We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service in a small package!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Playa Grande Park Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Playa Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Playa Grande Park Hotel is a neat, clean & comfortable place to stay. All staff was welcoming and helpful. My husband and I stayed for four nights and enjoyed the courtyard, food, and nearby beach. Our hotel room had a queen bed, twin bed, a/c unit, built in desk/closet space, refrigerator, and 3/4 bath.
We went on several excursions that were set up through the hotel: turtle watching, ATV, and ziplining. All were on time and as advertised.
We loved the small restaurant that is part of the Park Hotel. After staying at the hotel, we went on to a business trip at the Four Seasons Hotel in Costa Rica, and we both agreed that the food at Playa Grande Hotel was WAY better! We especially loved the #2 breakfast with scrambled eggs, fresh fruit, and rice & beans, as well as the watermelon smoothie with milk and honey, and chicken w/ steamed veggies dinner!
Thanks to the staff for helping us to have a great vacation!

Room Tip: There are 2 floors. We were on the ground floor. I don't think it would make any difference whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Profteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

We arrived at the hotel late at night around 10:45. Because our flight was arriving so late, the hotel sent us a menu so we could preorder our dinner. They kept the restaurant open for us which was really appreciated as we were so hungry. Some of our group stayed at the hotel and some at the Beach House. The Beach house was perfect and the setting was wonderful. Martin, Rebekah and Todo were amazing in helping organize our transportation, making sure we had everything we needed and tracking my luggage which got lost. The staff go beyond their job descriptions to ensure you are looked after! We would definitely stay at the hotel again!!

Room Tip: I would definitely recommend staying at the Beach House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank julie702902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We (25 an 27-years old) stayed for 3 nights (24.02.-26.02.) at Playa Grande Park Hotel on our Costa Rica trip.
The woman from the reception was so nice and friendly!! :-) There was a mistake with our credit card so our superior room was not reserved, but instead we got the honey moon villa (beach houses next to the beach) without surcharge! It was really perfect there (for example everything you need was in the kitchen, very clean, quite) :-) We had breakfast in the hotel and this was fresh and delicious. The atmosphere is really good there, friendly, quite, nice.
We did a trip to a turtle's beach in the evening with a guide. It was a recommendation from the reception. The trip was amazing, we were picked up at 7 p.m. Then we needed 20min by car to the beach. There we were 4,5 hours in the dark and we saw 2 big turtles who came out the ocean, to dig a whole and put their eggs in. There just 5 beaches in the world where these big turtel put their eggs! It was a very stunning experience!!
The beach next to the hotel is bright and large, where you have some strong waves in the morning for surfers and in the afternoon it's good for swimming. There are just a few people and sometimes you can buy a coconut. ;-)

Best regards from Hamburg/Germany! :-)

Room Tip: Get the honey moon villa ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Alina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

My husband and I could not have had a better time on our Costa Rica vaca! The Park Hotel was the perfect place for us! The staff was awesome - Charlie, Brittany, Alexandria. The beach is a 3 minute walk. A great surf shop is just up the road. Many restaurant options within walking distance. The rooms were clean. This hotel is everything you would need in Playa Grande! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jhtraveller01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

The people make the difference - from the kitchen to everyone at the front desk. The food was wonderful and fresh. Anything we needed, they were there to help. The beach house is perfect for a family, and being there is tranquil and relaxing. A quick walk to the beach and some great places to eat and drink nearby. We did rent a car for a few days, which really helped. The market for food is about 8-10 km away. In the courtyard of the houses there is a BBQ grill, and it was fun to pick up some fresh local fish to grill. It was a home away from home in a little slice of paradise.
The A/C cools the main bedroom fine but it can be toasty in the rest of the house, if you prefer to be around 70 degrees. The TV in our unit was old and missing pieces but worked. We too had some hot water issues at first, and a bad leak under the sink. Management sent someone immediately.
We ABSOLUTELY would love to go and stay again.

Stayed: March 2014
2  Thank bpratte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

A great welcome from Rebekah set the tone for a lovely stay. We had a two bedroom suite with kitchen and living room, spacious and cool. Rooms are grouped around a pretty garden and pool. Breakfast is freshly cooked to order and free coffee is available all day.
The location is excellent, a short walk to the wonderful beach, and very close to the National Park office. When we were there the turtle nesting season was drawing to a close and the Park office was closed, but the hotel had arranged an independent guided visit to another beach for us. This night tour was a great success, the guide was knowledgeable and we were very lucky to see a Pacific Grey turtle arrive on the beach, dig her nest and lay her eggs.
An ideal place to stay in Playa Grande.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Greenjag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

my girlfriend & I stayed a couple of nights in this place, is a very quiet area, The room is always clean and comfortable, food is just great, people who work at the hotel were really friendly and helpful, you will not be disappointed, Playa Grande is a beautiful place to stay and relax.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dffarrulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Grande
0.2 mi away
Hotel RipJack Inn
Hotel RipJack Inn
#2 of 6 in Playa Grande
391 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#11 of 24 in Tamarindo
2,619 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Cantarana
Hotel Cantarana
#1 of 6 in Playa Grande
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
5.2 mi away
Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa
4.2 mi away
Seis Playas Hotel
Seis Playas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Huacas
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Grande Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Grande Park Hotel

Address: Main road into Playa Grande estate | 250 to Northeast from MINAE, Playa Grande 50309, Costa Rica (Formerly Playa Grande Surf Hotel)
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Playa Grande
Price Range: £62 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Playa Grande Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape from your busy life and experience true Pura Vida! Playa Grande Park Hotel in Guanacaste Costa Rica is a charming Spanish style hotel like no others in the heart of Playa Grande. Just minutes away from the beach, discover the comfort and service of our hotel nestled in the beauty of a pristine natural park to create the memory of a lifetime. When Pura Vida is in the air it is all about you. Our beautiful Playa Grande hotel is the place to relax and unwind. Pick one out of four room types that will cater to your every need for an unforgettable vacation. Start your day right with the complimentary hot breakfast, enjoy the waves and miles of untouched beach, relax by the pool in the courtyard surrounded by tropical plants, and even take a guided turtle nesting tour. Try the creations of our world-class chef, go surfing, jetskiing, diving, fishing, horseback riding - you name it! We want you to have the best time of your life and Playa Grande Park Hotel in Guanacaste Costa Rica provides everything to make that happen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Playa Grande Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing