We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful place... you must check it out!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BP Surf Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa Grande
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
BP Surf Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Playa Grande B&B and Inns
Rankin Inlet, NU
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful place... you must check it out!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

I have never felt so at home while travelling before. BP surf is such a cute little place... the rooms are really nice with big bathrooms and a full kitchen, the pool is perfect for an afternoon cool down and its very peaceful.
We ended up staying there on 2 different occasions during our 3 weeks in Costa Rica and we can't wait to go back.
Pete and his family are so nice, welcoming and helpful! We will for sure be staying there again when we return to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
5
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

Me, my buddy and my father just returned from a stay at BP Surf Hotel. This was my third time to Playa grande. We were originally supossed to stay next door but due to a booking mistake there weren't enough rooms for us. We ended up staying in two cabinas (there are 4 total) at BP instead. We had no idea what to expect and we could not have been happier.

The property is kept immaculate. The outdoor sitting area, tiki bar, pool, courtyard and front porches are kept spotless and cleaned everyday. The outdoor courtyard is a great place to relax, swim in the pool, have a cocktail, etc. The pool is great and also includes a nice waterfall feature.

The rooms are fantastic and include two beds (queen & single), flat screen TV, beautiful hard wood built in closets, full kitchen and excellent bathrooms. With the full size fridge we were able to stock up on all kinds of food and drinks for our 6 day stay. The finishes in the rooms look great and are true Costa Rican decor.

The owner, Pete, is the man. He's been living in Playa Grande for 6 years (transplant from Florida) and he has it dialed in. He knows where to go, where to eat, etc. He also knows everyone around town and is a super helpful resource if you have any questions. He hung with us in the pool one day and surfed with us another. He's not going to bother you at all - we asked him to hang out with us because we wanted to be around his enthusiasm for Costa Rica. He's very passionate about the country and has a true love for life.

We're already talking about our return trip next year and we are defininately staying at BP with Pete.

Room Tip: Only about 200 yards from the HUGE beach and main surfing break. It's located right next too ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2011

My partner and I just stayed here at the beginning of February for a few days. Pete, the owner was extremely friendly and helpful, and helped us with anything we needed. We felt extremely safe and secure there. We just stayed at a 5 star resort in Mexico a few days before arriving to Costa Rica, and BP Surf hotel was at par with this as far as quality and cleanliness goes. The beds were very comfortable, the rooms and the outdoor area is gorgeous. The pool is small, but was enough for us as we were the only ones that were ever using it. Plus, this hotel is only a minute or two away from the beach walking. No food is offered here, but it is literally nextdoor to 3 or 4 fantastic restuarants. Also closeby to Frijoles Locos, a surfshop that has great surfing lessons and helped us to book other trips from there. (hiking, waterfalls, ziplining)
Pete offered great hospitality at BP Surf Hotel, and we would recommend it to anybody. If we come back to Costa Rica, this is definately where we will be staying.
We flew into Liberia and rented a car --- I would recommend this if you want more than just a beach holiday. We found having the car to be extremely convenient as Playa Grande is a pretty quiet area.

Thanks for making our stay so easy, relaxing and enjoyable!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JenAustin3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orlando
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2009

The place is not only beautiful, they have flat Tv cable, Kitchenette huge fridge, microwave and everything you may need, great place the beds are fantastic and very clean and nice bathroom,,pool and Huge dvd outside you bring your beers and they have a bar and darts games...is unbelievable if you want a restaurant they are all around, but here with the price is great saving,,,no one is gonna send you to this place becoz noone around has such great thinks,, the air conditions is the best....DON"T MISS IT!!!!!i l am very grateful to Peter and wife everything was so great I expend thanks giving with my family for 6 days....

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank casitacaletin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Grande
0.1 mi away
Hotel RipJack Inn
Hotel RipJack Inn
#1 of 7 in Playa Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.2 mi away
Playa Grande Park Hotel
Playa Grande Park Hotel
#6 of 7 in Playa Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
2.9 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Cantarana
Hotel Cantarana
#4 of 7 in Playa Grande
5.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Bula Bula
Hotel Bula Bula
#3 of 7 in Playa Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Marejada Hotel
La Marejada Hotel
#2 of 7 in Playa Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BP Surf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BP Surf Hotel

Property: BP Surf Hotel
Address: | 200 mts oeste da Minae, Playa Grande, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Grande
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Grande
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing