We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Paradise!”
Villa Olivia, Costa Rica Beachfront Vaction Home
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Olivia, Costa Rica Beachfront Vaction Home
Fabulous Oceanfront Vacation, Villa Olivia, Costa Rica Our New Pool. First Group Of Guests Cooling Off.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Villa Olivia, Costa Rica Beachfront Vaction Home
Fabulous Oceanfront Vacation, Villa Olivia, Costa Rica
Our New Pool. First Group Of Guests Cooling Off.
Front Door Entrance Into Open Courtyard
Kitchen of Local Hardwoods and Granite Conter Tops
Kitchen, Oceanfront View
Walk Directly To The Beach Through the Kitchen and Living
Unique Oceanview Dinning Of Playa Grande
Room 1, 2 twins
Room 2, queen
Bath 2
Courtyard Steps To Upper Level Rooms
Bird's Eye View of 15' Above Ground Pool
Upper Veranda Oceanfront View
Master Bedroom, King
Spacious Upper Level Oceanfront Veranda
View of Studio, Country side
Bedroom 4, single and queen bed
Bedroom 4, Oceanview
Upper Level Veranda Doorway Between Bedrooms
Bedroom 5 Upper Level View
Studio
Studio Kitchen
View of Bedrooms 3 & 4 from Studio
Sunset Surf
Villa Olivia and Casa Mirge
Sweet Surf Session
Family Sunset Stroll
Snorkeling Stroll
Playa Grande, Costa Rica Sunset
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Playa Grande, Province of Guanacaste

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
TaraAbhay...
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
“Paradise!”
Reviewed 3 February 2016 for a stay in February 2015

We have hosted a small yoga retreat at Villa Olivia and Casa Mirage for the past two years and look forward to doing so again and again. The location, property, staff and owner are all amazing! It really is paradise, pristine, private and perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The location, the beach
Liked least: water pressure in showers could be better
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joy67117
Toledo, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Paradise!”
Reviewed 21 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We just returned from a perfect week in Costa Rica at Villa Olivia. When we walked in and saw the view out the back door, I couldn't even believe how unbelievably beautiful it is. The pictures in the listing don't do it justice.

I spoke to Marianella prior to our trip, and she arranged airport transportation for our party of 8. We also had Kimberley cook for us on the first night after a very long day and night of travel. The meal was nearly ready when we walked in the door and was absolutely delicious. She had done the shopping for supplies and made a Costa Rican meal for us. We had plenty left over for lunch the next day. Kimberly is great, and although we prepared the rest of our meals, I would absolutely recommend using her as much as practical. He service fee is very reasonable for what she does...including every bit of cleanup.

We also asked Marianelle to arrange boogie board and bike rentals for our stay. They were there on the first day and we had a blast playing in the ocean. The house comes with one bike, but it is good to have one more so that two people can ride up to the surf shop, or small market that is just a little further way (we didn't rent a car).

We stopped at the grocery store on the way to the house from the airport (which I recommend because the markets that are close by do not have everything). We also used Dave for two trips into Tamarindo. His rates are less expensive than local car companies.

The house was very clean when we arrived and was cleaned twice while we were there.

The bedrooms all have air conditioning. The main living space (kitchen, living room) does not have air conditioning but is completely open air with the doors and large windows open. The only time the heat was uncomfortable is when we closed up in the evening on the nights that the bugs got bad after the sun went down.

Playa Grande is an absolute treasure. Staying at Villa Olivia (or the sister property) puts you just steps away from the sand and the completely unspoiled beach and surf. This is the least crowded beach i have EVER visited. The surf was great for surfing and boogie boards and the water was perfect.

I can't say enough good things about the service, the accommodations and the little slice of paradise that was ours for a week.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location, beach
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Del Mar, California
Reviewed 8 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lindsey D
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beachfront Bliss!”
Reviewed 26 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Our group of 13 just got back from a beautiful 8 day stay at Villa Olivia in Playa Grande. I cannot say enough nice things about this property and the staff. The house is literally on the beach and perfect for a large group. The views are spectacular and the sunsets each night were breathtaking. Kimberly cooked for us multiple times and we were never disappointed! You must let her cook for you when visiting Villa Olivia. Playa Grande is a surfers paradise. And if you are not into surfing, its fun to watch the locals tear up the waves. Be very careful of the rip currents. They are really strong here and even the best swimmers must be careful. Loved the house, loved the beach, and would highly recommend, especially if you have a large group!

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachAngi
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Incredible location”
Reviewed 12 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

If your focus is on location this is the place to be. The view, the sunsets and walking out to the beach for sizable-but-not-rough waves make Villa Olivia a great spot for boogie boarders, surfers, family gatherings and friend-gatherings.

The place is a little rough around the edges, with plenty of bedrooms, each with their own key. Friendly security guards and a great supply of games/books for guests.

We were thrilled to have Kimberley cook for us, each meal at a reasonable price as long as you bring your own grocery and food supplies.

The house is spread out so each bedroom offers plenty of privacy and distance between the next.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: occasionally low water pressure
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 18 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Having the option of meal preparation and clean up was a highlight for our family. Just the location of the villa was perfect-a breathtaking beach
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 1 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location Location Location
Liked least: For some the lack of air conditioning in the main floor. For others it was not an issue.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing