We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean hotel near a great beach”
Review of Hotel RipJack Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel RipJack Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Playa Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed at the Ripjack Inn for two nights at the end of December 2013. Hotel service was very friendly and relaxed - mostly young staff. The owners had recently taken over the adjacent property and had given the whole place a facelift and a fresh coat of paint. It was very clean. Small fridge in the room which was nice to keep some cold drinks and snacks.

While you can't see the beach from the hotel, it is only a 30 second walk through the woods to get there. Playa Grande is a fantastic beach - great waves for surfing or boogie boarding, very flat and a great walking beach as it goes on for miles. Walking early in the morning you can see the tracks of the leatherback turtles that have come ashore in the night to lay eggs.

Onsite restaurant is fairly good. Nice selection and food is generally pretty good. We were there on New Year's eve and the staff was a little overwhelmed, but did everything they could to make us happy.

We will definitely come back here the next time we are in Costa Rica.

There

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the kitchen to ensure quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank highflier2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RipleyCostaRica, Manager at Hotel RipJack Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the RipJack Inn. We especially value your positive feedback about the new part of the hotel, as we put a lot of work, effort and passion into it to make it a worthy addition to the RipJack. We are proud to have a dynamic, enthusiastic and cheerful team of people working here and enjoying it. Happy employees lead to better service and therefore content guests. We are aware that there might be moments, when staff is overwhelmed. However, we also know that our employees will do their udmost to put a smile on your face, no matter what ;-) Thank you and pura vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 387 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2014

Just spent a wonderfully relaxing week at the RipJack. What s nice, friendly and unassuming place to while away the days. Everyone who works at this place could not be any more friendly or helpful. Located about 100 yards from beautiful Playa Grande beach and away from any large hotels or condo developments affords the RipJack a relaxing and peaceful atmosphere.
A popular surfer destination but also perfect for families and other non surfers.

Room Tip: The deluxe pool rooms are away form the main part f the inn and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magic165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RipleyCostaRica, Manager at Hotel RipJack Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Hi Magic165, thank you for this magical review. Nothing makes us happier than happy guests. We hope to see you again! Pura Vida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

The hotel is as close as you can "be" to the beach as legally permitted these days, i.e. in second row, a mere 100m away, which is fantastic! We stayed for 7 nights together with our gron-up twnis sharing Suite No. 2 and were more than pleasantly surprised of: the cleanliness of the place, the very good quality of meals all times, the frinedliness and dedication of all staff in whatever functions, the nice pool in front of our room (there are two pools on the compound).
You shouldn't miss the watch-turtle-lay-eggs tour if it's the season for it (front desk will arrange that for you), enjoying a massage at the Frijoles Locos place, book surf lessons with Frijoles Locos.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms "under the restaurant/bar"-complex
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HajoL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RipleyCostaRica, Manager at Hotel RipJack Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Thank you, gracias & vielen Dank for this amazing review. It is great to hear that we exceeded your expecations and contributed in making your vacation a wonderful experience. We are looking forward to having you stay with us again! PURA VIDA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed here for a few nights and it was awesome. The service and employees were great. I guess they had recently bought the hotel next to the RipJack Inn, which was the part we stayed in. Everything was clean, nice, safe, with a fridge, TV, etc. The walk to the beach was short (a few minutes) and close, but the walk to the surf shop (Frijoles Lococs) is about a 10-15 minute walk. Playa Grande doesn't have much around it; it's a great getaway for beach bums. We really enjoyed it, and Tamarindo is not too far for a day trip. :)

Don't forget to check out the leatherback turtles at night! It was fully booked, so we missed out on seeing the leatherback. We ended up going to other beaches with a local and seeing many other turtles (about 14) laying eggs. Great experience!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RipleyCostaRica, Manager at Hotel RipJack Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Thank you for this – let’s use your expression - awesome review! We are glad you liked staying with us and we thank you for your feedback about the new part of the RipJack Inn. Since it is still very new to us, we rely on our guests to share their experiences and opinions. This way we can improve and become even better ;-) It is unfortunate that the tours for the leatherback turtles had been fully booked, but we are happy that you got to see turtles after all. Thanks again for choosing the RipJack Inn and we hope to see you again! Pura vida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

We ate here 2x during our 4 night stay in Grande. We loved the food - all of it - and the service was awesome. Great veggie and fish dishes and cocktails are great. It is not cheap but is definitely cheaper than Waltinis.

Can also attest to great yoga with Patti on Monday evening.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank atb85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RipleyCostaRica, Manager at Hotel RipJack Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Thank you so much for this great feedback. Our kitchen and restaurant crew will be very happy to hear your compliments that I surely will pass on. Same goes for our fantastic yoga teacher Patti. It is always great to see your name mentioned in a review and I am sure Patti will be excited as well. Thanks again and pura vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

The room was overall nice. The bed was comfy (especially the blanket). The main issue we had was that insects kept getting into our room. Big spiders and crabs kept showing up in the shower. We found a cricket then an ant in our bed. We brushed it off and tried to ignore it, but if you're not a bug person it's not a comfortable feeling. The beach is very close and beautiful. The staff was somewhat friendly. The woman who manages it was by far the most courteous. The gentleman seemed to give off a vibe that we were bothering him. We never tried the food because we got hooked on nearby hotels that had food and drinks at more reasonable prices. The pool was nice but always filled with children, so as a couple it was tough to relax and enjoy. The price was right on for what you get though. There's an overall feel in the area of snooty employees (not just Rip Jack). It was odd to us that there were hardly any native Costa Ricans working there. We liked this quaint beach town, but I don't think we will be back to Playa Grande.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank jparvoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RipleyCostaRica, Manager at Hotel RipJack Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

First of all, we would like to thank you for your honest review! We are truly sorry to hear that you encountered some problems during your stay with us and we are grateful for your constructive feedback. We are always keeping an eye on the insect situation as this is one of the small prices we pay to live in the tropics. It is good to hear that this did not take away from the overall appearance of the room and that you were satisfied with the value for money. With regards to the pool, we are sorry that you did not feel comfortable using it. Since the RipJack expanded, we actually have 2 pools available for our guests. We would think having 2 pools gives you an alternative if one pool is too crowded, which might happen since it is high season/ holidays. Also we regret hearing that you felt our employees were unfriendly. Usually we receive many compliments about our personnel and our service. We see that you had the impression from Playa Grande and its people in general, which is unfortunate. Again, we are sorry Playa Grande and the RipJack did not meet your expectations and we hope that you find a vacation destination that fits your needs and wishes better next time. Pura Vida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We came here from Leaves and Lizards in Arenal which was FAB.
We rolled up here, and my heart sank.
I thought we were on the beach, but we weren't, and the accommodation was tired 1970s concrete blocks....
HOWEVER, in the morning I saw that NOTHING is on the beach as it is a national park. The hotel is one minute off it, the rooms are fine. The staff lovely, oversll food good. A laid back surfers palce and we LOVED it.
Beware first impressions!
A grest dtsy and we really enjoyed it

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoutiqueFarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RipleyCostaRica, Manager at Hotel RipJack Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Thank you for your kind words and for clarifying that sometimes, appearances are deceiving. We are happy to hear that we were able to change your first impression to a great second impression! Especially since the RipJack expanded, we are dependent on our guest’s feedback. We know that not everything might go perfectly smooth right from the beginning, however we are glad to see that despite the change in size, we did not lose the touch with our guests. Thanks for taking your time to share your experience and thanks for the love! Pura Vida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Grande
1.2 mi away
Hotel Cantarana
Hotel Cantarana
#1 of 6 in Playa Grande
287 reviews
0.2 mi away
Playa Grande Park Hotel
Playa Grande Park Hotel
#6 of 6 in Playa Grande
146 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Bula Bula
Hotel Bula Bula
#4 of 6 in Playa Grande
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#11 of 24 in Tamarindo
2,576 reviews
9.3 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
2.1 mi away
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel RipJack Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel RipJack Inn

Address: 50m Al Sur de Oficna de Minae, Playa Grande, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Playa Grande
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Grande
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa Grande
Price Range: £68 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel RipJack Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RipJack Inn is a quaint 21 room owner operated hotel located only 75 yards from the ocean. Our rooms are each individually decorated and come equipped with air conditioning, ceiling fans, coffee makers, in room safes and outdoor patios. With the exception of our standard rooms each room also has cable TV and mini-fridge. Rooms can all accommodate a minimum of three or five guests depend the type of the room. RipJack inn offers a full service restaurant with some of the best food in the country with a heavy emphasis on fresh local seafood. During your stay take advantage of our on-site yoga, massage and surf lessons. RipJack Inn can also help you arrange all of your activiites including sailing, golfing, diving, sport fishin and much more.We are located just one hour from the Liberia International Airport (LIR) or 20 minutes from the Tamarindo Airport (domestic). Playa Grande is a laid back quiet beach town that is also part of the National Park created to protect the endangered Leatherback turtles. Nesting season is between October and February. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel RipJack Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ripjack Playa Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing