We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the stop”

CAFE DEL PUEBLO RESTAURANTE Y PIZZERIA
Ranked #1 of 21 Restaurants in Playa Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$18
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Open Monday To Saturday, From 5 To 10 Pm
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worth the stop”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

This is the best pizza in playa grande hands down. From a real authenic pizza oven. There is truly something special about this place. Can't wait to go back

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristentawse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    34
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Chelmsford, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Wonderful Italian ”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

The bartender at another restaurant suggested this place for dinner and we were so glad he did. The service and food was wonderful. We had the fra diavolo mussels were a great appetizer along with some focaccia with tomatoes and fresh mozzarella. For dinner we had the striped bass and house made tagliatelle with the spring sauce. Both were fantastic! For dessert we ended with home made hazelnut gelato. Outstanding!
This was a great surprise in a quiet little area.

Helpful?
Thank Phoebe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rye Brook, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fresh Pasta!”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Our family had wonderful experiences here! We came once and we were hooked. All the food we ordered was wonderful, especially the ravioli with pink sauce. Also the passion fruit mojitos and the smoothies were a huge hit. Best meal we had in Costa Rica. The service was friendly and timely (which is saying a lot for this part of the country) and she even brought games to the table for the kids to play. Even the atmosphere was charming.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lisa f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Best resturant in Playa Grande”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Great food and service. Bit of a walk but so worth it. We had desert/coffee the first night and then came back for the full experience. You must have the gelato for desert!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Scott J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great fresh food at very reasonable price”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Our family had a great meal here.
We shared the Bruschetta as an appetizer- very,very good.
We had the sea bass prepared 2 different ways- with lemon sauce was the best but the tomatoes, capers and olives was a close second. The tagliatelle pasta, as well as all their pastas are homemade and excelent. The pizza was very good as well.
A true treasure in an unexpected location.

Helpful?
Thank AmericanoTico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed CAFE DEL PUEBLO RESTAURANTE Y PIZZERIA also viewed

Playa Grande, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Grande, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Grande, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Grande, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to CAFE DEL PUEBLO RESTAURANTE Y PIZZERIA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing