We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The "bomb" .com/ PERFECTO!”
Review of Hotel Bula Bula

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Bula Bula
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Playa Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Liberia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The "bomb" .com/ PERFECTO!”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Facilities come and go but personality and service are forever and Bula-Bula prides itself on both and they deliver. For two years I have taken every guest to Todd and Walley's place (bula bula), and everyone of my guests, friends, family,everyone , has raved about the friendliness of the great team at Bulas Bula. The excellent food and abundant happy hour are icing on the cake. Everyone is welcomed and everyone is pampered with friendship and service. The ambiance is total Costa Rica from the gardens,to the decor to the goofy parrots. A 10+ on my charts!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reswisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    74
    14
    14
    12
See reviews for
86
158
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We have been to the Tamarindo, Playa Grande area in CR to stay and surf many times and we have not yet been able to find a place to stay as well run, clean, cozy, with outstanding food and service as the Bula Bula.
Within walking distance to an outstanding surf beach and a short car ride or even a shorter water taxi ride to Tamarindo.
We have tried other places to stay and always find that we end up going and spending time at the Bula Bula for great cocktails and outstanding dining.
PuraVita !

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Surfeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Hotel Bula Bula and Playa Grande are simply amazing! This gem of a hotel is the best place to stay for so many reasons! You've got seclusion, yet you're close enough to the action that you won't miss anything if that's what you're after. The hotel only has 10 rooms, so you never feel crowded. The restaurant/bar has a great draw of hotel guests, locals and other visitors in the vicinity so every night you can meet new people and have so much fun! The food at the restaurant is excellent and the included breakfast is amazing! The taxi stand is right there, so if you're looking to go party you can head to Tamarindo.

The rooms are colourful and have such a great Costa Rican feel with the artwork. The beds are comfortable. There's enough shelving in the closet to unpack your belongings and make yourself at home. They have little touches like umbrella's & swim wraps in the rooms to use while you're there. The rooms aren't enormous, but just enough for your basic needs. The only issue I had was with the lighting. I found the room to be a bit dark. There's a good light above the closet, a table lamp and two sconces above the bed. It sounds like it should be enough, but I think maybe a floor lamp rather than a table lamp could throw a bit more light and help brighten things up. The rooms were very clean. Marta does a great job keeping everything tidy and we were even able to arrange for her to do a couple of loads of laundry for us since we were there for over 2 weeks. There's a verandah that runs in front of all of the rooms and each room has a pair of wicker rocking chairs in front. It's a great place to find shade & read or hide from a rain shower and have a drink or enjoy morning coffee. We made great use of those chairs!
The pool and surrounding gardens are so beautiful. The groundskeeper works so hard everyday, cleaning the pool and raking or trimming or doing whatever to keep the area immaculate.

If you want to get out and explore or do an excursion, Eduardo is happy to help arrange whatever you need. We did ziplining, a catamaran/snorkelling trip, horseback riding, monkey park, surfing and souvenir shopping in Tamarindo. The beach is a short walk away, maybe 5-7 minutes down a little dirt road. And what a beach it is!! So often we have it all to ourselves! If Playa Grande isn't enough, there are several other beaches within 15-30minutes drive by car...each one is beautiful in its own way.

Todd & Wally are the owners of Bula Bula and are great hosts. We didn't see a lot of them as they left on their own vacation a couple of days after we arrived, but when we did spend time talking to them they were friendly and great to talk to. Lucky for them, they have amazing staff so while they were gone we had the best service! Victor, Ernesto, Eduardo, Grace, Maria Jose & Marta took great care of us. They fed us, cleaned up after us, made amazing drinks for us and super milk shakes & smoothies for our kids and always made us feel like family! If we ever needed anything they took care of it and did so with a smile.

We were originally only booked for two weeks at Bula Bula, with one week in another town further south in Costa Rica. After only 3 days in the other town, we just had to come back "home" to Bula Bula. The extra time at Bula Bula made for a perfect ending to our wonderful vacation in Costa Rica. We can't wait to come back!!

Room Tip: There are only 10 rooms, you can't go wrong with any of them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katnboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
long island
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

we were in playa grande last week and stayed at another hotel down the street. however, we had several meals at Bula Bula and they were all delicious. the setting is lovely and the service was excellent. i had the best grilled chicken sandwich and the chef works a miracle with yucca. there are two resident parrots who are very entertaining!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank foxeym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Hotel Bula Bula was absolutely perfect. Wally and Todd are the owners and you couldn't ask for better treatment. The staff was amazing and very friendly, food excellent, it was like eating at a 5 star resturaunt. We were there in April 2013, and are looking forward to going back next year. Playa Grande was beautiful, and it was exciting seeing all the beautiful birds, and seeing the monkeys in the tree at breakfast everymorning. not much more i can say but AWESOME!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I gotta admit, being away from a town is a daunting thought, but, once you arrive, you hardly want to leave.
It is an experience that soothes your soul. Many dream about heading out to vacation, and spending countless hours just lounging by a pool, or sipping on a cocktail. Here you can. It is incredibly easy to forget there is a place called home awaiting your return.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AHiLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weirsdale, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2013

A THANK YOU FROM THE PARENTS OF THE BRIDE: Hotel Bula Bula and Playa Grande...
the perfect combination for our daughter's beach wedding get-away! Kudos to Todd, Wally, Eduardo and the entire staff for one of the most delightful, comfortable and fun experiences we have ever had in our travels. You all helped make a special event in our lives that more extraordinary. The help in the pre-planning stages, the comfort of all our guests, the wonderful wedding reception, helpful excursion and transportation choices definitely helped take a lot of stress off our shoulders. Every one of our guests are raving about their stay and most want to come back again. Great hotel, great staff, great food and drink, great fun, and oh yes...great surf! Thank you for the good times and especially the good memories. We'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patti H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Grande
1.3 mi away
Hotel RipJack Inn
Hotel RipJack Inn
#3 of 7 in Playa Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cantarana
Hotel Cantarana
#1 of 7 in Playa Grande
5.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
1.5 mi away
Playa Grande Park Hotel
Playa Grande Park Hotel
#6 of 7 in Playa Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
1.3 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#12 of 22 in Tamarindo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,419 reviews
9.8 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bula Bula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bula Bula

Property: Hotel Bula Bula
Address: Playa Grande Road, Playa Grande, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Playa Grande
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bula Bula 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set outside Tamarindo in the beach village and national park of Playa Grande. We offer the romantic, the surfer, and the active traveler a tropical oasis amid the tourist stops. Superior rooms with modern amenities compliment the elegant restaurant where exceptional seafood, steaks and local specialties are served. Friendly and attentive staff ensure your stay is a satisfying one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Bula Bula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bula Playa Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing