We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Isolated Paradise”
Review of Hotel El Manglar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel El Manglar
Ranked #2 of 6 Playa Grande B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Isolated Paradise”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Great place. It truly is a little piece of paradise. The pool and setting around it oozes tranquility and relaxation. Michael and Daniel were running the place when I arrived and Uncle Tito was there as well. They were super friendly and helpful. Michael gave an excellent surfing lesson. If you want some seclusion, this is an awesome place to relax. You can take the water taxi over to Tamarindo during daytime hours if you feel the need for more bars, restaurants, activity, etc. I actually went the other direction back to Playa Grande for smaller crowds when I moved on to Tamarindo. In October, I had no problem sleeping in the standard room with the fan blowing on me.

Room Tip: There are limited options for eating on Playa Grande during the low season, so hit the grocery and u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    46
    7
    7
    6
See reviews for
42
67
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Great Hotel. Amazing wibe and surrounding. Very close great waves. Pool and all amenities perfect. The best place to settle down for more time and relax. Hotel is managed by two brothers, super cool guys. The standart is really high comparing to price. Only good things about this place. Dont resist to go there, You wont regret it for sure!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kooowall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2013

El Manglar is the best option around Playa Grande! It has a great pool, nice and clean spaces and cool hosts. Music is always going on (not loud) and the beach is just 2 minutes away from this great spot.
Javi and Fede are always trying to make you feel like home and they will get you up on a surfboard if you want to give it a try.
I would come back anytime!

Room Tip: Ask for the Villas room if you want AC and private kitchen. Even though there are other options depe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luciano R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annandale, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Perfect location on the most perfect beach in the world. The staff and the service make you feel like you're part of their family. I had a great time learning how to surf from Federico and they gave us great advice on things to see and do in the Tamarindo/Playa Grande area. My highest possible recommendation!!!!

Room Tip: I stayed in one of the suites - they greatly exceeded my expectations!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federico d, Gerente at Hotel El Manglar, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Mike,

Thank you for choosing us for your holidays! We always look to made our guest stayed as unique, as comfortable and as memorable as possible.

Best regards!

Federico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

I have been in Hotel el Manglar a few times with my husband and we really like it! The beach is really close, not even a one minute walk. The owners, Javier and Federico are really nice guys who provide a great service. The beach is beautiful weather you want to surf or just chill in the white sand. Last time we rented cruise bikes from the hotel and took a ride in the sand to some really beautiful secluded beaches we found going to the right of playa grande (one of them with black sand!!) and also going left we went to playa tamarindo, it was amazing! We stayed at the rooms downstairs wich are really big and comfortable and each one has it's own BBQ grill, which is a huge plus. I have always found them really clean as well.
I really recomend this place if you want to relax in a beautiful beach and also if you want a more busy place to party or do some shopping tamarindo beach is really close.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pilibarba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federico d, Gerente at Hotel El Manglar, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear Pilar,

Thank you very much for choosing El Manglar Hotel as your destination to enjoy your holiday! I hope our service has been satisfactory and come back soon to our hotel!

It was a pleasure to serve you and assist you!

Best regards,

Federico de Mezerville
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights at El Manglar in the dorms and we are very happy with our stay. The owners and staff were really friendly. The location is ideal, across the street from Playa Grande, a beautiful quiet beach with amazing sunsets. We took surf lessons and that beach is perfect to learn during the day. The lesson was fun and really adapted to our individual paces.
Located close to Tamarindo as well if you want to go out and party! We had a great time and we would highly recommend the place and would definitely come again if we're in Costa Rica!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Val B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federico d, Gerente at Hotel El Manglar, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear Valerie,

Thank you so much for choosing us to spend your vacations! We really enjoy having you and help with your surf lessons!

Warm regards,

Federico de Mezerville
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heredia, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2013

I have been at El Manglar several times, and it always has been very confortable, the service, the price, the attention are always good.
Nobody uses shirts, and you meet new and interesting people from all around the world.

Great place to stay at.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federico d, Gerente at Hotel El Manglar, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear Alex,

Thank you for choosing us to spend your vacations! Is been a pleasure to meet you and spend some quality time!

Warm regards,

Federico de Mezerville
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Grande
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cantarana
Hotel Cantarana
#1 of 6 in Playa Grande
274 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel RipJack Inn
Hotel RipJack Inn
#2 of 6 in Playa Grande
377 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bula Bula
Hotel Bula Bula
#4 of 6 in Playa Grande
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Playa Grande Park Hotel
Playa Grande Park Hotel
#6 of 6 in Playa Grande
140 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#12 of 22 in Tamarindo
2,477 reviews
6.1 mi away
Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Manglar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Manglar

Property: Hotel El Manglar
Address: Palm Beach Estates Lot 147, Playa Grande 50308, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Grande
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel El Manglar 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Manglar is proudly managed by three costarican brothers and sister, that will make sure you have an enjoyable experience during your vacations. The hotel is suited with all you need to experience the beach life, enjoy nature and the beauty of life.We look forward to making your stay as unique, as comfortable and as memorable as possible. We’ll be delighted to share and show you all the beauty of our coast, enjoy surfing, our country and make sure that our favorite phrase is accomplished……all our friends always come back… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel El Manglar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing