We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place with a fantastic beach!”
Review of Hotel RipJack Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel RipJack Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Playa Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2009

Playa Grande and the Rip Jack Inn were the last stop on our 21 day trip to Costa Rica. We couldn't have picked a better location and hotel. Playa Grande is just past Tamarindo but is a world apart. The beach is pristine and beautiful and you can walk for miles.
The hotel was so much more than we expected. The room was clean, quiet, and decorated nicely. The restaurant had great food and an amazing view of the ocean.
Gregory,Annie, and the rest of the staff were very friendly and had good suggestions on things to do in the area.
Playa Grande is not for those who want a disco and bar scene (go to Tamarindo) but if you are seeking Pura Vida in Costa Rica this is the place.!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunsetGal70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (391)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

291 - 297 of 391 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2009

The RipJack was a great experience. It was exactly what we were looking for in location, accomodations, food, and friendliness. It's about 50 steps to the sand and the view is amazing. Our room was clean, spacious, and had all the comforts of home as well as quiet. The food in the restaurant is delicious! Gregory took care of our every need as he and the staff treated us like family! I highly recommend RipJack Inn to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2009

The good... The restaurant is fantastic, the rooms are cute and clean, the beach is almost deserted, and the hospitality is great... definitely a gem!

The good to know... it is a little bit difficult to get there because the buses do not run to Playa Grande and there's not much going on in the area after the sun goes down

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunsetSilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2009

Great location on the surf beach. Good restaurant. Yoga classes with the "locals". Gregory, Annie and the rest of the staff make you feel like more than just tourist $$s.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dcparis32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Rip Jack for 4 nights - I would absolutely recommend this place to anyone looking for a relaxed, comfortable get-a-way.
The staff were fantastic; they helped us with anything we needed (i.e. confirmed our rental car arrangements for us). The food was great; the servers were friendly and welcoming.
After reading some of the other reviews (people disliked cats and dogs in restaraunts, complaints about the room, etc.)... it's true that this place is not your average 5* North American hotel. However, I preferred the mid-range/relaxed/friendly experience in a quiet area to a more upscale place. Just depends what you're looking for. For what we paid for 4 nights, this place was perfect.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeachbumzinEtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2009

We spent 4 nights at the RipJack, and it was a great vacation and the hotel was fantastic for the price.

It's about a 1 hour drive from Liberia. Road signs are limited to just directional signs to Playa Grande, but once you make the drive once it's easy. Also, many of the roads that used to be dirt must have been paved because from Liberia to Playa Grande, the roads were paved.

As soon as we arrived, Gregory at the RipJack let us go straight to our room and the beach, which was great. We dealt with the paperwork later. The hotel provides beach towels and beach blankets upon request. They ran out or were short a few times, it would be good if they had an area where we could hang our towels at night (other than the small room) so that we didn't need to request new beach towels each day.

Our room was basic but clean and had little things like extra blankets and a light for walking at night that are thoughtful. Bring your own shampoo, soap, etc. There is also a coffee maker with coffee and sweetener that is replaced each day in the room. The bed wasn't the most comfortable, but was bearable to the point that we didn't say anything about it and after being in the sun all day, we easily crashed at night.

The walk to the beach takes about 2 minutes, because the beach is a protected turtle nesting area, this is one of the very closest hotels. Plus, lights have to be off if they face the beach during nesting season, so being a little off the beach is good so you can have a later dinner. The "nightlife" is by no means crazy...depending on the other people in the restaurant/bar at night; it will close earlier or stay open later.

The price of the hotel doesn't include food, which is apparently uncommon in Costa Rica, but we liked it because we tried the other hotel food in the area (La Marejada has great breakfast) as well as god up early to drive to other beach towns, so we didn't miss the breakfast.

Also, we loved having a car. Playa Grande is a little remote, but all areas in Costa Rica kind of are, the roads are windy but nothing is too far. We did day trips to beaches like Flamingo, Conchal, and Avellana. Playa Grande is by far the most beautiful beach out of the ones we saw.

The hotel can recommend things like surf lessons, etc. We booked everything last minute when we got there, and took surf lessons from the instructors at the Taco Star near the beach entrance (near Las Tortugas hotel). The other highly recommended activity is Yoga taught by Gregory at the RipJack in the morning. It was the best way to start the day - we wish they had it every morning!!

The food at RipJack is great, so much more than you would ever expect in a remote, small beach town. Johnny was our waiter each night and was so friendly!!

Overall, the RipJack is a fantastic place to relax and get away. (They have wireless internet, but we didn't want to use it!)

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirstenl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2009

My brother and I have never been to Costa Rica, but we had high expectations (based on passed stories) for great waves, terrific food and tremendous hospitality.
The Rip Jack Inn was tremendous! The best part was the 15 second walk to the beach. We were in the water by 6am every morning and came back for a fantastic breakfast by 9. WAAAAAYY better than going to Tamarindo.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phila083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Grande
0.2 mi away
Playa Grande Park Hotel
Playa Grande Park Hotel
#6 of 6 in Playa Grande
147 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Cantarana
Hotel Cantarana
#1 of 6 in Playa Grande
295 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#11 of 24 in Tamarindo
2,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hotel Bula Bula
Hotel Bula Bula
#4 of 6 in Playa Grande
374 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel RipJack Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel RipJack Inn

Address: 50m Al Sur de Oficna de Minae, Playa Grande, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Grande
#2 Family Hotel in Playa Grande
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa Grande
Price Range: £66 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel RipJack Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RipJack Inn is a quaint 21 room owner operated hotel located only 75 yards from the ocean. Our rooms are each individually decorated and come equipped with air conditioning, ceiling fans, coffee makers, in room safes and outdoor patios. With the exception of our standard rooms each room also has cable TV and mini-fridge. Rooms can all accommodate a minimum of three or five guests depend the type of the room. RipJack inn offers a full service restaurant with some of the best food in the country with a heavy emphasis on fresh local seafood. During your stay take advantage of our on-site yoga, massage and surf lessons. RipJack Inn can also help you arrange all of your activiites including sailing, golfing, diving, sport fishin and much more.We are located just one hour from the Liberia International Airport (LIR) or 20 minutes from the Tamarindo Airport (domestic). Playa Grande is a laid back quiet beach town that is also part of the National Park created to protect the endangered Leatherback turtles. Nesting season is between October and February. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel RipJack Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ripjack Playa Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing