in Playa Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
2.9 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
9.3 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Marejada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Marejada Hotel

Property: La Marejada Hotel
Address: 200m Sur de Minae, Playa Grande, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa Grande
#4 Family Hotel in Playa Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Marejada Hotel, located in the quiet town Playa Grande is a hotel for surfers and beach goers alike. The hotel is located a quick walking distance to the white sand beach of Playa Grande. Our on site restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner focusing on fresh, homemade food made with the best local ingredients available. The property itself is shaded with mature palms, has an inviting pool to cool off in, as well as hammocks for relaxing outside in the tropical ambiance. The rooms are simple, clean, and stylish, with A/C, hot water, and comfortable beds and linens. The surrounding national park ensures an experience for nature lovers and gives a tropical sleepy charm to the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your La Marejada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Marejada Playa Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing