We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding for my daughter”
Review of Hotel RipJack Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel RipJack Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Playa Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Stephens City, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wedding for my daughter”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Annie and staff, I cannot convey in words the wonderful "job" you and your staff accomplished for Bri's wedding it was beautiful. I will always remember with tears of joy the care and dedication that this family received at your Inn for our stay and don't believe I could have been spoiled more from you, Julia, Jeanette, Frank, Erick as well as Anna.
Can't rate the Fitness Room or your exercise program since I didn't participate but I will say the Fitness Room with the glass walls was beautiful for the wedding reception and the service was excellent. Thank you so much!

Room Tip: Be sure u know how much space you need to have in your room, i.e. suites to standard. Next time I a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RipleyCostaRica, Manager at Hotel RipJack Inn, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Thank you very much for your nice words. You were a wonderful wedding party and we are so happy to hear that you had a great time. A wedding should be unforgettable and we hope we made this happen. It is amazing to see guests returning to our little Inn, even more for such a special event as a wedding. Thank you for sharing this special occasion with us. Congratulations again from the entire team and we hope to see you all again, maybe for the birthday of the newlywed's first child? ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    82
    22
    12
    5
See reviews for
78
144
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2013

The hotel is well located just a few steps from the beach thru a cute beach access pathway. The staff is very friendly and go beyond expectations to serve you in a very pleasant, genuine way. The food is great too, so you don't need to search for much, everything is right at your hotel.
If you need any extra activities the hosts Dave and Annie are always pleased to help you.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Isabela E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RipleyCostaRica, Manager at Hotel RipJack Inn, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Dear Isabela, muchas gracias for your kind review. We are happy to hear that everything was satisfactory. We want to make our guests feel like they are staying with friends. Our staff combines work with fun and pura vida and we are glad that you liked it that way. PURA VIDA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I hosted my first Deliciously Fit Adventure and Pilates retreat in Paradise at the RipJack. Am I ever happy I did... The staff is fabulously friendly, the food delicious and tasty and the yoga/pilates studio impeccable!! The air conditioned studio is great for mid day workouts, and Grande is such a great chilled out beach for some morning classes. A nice beach to run, and hike to the Playa Carbone. I would highly recommend anyone go for a relaxing escape or a good base for some amazing surfing!! Suzy Forbes with Deliciously Fit Retreats.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzyQtip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RipleyCostaRica, Manager at Hotel RipJack Inn, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Thanks, Suzy, for your review. We are proud to not only host yoga retreats, but to have had our very first pilates retreat with Deliciously Fit Retreats. We are always open for new adventures and ideas and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the RipJack. Everyone works with heart and soul and of course some pura vida. It is always fun with guests like you and we are happy to hear that you were satisfied with the service provided. We hope to see you soon again! Pura Vida!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park City, Utah, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Hands down! One of the best vacations of my life. I stayed at the Rip Jack for 6 nights for a ladies surf and yoga retreat. It was just the right mix of adventure and leisure. The food & drinks were amazing (i looked forward to the chef specials everyday). I stayed in the bungalow with a friend and it was so perfectly modern, casual and comfortable. Very clean and easy to be there. The beach is a 60 sec walk from the hotel - we rode bikes and shelled on the beach in our spare time.
the staff is so friendly and accommodating. i can't wait to go back next year.

Room Tip: the bungalow is good for a small family or two friends, the new suites are beautiful and even better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RipleyCostaRica, Manager at Hotel RipJack Inn, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Hi Sharon,

Wow, thank you for this great review. We loved having you girls stay with us. It is always great to hear that our guests had a blast during their stay at the RipJack. I will make sure to pass on the compliments about the food to our Chef Frank and the others. We are very much looking forward to seeing you again next year! PURA VIDA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ketchum, Idaho
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2013

It truly feels like a home away from home because of the hospitality and what appears to be effortless operations of the property and restaurant.....we all know better! Everyone is smiling and appreciative making you feel like a special guest yet your friend too. I can't wait to go again next spring and host our Soul Feast retreat for yoga, surfing and photography. All our guests were raving about the food, weather (late May), staff, accommodations and gorgeous yoga studio. Families, couples, solo travelers will agree with my experience if they value these things.

Enjoy!

Caroline
Ketchum, Idaho

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank caroline w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RipleyCostaRica, Manager at Hotel RipJack Inn, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Dear Caroline,

Thank you for your kind words. We are happy to be the hotel of your choice to host your retreats. You bring so much passion, fun and amazing people to our little hotel! We all miss you and are looking forward to seeing you next year again- - PURA VIDA!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Surfing is fantastic just a few short steps from the hotel, the restaurant is amazing and the recent new additions they've added to the hotel only make this place better. Dave and Annie are wonderful hosts and you truly feel like you're family once you arrive. Yoga in the morning, Costa Rica Adventures during the day and an evening surf to wash it all down. Heaven. Playa Grande is also a great little town (the city that Ripjack is situated in)....not at all developed and ruined like Tamarindo a few miles down the beach....this place still feels like old school Costa Rica.
The rooms are all nice...but the new rooms outside the pool are much larger and good for families traveling with little kids, as the rooms are much bigger and more modern and they come with kitchens! A bit pricier, but in my opinion, totally worth it.
The Restaurant is deceptively really good. Breakfasts are phenomenal and oddly the sushi bar is off the charts. Sushi in Costa Rica??...yep...and its good!
They do have evening entertainment as well on certain nights....very cool vibe, with the ocean breezes washing through the hotel, drinking Costa Rican beer and the sun setting in the background, you can’t get much better.
This is an amazing place...

Room Tip: rooms outside the pool are larger and better for families with little kids. The cottage is also a v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klodge76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RipleyCostaRica, Manager at Hotel RipJack Inn, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Thank you klodge76 for your amazing review! We feel honored to be one of your favorite places on earth. The entire hotel team works hard to make each and every guest feel at home and enjoy their time at the RipJack to the fullest. We are so grateful to have guests like you staying with us in our little hotel in beautiful Playa Grande. We hope to see you again here in paradise. Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2013

My adult family and I spent several days at the Ripjack Inn this past
Christmas. The staff were very laid back yet helped us whenever we asked (in particular when my wife got stung by a scorpion while we were out and about). The rooms were comfortable and well air-conditioned and the place is situated close to the beach which is across the street and less than a minute's walk through the brush.

The food was adequate but honestly nothing really special. We also felt it was a bit expensive, but the $2 happy hour beer made up for a lot! Also, the barman was very kind by supplying me with ice and glassware which I used in my room for our own private cocktail hour.

After dinner, my son and I would buzz down the road to the next town to pick up some Havana cigars which we merrily chuffed each night on the patio of our room, watching the crabs stroll around and the geckos get fatter on moths.

Ripjack is a great beach destination, but be ready to slooooooooow down because other than the beach, there ain't much else going on! I'm glad we went, but once is enough for me.

-- Peter

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Grande
0.2 mi away
Playa Grande Park Hotel
Playa Grande Park Hotel
#6 of 7 in Playa Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Cantarana
Hotel Cantarana
#1 of 7 in Playa Grande
5.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Bula Bula
Hotel Bula Bula
#4 of 7 in Playa Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
La Marejada Hotel
La Marejada Hotel
#2 of 7 in Playa Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
2.9 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel RipJack Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel RipJack Inn

Property: Hotel RipJack Inn
Address: 50m Al Sur de Oficna de Minae, Playa Grande, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Grande
#2 Family Hotel in Playa Grande
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel RipJack Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RipJack Inn is a quaint 21 room owner operated hotel located only 75 yards from the ocean. Our rooms are each individually decorated and come equipped with air conditioning, ceiling fans, coffee makers, in room safes and outdoor patios. With the exception of our standard rooms each room also has cable TV and mini-fridge. Rooms can all accommodate a minimum of three or five guests depend the type of the room. RipJack inn offers a full service restaurant with some of the best food in the country with a heavy emphasis on fresh local seafood. During your stay take advantage of our on-site yoga, massage and surf lessons. RipJack Inn can also help you arrange all of your activiites including sailing, golfing, diving, sport fishin and much more.We are located just one hour from the Liberia International Airport (LIR) or 20 minutes from the Tamarindo Airport (domestic). Playa Grande is a laid back quiet beach town that is also part of the National Park created to protect the endangered Leatherback turtles. Nesting season is between October and February. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel RipJack Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ripjack Playa Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing