We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good drop in place to eat”
Review of Taco Star

Taco Star
Ranked #3 of 21 Restaurants in Playa Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good drop in place to eat”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Stayed in Playa Grande during Christmas 2013 and walked from Tamarindo to Taco Star which is about halfway down Playa Grande beach. The little open air taco stand was busy with people three deep at the counter. The two workers were hustling to take orders, cook and chat with the customers. The tacos were good ($2 each) and the fresh fruit bowl was cut up right there in front of us. Grab some banana bread before they sell out. We had a beer and enjoyed a very simple and easy meal on the beach. While waiting, a fruit and vegetable truck showed up and we were able to buy some avocados, papayas and bananas for pretty cheap. Bring your favorite sticker and slap it on the taco stand while enjoying this place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JCstucrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    41
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Blanc, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Personality, location, and wonderful service.”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We only had a few drinks while at the Taco star. Everyone raved about the tacos. I just wasn't real hungry. The young woman who worked there was super. Answered all of our questions and was extremely helpful.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank annieo62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A real star”
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Been in CR since 2/1 & finally had the best taco that I ever eaten, all for $3.00 each. Feat food & great value.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MBondman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“all you need is love”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Great service, great music, great atmosphere, pineapple smoothies make me addicted for life, tacos melt in mouth and make you full yet not too heavy to surf

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ildze S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa Panama, Costa Rica
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Tacos”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

They serve the best tacos in Costa Rica. We take all of our visitors and friends there. In fact we have a group of ten heading to Grande for Taco Star tacos tomorrow. The owners are some of the nicest people you can meet. If you go anywhere near Tamarindo or Playa del Coco make the extra effort to get to Taco Star. You'll be glad you did.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RT P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taco Star also viewed

Playa Grande, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Grande, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Grande, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Grande, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Taco Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing