We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Local Fare”
Review of Kike's Place

Kike's Place
Ranked #6 of 21 Restaurants in Playa Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$25
Cuisines: Bar, Central American, Costa Rican, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Local Fare”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I liked that this restaurant was a local hangout. It was good to get a feel for the local culture and food. That said, the local food is not as good compared to the many other excellent choices in Playa Grande. I'm glad we went for the experience and the service was great and friendly. I'd go back.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank ChadC124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    64
    31
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“When in need”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

When in need if staying near the Rip Jack there is This little spot. Basically a convenience store that has bread, water, pop, beer and wine. Prices for wine were about 4500 colones so similar to the grocery store. Also you can get jam etc but the closest grocery store is in the other part of Playa Grande.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great casados and Arroz con Camarones”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We ate here twice during our 4-day stay in Playa Grande - both times for dinner! It was very good and the service was excellent (even when they were very busy they were attentive and friendly). The casados and Arroz con camarones were very good! Our boys also really enjoyed the spaghetti bolognese. I recommend this place for authentic Tico food and for a variety of choices (if you're going with a group with different likes). A good family place too!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best deal for good food in Playa Grande”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

The food here was the most reasonably priced in Playa Grande, and was really quite good. Typical local food (rice dishes etc) and really tasty. Their french fries were a little soggy, but other than that, good stuff!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fred-locks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Casado Typica”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I really loved the Casado Typica I had here with fish. My wife had the fajitas, and was surprised they did not come with fajitas. She was not crazy about the beef, thinking it was a little tough. I'd go back and give it another shot though.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kike's Place also viewed

Playa Grande, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Grande, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Grande, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Grande, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Grande, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Grande, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Kike's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing