We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“forgot what day it was” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel RipJack Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel RipJack Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Playa Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“forgot what day it was”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

this place is paradise....yoga and surfing and hammocks hanging all over.... the staff is so friendly and attentive, the place is clean and the weather is perfect. The food is good. I had an amazing time I left feeling so relaxed I will return again. the beach is perfect. I went solo and meet great people..... if you are looking for a little yoga and a little tan and surfing, and a place to sleep in a hammock in the afternoon under a few palm trees this is the place.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Manonmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RipleyCostaRica, Manager at Hotel RipJack Inn, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Hi Manon, merci beaucoup for your great review. Just reading this makes us feel relaxed ;-) We know we are blessed to be working in such a beautiful place and to meet such amazing people like you. We love that you loved it and we are looking forward to having you stay with us again! Until then, take care and pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    81
    22
    12
    5
See reviews for
77
143
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We planned to stay at Playa Grande because this place is so beautiful - my personal favourite beach in Costa Rica.

Rip Jack Inn is basically on the beach. We stayed at the bungalow, which is a nice and private place to stay, suitable for a family. It is just next to the restaurant/bar but we did not have any noise-problems. The restaurant was great and we had our best food-experiences in Costa Rica there. I would not suggest going to Tamarindo to look for a restaurant, because you have everything and more in Rip Jack Inn restaurant.
The staff of the hotel was very frendly and helpful. The pools and hammocks in the garden are in place if you want to relax and yoga class is excellent alternative to swimming and surfing.
I would suggest this place to everybody!

Room Tip: The rooms beside the pool are fine and the beds are large enough to accommodate 2 adults and 2 small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laiskloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RipleyCostaRica, Manager at Hotel RipJack Inn, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. You and your family were great guests and we loved having you here. Your compliments about the hotel and the restaurant mean a lot to us and we appreciate you recommending the RipJack to other travelers. We hope to see you again! Pura Vida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Such a great place! Perfect location and really nice people who are there to help with any needs! They even had a great flamenco guitarist to serenade us during dinner at their amazing second story treehouse style restaurant...magical!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RipleyCostaRica, Manager at Hotel RipJack Inn, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Thanks, Chris. We are happy to see that you really enjoyed your time with us. The RipJack is grateful for all those amazing artists that come and play for our guests. Great that you got to experience one of them ;-) Hasta la proxima. Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Vers good place, with top services, near the waves. The rooms are large and very clean, we staid 3 days very Nice, with surf lessons top. The reception can book activities easly like going to see luth tortles etc...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Matth006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RipleyCostaRica, Manager at Hotel RipJack Inn, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you for those nice words about our hotel. We are very fortunate to have a hotel in such a perfect location - beach, ocean, surf, restaurants - everything you need in walking distance. We are happy to hear that you had a good time during your stay in Playa Grande and at the RipJack Inn. See you again! Pura vida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Rip Jack Inn has the friendliest staff who will do almost anything to make your stay more pleasurable. The restaurant is wonderful, and the hotel is just steps from the best surfing spot in the area. Gorgeous!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Boxersareawesome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RipleyCostaRica, Manager at Hotel RipJack Inn, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you, this review just made our day. We know that we can be very happy to have people working at the RipJack that love what they are doing, which reflects in the guest service that you experience. Gracias y pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cagnes sur mer
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

The young woman of the staff that welcomed us was always ready to help us as much as she could. This very pretty hotel is located just a few meters from the beach. Great place to stay at. Nice place, nice staff again...

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seb-Alicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RipleyCostaRica, Manager at Hotel RipJack Inn, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Merci beaucoup for your review. How awesome that our staff and service played a big part in making your stay with us so pleasant. We are grateful to have guests like you appreciate our passion for the RipJack Inn. Stay well and pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

We just returned from a week staying in the Bungalow at the Ripjack. I will preface my comments by saying we have stayed for the last few years at very nice all-inclusive resorts, including the Westin at Playa Conchal in Costa Rica last year which my wife and I loved. We wanted to stay at something smaller this year and get a better feel for Costa Rica, and I chose the Ripjack based on comments and pictures on Tripadvisor. We definitely found what we were looking for!

The Bungalow was very nice and clean. It was nice being able to shut the doors on the bedroom in the morning to make coffee and not wake my wife. We are always concerned about getting a hard bed and uncomfortable pillow, but that was not an issue here. We slept great! The grounds were nice, and the location in Playa Grande was perfect. I love to run in the morning, and I was able to run on both roads and the beach once the tide was out, and it was great! There are a number of great bars and restaurants within a 5 minute walk, but honestly the restaurant here was absolutely fabulous and we didn't want to eat too much at the other places.

Tamarindo is about a 1.75 mile walk down the beach with a $1 water taxi ride to take you across the estuary. If we did it over, we would have rented bikes for the entire week and just rode them down the beach or the road to the estuary and took them into Tamarindo. The beach in front of the hotel is awesome, and a great beach to walk for miles on at low tide especially.

If we go back to Playa Grande, we will stay here again.

Room Tip: I'd highly recommend the Bungalow, but I didn't see the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RipleyCostaRica, Manager at Hotel RipJack Inn, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Scott, thank you for this absolutely wonderful review. We are flattered to hear that we can compete with big hotels like the Westin. It sounds like you had a great vacation and we are more than happy to have been part of it! Pura Vida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Grande
0.2 mi away
Playa Grande Park Hotel
Playa Grande Park Hotel
#6 of 7 in Playa Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Cantarana
Hotel Cantarana
#4 of 7 in Playa Grande
5.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Bula Bula
Hotel Bula Bula
#3 of 7 in Playa Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
9.3 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
2.3 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#10 of 22 in Tamarindo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel RipJack Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel RipJack Inn

Property: Hotel RipJack Inn
Address: 50m Al Sur de Oficna de Minae, Playa Grande, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Grande
#2 Family Hotel in Playa Grande
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel RipJack Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RipJack Inn is a quaint 21 room owner operated hotel located only 75 yards from the ocean. Our rooms are each individually decorated and come equipped with air conditioning, ceiling fans, coffee makers, in room safes and outdoor patios. With the exception of our standard rooms each room also has cable TV and mini-fridge. Rooms can all accommodate a minimum of three or five guests depend the type of the room. RipJack inn offers a full service restaurant with some of the best food in the country with a heavy emphasis on fresh local seafood. During your stay take advantage of our on-site yoga, massage and surf lessons. RipJack Inn can also help you arrange all of your activiites including sailing, golfing, diving, sport fishin and much more.We are located just one hour from the Liberia International Airport (LIR) or 20 minutes from the Tamarindo Airport (domestic). Playa Grande is a laid back quiet beach town that is also part of the National Park created to protect the endangered Leatherback turtles. Nesting season is between October and February. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel RipJack Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ripjack Playa Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing