We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice Hotel for small budget.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel El Manglar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel El Manglar
Ranked #2 of 7 Playa Grande B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very nice Hotel for small budget.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights at El Manglar. We had a basic room with a fan. The room could have used some work and a paint job but it was really clean.

The site itself is exceptionnel, lots of trees, beautiful pool amd a kitchen area. It's 30 seconds walk from the beach wich is awesome. The staff was nice and very helpful. The hotel spray some product on the whole site to kill mosquitoes and eradicate the dengue fever.

Just so you know the 2 restaurants nearby are very expensive and so the small market and transport. Be ready to pay a lot to eat so you don't want to pay much to sleep. Do not trust the local barman at the bar if he offers you deal on tours or transport. He might overcharge you or like in our case, never show up. Ask the staff at El Manglar instead.

From Tamarindo we paid 20$ for an unofficial taxi to get there and 80$ for a shuttle to continue our trip to Playa del Coco.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    38
    6
    7
    5
See reviews for
33
54
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I had heard many things about traveling in Costa Rica, the bugs would be bad, the rooms would be terrible, it would be dangerous for two young girls traveling alone. Needless to say upon my arrival I was quite intimidated... Then the Hotel El Manglar opened up its gates and I was greeted by a friendly smiling face. The 3 young men running the hostel were kind, helpful and fun! My room was more then I expected it to be. Clean, spacious, locking doors, private bathroom etc. There was surf lessons, board rentals (very inexpensive) body boards, kayaks, ping pong, slack lining, soccer, basketball... so many activities! The common grounds were always kept tidy and there was never a moment that there was not staff on duty to help me with anything I needed. Located in a protected national park and right on the beach, I couldn't have asked for a better place!

Definitely WILL go back.

Room Tip: the villas have air conditioning and kitchenettes
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CynthiaLeighann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carpinteria, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We loved this small intimate hotel/hostel/pension run by an amazing family of warm and welcoming people. They have a restaurant nearby at another hotel they own, that rivals any 4-5 star restaurant in Santa Barbara where we live. Everything was fresh and made from scratch. The atmosphere was beautiful each night while we dined.
We left for Monteverde and then 2 nights at the JW Marriott. We left the Marriott early to come back to El Manglar, as we missed the nice feel there and our quiet nice room. The beach is just across the street and was never crowded. We felt like it was our beach. My 16 year old can't wait to go back. If you like smaller hotels and excellent food, this is the place to have the local experience!

Room Tip: Ask for a room upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Antoinette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

This place is amazing! This is what I search for when I travel! The beach and area speak for themselves. Incredible waves, secluded beach, clear water! And since the surrounding area is a protected national park it is pristine and largely un-interfered with by humans. And the people working in El Manglar are soooo cool. They are the type of people that remind me why I travel. When hanging out with them I never felt like I was a client. I felt like an old friend. I felt like I was home. Usually I don't write reviews but I had to for this place because I was so stoked on the whole experience!

Room Tip: There are many room options from cheap dorm style rooms to super cool rooms with kitchens and living...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cody C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federico d, Gerente at Hotel El Manglar, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Cody,

Thank you for choosing us for your Holidays! We really appreciate your time to share your trip! with us!

it was a pleasure to have you around!

Best regards,

Federico de Mezerville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paranagua, PR
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

EL Manglar surely is the best hostel I've ever stayed. Beginning with those who work there, always friendly, attentive and willing to help. The hostel is located in a quiet place, a bicycle, you make a lovely ride to other beaches. The rooms are large and all have private bathrooms. The hostel is always clean and organized, several times a day cleaning the pool. The social area is amazing, ping pong, soccer and basketball, a large pool with slackline table. The hostel also offers surf lessons, rental bike and you can ride for free kaiak. I spent a great day, all the time the team was seeking to leave the hostel even better and provide a great experience for guests.

Room Tip: For those traveling in groups there is an apartment available, it is very spacious and the price is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolle-Oliveira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federico d, Gerente at Hotel El Manglar, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Google Translation
Hola Nicole,

Muchas gracias por habernos escogido para disfrutar sus vacaciones en Playa Grande Costa Rica.

Pura vida

Desde Costa Rica Su familia!
Hotel El Manglar!

Federico de Mezerville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

A group of work friends and I all stayed in one of the apartments and I have to say our stay was so much fun! Def a good mix of family environment and young chill hostel to socialize at. Perfect location from the beach, it's actually in Palm Beach, which is a gated community, so I felt very safe. There was a nice little convenience store not too far away so we got all our needs there. Pool bar is awesome! Nathan was a great host and much fun was had.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissAlessMalice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

We were coming from Tamarindo which was very crowded and touristy, so Playa Grande was a nice change of scene. They had a double private room available for $25 pp / night so we decided to book it. When you first enter, there is a beautiful outdoor terrace + pool with a shared kitchen, surrounded with palm trees. The rooms are a good size as well -- it gets quite hot at night but there are fans which help. I do have to mention that there were ants on the bed when I first walked in, so I ended up just sleeping in the upstairs bed which was ant-free.

The major bonus was the private access to the beach. Playa Grande was by far my favourite beach throughout our trip in Central America. It was beautiful! And uncrowded, which was a plus. I rented a surf board and surfed for a few hours -- it was only my second time and the tides can get quite high, so I recommend staying as close to the shore as possible.

Staff was very friendly and helpful as well. All in all, great hostel. Would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frances W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Grande
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cantarana
Hotel Cantarana
#4 of 7 in Playa Grande
5.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel RipJack Inn
Hotel RipJack Inn
#2 of 7 in Playa Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bula Bula
Hotel Bula Bula
#3 of 7 in Playa Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Playa Grande Park Hotel
Playa Grande Park Hotel
#6 of 7 in Playa Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
1.2 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#10 of 22 in Tamarindo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Manglar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Manglar

Property: Hotel El Manglar
Address: Palm Beach Estates, Playa Grande, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Grande
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel El Manglar 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Manglar is proudly managed by three costarican brothers and sister, that will make sure you have an enjoyable experience during your vacations. The hotel is suited with all you need to experience the beach life, enjoy nature and the beauty of life.We look forward to making your stay as unique, as comfortable and as memorable as possible. We’ll be delighted to share and show you all the beauty of our coast, enjoy surfing, our country and make sure that our favorite phrase is accomplished……all our friends always come back… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel El Manglar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing