We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HUGE portions, right next to a pool”

The Great Waltini’s
Ranked #10 of 21 Restaurants in Playa Grande
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“HUGE portions, right next to a pool”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stopped in here after surfing lessons for the kids and they were thrilled to have the pool to swim in (hotel looks cute). Prices look high, but when you see the giant-sized portions, it is actually a bargain. An adult could easily split the hamburger and be satisfied. A few oddities - like the fried yucca is not slices of yucca, but is a sort of paste, formed and deep fried, and their tortilla chips are flour, and taste almost sweet. Service was tranquilo, but not inattentive, and we didn't mind at all, given that the kids were thrashing around in the pool happy as clams. We did not sample their cocktail menu, but the bar looks excellent. A good stop!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank LauraMAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    30
    14
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“consistent fun”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This was our go to spot in Playa Grande. The food was good, but the service and atmosphere were great, Always something for everyone. They had pet birds which would come visit our table, very cool. The kids and adults always were satisfied and had a great time. Ate there beast, lunch and dinner.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank g2tmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fresh catch”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

While we were in Costa Rica for our destination wedding Wally and some of his staff came to the house and prepared fish we caught fresh the day before. All of our guests really enjoyed the welcome party. The food was delicious and everyone was friendly!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Crystal W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vestal, ny
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place!”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stopped by for a quick, early breakfast before an estuary boat tour, and found the restaurant to be full of character and good, fresh, homemade food, such as the delicious french toast. We liked it so much we came back for dinner and had a lot of fun joking around with our waiter Ernesto and the other staff. Great homemade tortilla chips and pina coladas!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cmlc3136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Spot, Not To Be Missed!”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I was in Playa Grande at the beginning of April and was really happy to have enjoyed a number of meals at "The Great Waltini's". We stopped by on our first day and made sure we came back. Being vegetarian, it's not always easy to have yummy and exciting meals when travelling, but the food was full of flavour and the serving size was great. I can't go on without praising the staff, they are so warm and friendly (we had the same lady serving us both times and she was incredible, not to mention she makes a mean Mango Margarita). The welcoming atmosphere really lets you relax after hitting the beach. I'd definitely recommend stopping by at Walt's for at least one meal when you are in town, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Great Waltini’s also viewed

Playa Grande, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Grande, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Grande, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Grande, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Grande, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Grande, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to The Great Waltini’s? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing