We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful setting”

The Great Waltini’s
Ranked #8 of 21 Restaurants in Playa Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Costa Rican, Bar, Pub, South American, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Wonderful setting”
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

This is the 3rd time that we ate there. The first 2 times the food was excellent. We went to their Monday night Mexican buffet. In a word it was terrible!! The Enchiladas were over cooked & dried out. Nothing was properly seasoned no melted cheese for the nachos & no dressing on anything. The vegetarian 3-bean chile was excellent. The overall buffet looked like something that was thrown out of the kitchen to feed the hotel guests on the chef's night off. Our waiter Ernesto was fantastic & from day one the main reason we keep returning.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Towns-p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    28
    14
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fabulous food, fabulous service and a fabulous atmosphere!”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Breakfast, staff and atmosphere was perfect every morning! Thanks for taking such great care of us Grace! The breakfast was included with our stay and had virtually anything you wanted included in the stay.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LilLorriLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

Drank and ate here a couple of times while watching NFL playoffs. The staff are awesome and the owners are down to earth great people. We had a blast both nights as the place turns into a party. The food is fantastic, you get big portions and the prices are great. I have no idea why anybody would complain about any facet of this place? A guy we met caught some fish on a charter and they cooked it up for us no questions asked. It was great! The hotel grounds are peaceful and immaculate. Don't hesitate to check this place out.

Derek and Kelly

Helpful?
Thank Shnoobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Moody, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“fantastic club sandwich”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

we had lunch at the Great Waltini's. Nice atmosphere in very quiet area. I had one of the best club sandwiches I've ever had. My wife's salad with chicken was adequate. Service was not quick, but was on par with the rest of Costa Rica.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank highflier2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Expensive and not worth it, weird service”
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

We had tuna salad and a empanada which looked better than it tasted and was more expensive than it needed to be. For two of us we spent 80 bucks on a dinner that could have been 30 at other restaurants at Grande.....with less weird service and better food. This place is trying too hard.

Helpful?
Thank atb85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PG-FT-Resident, Owner at The Great Waltini’s, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
We are honored to be serving the Playa Grande area as we begin our 11th season here.
I would like to respond to your over-exaggeration in pricing and vague complaint of "weird" service. An Ahi Tuna Salad costs $17 and we do not serve empanadas. Perhaps you meant our enchiladas? If so, the cost is $14. As for service, we are a friendly place and popular for birthday, anniversary, and other special occasions. If you prefer a more "detached and reserved" service, just let your server know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Great Waltini’s also viewed

Playa Grande, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Grande, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Grande, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Grande, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Grande, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Grande, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to The Great Waltini’s? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing