We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect! Great staff, great location, and awesome pool bar!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel El Manglar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel El Manglar
Ranked #2 of 7 Playa Grande B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect! Great staff, great location, and awesome pool bar!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

A group of work friends and I all stayed in one of the apartments and I have to say our stay was so much fun! Def a good mix of family environment and young chill hostel to socialize at. Perfect location from the beach, it's actually in Palm Beach, which is a gated community, so I felt very safe. There was a nice little convenience store not too far away so we got all our needs there. Pool bar is awesome! Nathan was a great host and much fun was had.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissAlessMalice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    38
    7
    7
    5
See reviews for
33
55
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

We were coming from Tamarindo which was very crowded and touristy, so Playa Grande was a nice change of scene. They had a double private room available for $25 pp / night so we decided to book it. When you first enter, there is a beautiful outdoor terrace + pool with a shared kitchen, surrounded with palm trees. The rooms are a good size as well -- it gets quite hot at night but there are fans which help. I do have to mention that there were ants on the bed when I first walked in, so I ended up just sleeping in the upstairs bed which was ant-free.

The major bonus was the private access to the beach. Playa Grande was by far my favourite beach throughout our trip in Central America. It was beautiful! And uncrowded, which was a plus. I rented a surf board and surfed for a few hours -- it was only my second time and the tides can get quite high, so I recommend staying as close to the shore as possible.

Staff was very friendly and helpful as well. All in all, great hostel. Would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frances W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taganga, Colombia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

We planed to spend 3 nights, ended up spending 5 nights. It was perfect and a very, tranquil, nice atmosphere. The staff& owners are very helpful and friendly. As there is not much to do in playa grande, we spent our time with surfing at the nice beach just 1minute walk away.
The kitchen of the hostel/hotel is great to cook your owm food and prepare breakfast. We loved it, this place! Thanks to sergio and the owners for this great time.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

During my 4 months backpacking-trip through latin america I've visited several countries and stayed at a lot of different ho(s)tels but El Manglar was BY FAR the best one of all. Initially, I only had planned on staying for 4-5 nights but ended up staying for 10 and would have stayed even longer if I had had the time. The location is amazing: the stunning beach of playa grande is part of a national park and a nesting area for sea turtles. The hotel is only a few steps away from the beach. The busy town of tamarindo can be reached by about a 15min walk along the beach and a very short ferry boat ride across the rivermouth. In contrast to the (over)crowded beach of tamarindo, playa grande is peacefully quiet.
The hotel itself has a very relaxed and familiar atmosphere. It is surrounded by a beautiful garden with trees that provide shade. There's a swimming pool (the slackline across is especially fun) and a lot of chairs and hammocks. For those who want to cook, there is a well equipped outside kitchen and a supermarket nearby. For those who don't want to cook, there are several excellent restaurants only a short walk away. The hotel has different types of rooms. I've stayed in a nice, simple and clean 4-bed-drom with a bathroom. Since there are different room types there's also a variety of different guests that interact with each other: be it solo backpackers (like me), couples or families with children.
If you want to surf or to learn how to surf this is a great place: Surfboards can be rented and surf-lessons are offered. I went surfing every day and there was usually zero crowd (while at tamarindo beach usually 5 people were trying to surf the same wave).
But what makes this place so unique is not only its amazing location and the good surf, but also its staff: the two owners Javier and Federico both speak english, are super friendly and are very concerned to generously help you with whatever you need. Thank you for making me feel like home!

in short: no less than 5 stars for this unique place!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a-n-ee-n-a13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

This hostel is such a hidden gem in Playa Grande! Only a minute walk away from a beautiful beach and the outside kitchen is really cool. The pool is great and so is the service, such a nice atmosphere if you want to relax or have fun! Rooms are simple but a good size.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beegirl90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

The property is beautiful for peaceful staying and relaxation. We stayed in a confortable and fully equipped villa to make the experience more familiar and more affordable. Neat rooms with A/C and all that´s needed to make your a pleasant and relaxed stay. If your group don´t want to cook or BBQ (included in the Villa), you are invited to a 5 forks gourmet restaurant at the Cantarana. The hotel has a private trail through a beautiful lot, t right to one of the most marvelous beaches in the north pacific of Costa Rica. Playa Grande, surfer´s paradise. The family picture had to be next to a sign that reads... Welcome to paradise. Enjoy it!

Room Tip: We are a family of 5 and now are adults. The Villa sleeps confortably 3 adults. The solution, 2 youn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raguilarq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federico d, Gerente at Hotel El Manglar, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Roberto,

Thank you for this amazing review! In the name of all Hotel El Manglar Team want to thank you and we really love your stayed with us. It always ook forward to make our guests stayed as unique, as comfortable and as memorable as possible.

Pura vida,

Federico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scarborough
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

By far the best hotel I've stayed at I'm Costa Rica. The property is stunning, fun and has lots of things to do here. Pool with a slack line, bball net with multifunction astro turf area, ping pong, hammocks in the right places and palm trees! The sound of birds, monkeys and ocean waves add to the total experience. Mikey and the brothers are amazing and super accommodating and the ocean is a small path away. This place is totally Zen but not boring and it's on my list when I come back to Costa Rica! I will def recommend to everyone!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank byronious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Grande
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cantarana
Hotel Cantarana
#4 of 7 in Playa Grande
5.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel RipJack Inn
Hotel RipJack Inn
#1 of 7 in Playa Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bula Bula
Hotel Bula Bula
#2 of 7 in Playa Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Playa Grande Park Hotel
Playa Grande Park Hotel
#6 of 7 in Playa Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
1.2 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#11 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Manglar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Manglar

Property: Hotel El Manglar
Address: Palm Beach Estates, Playa Grande, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Grande
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel El Manglar 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Manglar is proudly managed by three costarican brothers and sister, that will make sure you have an enjoyable experience during your vacations. The hotel is suited with all you need to experience the beach life, enjoy nature and the beauty of life.We look forward to making your stay as unique, as comfortable and as memorable as possible. We’ll be delighted to share and show you all the beauty of our coast, enjoy surfing, our country and make sure that our favorite phrase is accomplished……all our friends always come back… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel El Manglar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing