We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It worked for us”
Review of Sugar's Monkey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sugar's Monkey
Ranked #3 of 7 Playa Grande B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
“It worked for us”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Spent four nights in Costa Rica on a motorbike trip. Stayed one night at PGI and it met the needs of me and my two partners. We were the only ones there that night, so it was quiet and had the place to ourselves. Room was pretty clean, bathroom was small, but worked for our needs. It was a short walk to the beach and we found good food just down the road. Breakfast and coffee the next morning was decent. Would stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt and Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    34
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
27
47
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fernandina Beach, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2014

PGI is a very safe and welcoming place! The owners are very nice and the rooms are in great condition! Short walk to the beach and amazing location with Tamarindo a short drive away! Marbar is a restaurant connected to the hotel and the food is amazing! Great place to surf, adventure and bring the family!!

Room Tip: The ocean is the fitness center and for room service food is in walking distance and just ask the ow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

I first came to PGI w a friend a few years ago planning to stay one night and explore the coast and other towns the rest of our trip. We loved PGI so much we made it our base for the rest of our trip! This is my second trip to Costa Rica and I'm once again back at PGI. The owners Justin and Lindsay are great and don't miss out on Lynn's smoothies and granola bars. Rates are good, the rooms are basic and clean, have AC and a very relaxed vibe. Bottomless coffee and good food. Prices on food are comparable to other spots and fair. bar on the premises is a plus. Cute pool to cool off in after the beach, which is just steps away from the entrance. PGI is also super close to other beaches if you have a 4x4 to explore. Definitely recommend PGI to others

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank littlemichelle10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

As a world traveler I didn't expect much but got more of a headache then pleasure. The manager is rude and disrespectful, if you stay her make sure to check your bill or pay up front he will find a way to over charge you. You can find him talking poorly about hotel guests and neighboring hotels. The kitchen is filthy and smelt of fish, the hotel next door, La Marejada had amazing food and much cleaner. Close to the beach and excellent smoothie bar is the only upside. There are definitely better bangs for your buck in the area, BP Surf Hotel right next door is $65 a night much cleaner and nicer. Furthermore DO NOT take surfing/board advice from this man, he does not and can not surf.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AllSurfTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

We (couple, 41 & 50) stayed at Playa Grande Inn for two nights in February 2014. We paid $60 a night for a room with a private bathroom, 24-hour air-conditioning, and breakfast. Our room on the upper floor was average size, clean and nicely decorated. The bathroom was average size and clean, too; the shower had hot water. The breakfast was only fresh fruit and sliced bread. There is a very nice pool and good restaurant. The hotel is within 10 minutes walking of other restaurants and shops. The beach is two minutes away walking. It is a beautiful beach but there is no shade and no access to chairs or umbrellas. We stayed at a dumpy hostel in nearby Playa Tamarindo for the same price and Playa Grande Inn was far superior in everyway. Playa Grande Inn is a good value and we would stay there again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AnothersEyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Didn't stay here but ate at Marbar twice and the food was great! they also have the most awesome Raw Foods bar that mixes up fantastic smoothies for only $4. Lots a of incredible fresh ingredients to choose from and all made to order. They even have a 5 smoothies for $20 deal if you are staying a few days. Highly recommend the buffalo wings with blue cheese, the Marbar burger and the fish tacos. And their Mango Margaritas are to die for!

Hotel seems cute and quaint and perfect for couples on a budget. Especially if you are here to surf. About a 2minute walk to some of the best waves I've ever seen in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This place offers great service!!! All of the staff were very friendly. The food in the restaurant was very good. We tried many other places and liked the food at PGI the best. We stayed in the apartment and it was perfect. The whole place was extremely clean. It is located just next to the beach, they have hot water, air-conditioning, table tennis, and a great pool (that son spent most of his time in). Justen & Linzy continued to go above and beyond our entire stay. We were traveling with my 3 year and we had family meeting us there from all around the world, all with different needs. Justen & Linzy ensured that everyone's needs were met and everyone had the "best vacation I ever had" which was mentioned by all. It was very family oriented and kid friendly. We had such a great time that by the time it came to leave, we felt like part of the family and didn't want to leave. Thank you PGI! I would suggest this place to anyone looking for a great experience.

Room Tip: If you are going to be there for an extended time, I would suggest renting the apartment. It has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank T R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Grande
0.0 mi away
Hotel RipJack Inn
Hotel RipJack Inn
#3 of 7 in Playa Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.2 mi away
Playa Grande Park Hotel
Playa Grande Park Hotel
#6 of 7 in Playa Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Cantarana
Hotel Cantarana
#1 of 7 in Playa Grande
5.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Bula Bula
Hotel Bula Bula
#4 of 7 in Playa Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Marejada Hotel
La Marejada Hotel
#2 of 7 in Playa Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
9.3 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar's Monkey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar's Monkey

Property: Sugar's Monkey
Address: 250 Meters South of Minae, Playa Grande 50308, Costa Rica (Formerly Playa Grande Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sugar's Monkey 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical life style Sugars Monkey is a small hostel where you can breath ocean; 150 mt from miles white sandy beach, welcomes its guests with pool surrounded of tropical garden where you can eat fresh and healthy food from our restaurant open from breakfast time till dinner. Eight room with air conditioning, ambient fans, private bathroom, shower and hot water; Two room settings: doble room for two occupancy and large room for four occupancy. Community space, gym and pool table are free for guest, Be Water surf rental and tour will happy to take you into waterworld ....... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Sugar's Monkey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Grande Hotel Playa Grande
Hotel Playa Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing