We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another amazing vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Las Tortugas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Playa Grande
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Las Tortugas
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Playa Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Playa Grande, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another amazing vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

What to say ... people are friendly ... we have all we need (food, waves, ocean) ... It's been a couple of years now that we are coming twice a year... hopefully many more to come. Just come and you will see.

Room Tip: Tios, Faro up and Faro down ....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VB122013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    74
    47
    16
    8
See reviews for
83
121
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

Hotel Las Tortugas has wonderful beach access but no chairs or umbrellas available (you can rent them down the street at Frijoles Locos though). There is a nice courtyard by the pool with lots of hammocks to read, relax or take a nap in. Taco Star (fun little taco stand on the beach) is right next to the hotel. The mango margaritas are a wonderful way to enjoy the sunsets and the staff is very friendly and that's the end of the positives.

The hotel needs major upgrades. The linens are all tired, worn, faded and frayed, I don't think you could find quality this bad at a thrift shop even. The lighting in the rooms is old, the lamps in our room were rusty and half of them didn't work. The showers need new heads desperately as well as new curtains. There were roaches in our bathroom as well as crabs (we got a kick out of the crabs being in there but not the roaches). There is no hairdryer on the property. The signs in the rooms to turn out the lights when you leave are handwritten on construction paper. The menu hasn't changed in years and the food is mediocre at best. The international phone at the front desk doesn't work.

Other reviews mention the warnings about not leaving valuables unattended as being excessive. We got the spiel the first time we stayed here in 2011 and overheard the owner giving the same speech to a couple on our last visit (Dec. 2013). There is a safe in the room but it doesn't work. We've stayed here twice and both times put all of our valuables in the safe area behind the front desk. It's a little inconvenient to get your bag every time you need your computer / phone / binoculars / camera but I would rather be safe than sorry. Although it seems like a no-brainier that the hotel would figure out a way to make room safes available and secure.

Our son is a surfer and this place is paradise to him but he would probably be fine in a tent on the beach too (and he wasn't paying for the rooms). I love Costa Rica and Playa Grande especially and hope to visit again. We will not be staying in Las Tortugas next time.

Room Tip: Don't stay in Room 3...it's a cave!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyAdnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

Playa Grande is not very grande when it comes to hotel accommodations mainly because of its special location for turtle nesting. Therefore, humans are not as welcome as other animals, which makes this beach a very special place to be. Las Tortugas is by far the most affordable place right on this beach. Very modest (but with AC and free wifi and parking) this hotel is good for mid to low budget nature loving travelers. Hotel staff are very nice, and the food is good. It's nice to have a pool handy and the beach is raw and pretty. I'd surf here and swim at Playa Tamarindo for it's lower waves.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bitil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

We stayed in Las Tortugas apartments which are bit cheaper than the hotel but still beautiful place. The owner took us there personally, showed us around and the hotel itself with its poll, restaurant and services was our "club". Perfect place to stay.

What we especially liked was their attitude to sustainability of the national park and turtles protection. They give locals jobs so they don`t have to pouch the eggs, they try to avoid all unnecessary street light to help turtles nesting, etc.

Nice!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ujan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich, Schweiz
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

From MY point of view, THE location on Playa Grande. Very friendly staff who's been with the hotel for years now and they really take care of the clients. The food is local style, but if you talk to the waiter and combine his recommendations with your expectations, you'll be sorry there's only so much you can eat…
Ok, not every room has a TV (mine didn't and I didn't need one either) – but if it's important to you, then let them know (there _is_ somebody at the reception you can talk to!) and you'll have it all set up.
The beautiful thing about this hotel is the familiar atmosphere that can develop between the guests themselves as well as with the staff and owners. BTW, the owner has been in the region for over 40 years – they know why it is reasonable to have a guard in the parking lot...
As for myself, I can only say: thank's for the stay, keep up the great work, best regards to everybody around (also to those who don't get to read tripadvisor) and I hope to see y'all real soon again!

Room Tip: Get in touch with them via mail or phone and tell them what 'good room' means to you. I'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterS-ZH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

What a beautiful place!! Perfect location, The friendliest staff, and the best service.
You can not help but to fall in love with this place. Located next to the beach it is the PERFECT spot for surfers,
There aren't many tourist in September/october which was ideal for someone who just wanted to relax, zone out and enjoy the beach and the beautiful nature.
A trip to the Estuary is a most. All the surrounding beaches are just as beautiful and peaceful as Playa Grande.
Tamarindo is Located a few kilometers away, it takes about 40 minutes walk on the beach to get there, and what a walk! Playa Grande is also the perfect spot for runners who don't mind jogging on a beautiful big beach, when the tide is low.
If you are a first time surfer like myself, the hotel offers surflessons and surfboards for rent, and the beautiful beach which is perfect for advanced and beginner surfers.
My room was located 15 seconds (yes 15 seconds!) and 20 feet from the beach. I would wake up to a beautiful sunset and an empty beach every morning.
The staff was always ready to help with anything. They will guide you to the best activities, practice spanish with you and make you anything you like to eat.
My trip to Costa Rica would not be the same without the staff, specially Jonathan who took such good care of me.

Room Tip: I was lucky enough to see the Las Tortugas Apartments (a 10 minute walk from the Hotel) and will def...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leyliita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kihei, Hawaii, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

For the price we found the accommodations to be in line with each other. Yes, dated and basic are good words to describe the place; however, the staff working during our visit is what made the place GREAT! And the location!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KTMaui2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Grande
0.1 mi away
Hotel RipJack Inn
Hotel RipJack Inn
#2 of 7 in Playa Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.2 mi away
Playa Grande Park Hotel
Playa Grande Park Hotel
#6 of 7 in Playa Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Cantarana
Hotel Cantarana
#1 of 7 in Playa Grande
5.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Marejada Hotel
La Marejada Hotel
#3 of 7 in Playa Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Bula Bula
Hotel Bula Bula
#4 of 7 in Playa Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
2.9 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Tortugas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Tortugas

Property: Hotel Las Tortugas
Address: Frente al mar, Playa Grande, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Grande
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa Grande
#5 Family Hotel in Playa Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small, ecotouristic hotel located directly on the beach in Playa Grande with our rooms, pool, jacuzzi, open-air restaurant/bar, and hammock area just steps from the sand and the main surf peak in Playa Grande. We offer every kind of accommodation and price range with small economy rooms on the beachfront property with AC and private hotwater bathrooms starting at $25/night and our honeymoon suite with oceanview between $70 and $130/night depending on the season. We also offer economical apartments with kitchenette facilities up the road from the hotel, just a five minute walk to the beach. All of our apartment guests enjoy full access to the beachfront hotel amenities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Las Tortugas Hotel
Las Tortugas Playa Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing