We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Playa Grande Inn Restaurant”
Review of Sugar's Monkey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sugar's Monkey
Ranked #3 of 6 Playa Grande B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Playa Grande Inn Restaurant”
Reviewed 17 January 2011

We didn't stay at Playa Grande Inn but we went there for dinner at it was really good! The service was amazing and super friendly!

The chicken wings were awesome and we each had a pulled pork sandwich - YUM! I would recommend this little place to anyone!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CelinaOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    34
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
27
47
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 September 2010

We stayed at the Ripjack, but often wound up at the PGI with Nick and Cindy and that crazy chef :) I think we had a pizza with steak and jalapenos!!! Subject yourself to Nick's drink experiments as well - they have fresh everything over there you can't lose. Outdoor pool practically in the bar... across the street from three surfs a day... cool surrounding joints, fun locals... hammocks... what can I say -- PURA VIDA.

Many people call Playa Grande "The End of the Road".

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darien B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2010

Gotta say the pizza is as good as everyone says and Nick is a real Innkeeper, fun to talk to while he kept an eye on a cozy lobby/lounge area and drinking a beer! Remember this is a surf village and PGI seems to be more of a moderately upscale surf camp...and the price you are paying.
We were a family of six ranging in age from 18 - 48 roaming CR for 10 days stopping here between La Fortuna(El Silencio del Campo) and Manual Antonio(Mango Moon) so maybe not quite what we were looking for.
Next door is a great little restaurant that should not be missed. One of the best we stopped at during our trip.
Would I recommend it, it depends on what was being looked for...

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2010

Stayed for a week at the Playa Grande Inn and by the end wanted to stay for a month. The PGI is a great, relaxing place to spend some time and watch the world go by. The beach with great surf (for all abilities) is a minute's walk away - it's also perfect for topping up your tan or watching the sunset.

If you've had your fill of the beach though, the PGI can accomodate your needs - there's hammocks to lounge in, the pool is great, and the bar is fantastic - just pull up a stool, get a beer or a cocktail, listen to the great music and talk about just about anything with the manager Nick. Did I mention the food? Best pizza in Costa Rica. The rest of the menu is great too - take Nick up on his recommendation of the tuna carpaccio and you will not be disappointed.

The rooms are clean and comfy and safe.

A great hotel in a great location with great staff - not to be missed.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taffytourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braunschweig
1 review
Reviewed 11 April 2010

Me and my girlfriend had amazing two weeks at the pgi...
never been to costa rica before, but many question were answered
by the nice pgi-team. the hotel looks like a big place to chill and it truly was.we had great a vacation not far from the beach away!
very good meals. especially the pizza and local-tico meals!
thx for everything...this time was a blast!!!=)
German: Playa-Grande-Inn ist einfach der knaller yeaaaaaaaaaah

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henne-1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago,Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2010

we stayed with 2 of our doughters 11 and 12 years old. We loved the location. just short walk through the path to the beach. People are very friendly and helpful. Our girls learned surfing and diving. The hotel owners helped us with all of the needs and more. There is always lots to do. Just ask Cindy or Nick. The hotel owners. Great food and lots of coffee at all the time. Very laid back atmosphere . You can be a kid all over agian. Loved it and we are ready to go agian!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellawilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2010

We didn't stay here, but wanted to big this place up because we had dinner here one night and the food was to die for.

To illustrate the point: My girlfriend doesn't eat fish or seafood of any kind (she doesn't like the taste), so when we were advised to have the tuna carpaccio we had a tricky decision. In the end we ordered it because I really wanted to try it, even though it was for two people. When it turned up it was so delicious and so well marinated that I had to fight her off to stop her eating the whole thing! I think you get my point.

As for the pizza, we had read other TripAdvisor reviews saying this place has the best, but nothing prepared us for how world-beating they would be. Incredible. Easily one of my best pizza experiences ever. If you go to the restaurant and don't at least try the pizza then you will miss out on something truly special. I don't know what they do with that oven, but whatever it is, they should keep doing it!

Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mbrammah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Grande
0.0 mi away
Hotel RipJack Inn
Hotel RipJack Inn
#2 of 6 in Playa Grande
377 reviews
0.2 mi away
Playa Grande Park Hotel
Playa Grande Park Hotel
#6 of 6 in Playa Grande
140 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Cantarana
Hotel Cantarana
#1 of 6 in Playa Grande
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
2.3 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#12 of 23 in Tamarindo
2,481 reviews
5.9 mi away
Conchal Hotel
Conchal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Brasilito
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar's Monkey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar's Monkey

Property: Sugar's Monkey
Address: | 250 Meters South of Minae, Cabo Velas, Playa Grande 50308, Costa Rica (Formerly Playa Grande Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sugar's Monkey 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical life style Sugars Monkey is a small hostel where you can breath ocean; 150 mt from miles white sandy beach, welcomes its guests with pool surrounded of tropical garden where you can eat fresh and healthy food from our restaurant open from breakfast time till dinner. Eight room with air conditioning, ambient fans, private bathroom, shower and hot water; Two room settings: doble room for two occupancy and large room for four occupancy. Community space, gym and pool table are free for guest, Be Water surf rental and tour will happy to take you into waterworld ....... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Sugar's Monkey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Grande Hotel Playa Grande
Hotel Playa Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing