We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Cantarana
Nearby Hotels
Hotel RipJack Inn(Playa Grande)(Great Value!)
US$102
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Bula Bula(Playa Grande)(Great Value!)
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Playa Grande Park Hotel(Playa Grande)(Great Value!)
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Marejada Hotel(Playa Grande)(Great Value!)
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pueblo Dorado Surf Hotel(Tamarindo)(Great Value!)
US$62
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo(Tamarindo)(Great Value!)
US$52
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas(Tamarindo)(Great Value!)
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Tamarindo Diria(Tamarindo)(Great Value!)
US$183
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$177
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$202
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Las Tortugas(Playa Grande)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (301)
Filter reviews
301 results
Traveller rating
247
38
11
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
247
38
11
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshort walkcosta ricaevery morningbeach chairs and umbrellaswater supplywater taxinice poolbeautiful hotelincluded in the room ratedeserted beachbreakfast was includedprivate paththe hotel's restauranthotel managementfour nightsroom hotelacross the river
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
148 - 153 of 301 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2013

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Cantarana in early April. With only ten days in Costa Rica we originally booked for 5 nights thinking that we may want to move to another location. After a couple of nights we knew that the Hotel and the location was just what we were looking for to unwind after a long Canadian winter, and spent our ertire vacation at the Cantarana. With the beach a short walk away, many times we were the only ones for miles. Marko and Sabine were very friendly and flexible with an excellent breakfast as we showed up for breakfast anywhere from 7 - 10 am. Martha their assistant was also very friendly and helpful. The ocean was a short walk away (2 minutes) and could be heard from the hotel. We were treated to monkeys, birds, iguanas, geckos and the singing frog "Cantarana"! The meals in the restaurant were excellent! The location was an excellent base for exploring the beaches in Gauncaste. We would definately stay at Hotel Cantarana again and hope to go back soon!

Room Tip: The first 5 nights we stayed in the "Honeymoon room" and then moved to the "Conchal Room". Both rooms were great.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KimH17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We (party of 3 including my 11 year old grandson) spent 3 nights at Hotel Cantarana. This was our first time to Playa Grande. Marcus and Sabine were more than accommodating greeting us later than their normal check-in due to a late flight from the States. They even arranged for transportation to their hotel as we did not want to try to find it so late on our own.
The Hotel is small and quiet, well kept and more than comfortable. Room was clean and spacious, air conditioning worked very well. Or grandson loved the pool which we had to ourselves most of the day. The beach was just a short walk away.
Breakfast was wonderful with fresh fruits, breads and eggs made to order not to mention the great CR coffee!
Marcus made sure to point out some local critters including a scorpion for my grandson as well as assisted in arranging for a turtle watch tour where we witnessed a pacific green back make her nest and lay her eggs. What a great opportunity!
After seeing Tamarindo, we are happy we made the choice to stay in Playa Grande with Marcus and Sabine.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marleydog123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Cantarana for 6 nights. Waking up to the sounds of the ocean, monkeys, geikos, & exotic birds was so cool. The owners, Marko and Sebrina were very friendly and attentive to their guests needs. The staff were all kind and helpful. The food was fresh and delious. The breakfast that came with your room offered fresh breads, jams, and fruits along with meat, cheese, eggs or whatever you requested. We tried several of the dishes on the dinner menu. The shrimp in coconut sauce, blackened tuna and the masterpiece salad made with aspargus, salad greens and grilled vegables. Yummy. We enjoyed the turtle tour that the hotel set up for us. We drove a short distrance to experience the cool water beneath a waterfall, zip line canopy tour, butterfly gardens, and hot springs. The area is hot and rugged, but offers an adventure of a lifetime. Fun. A short boat ride across the estuary to Tamarindo offered a different type fun. We recommend Hotel Cantarana Playa Grande!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Very nice spot: located in the midst of nature and calm, a small walk away from the beach. The owners are very welcoming and flexible. They were great with our 2-year old son. Breakfast is tasty: fresh fruits, crispy bread, good coffee, ... served with a smile. Same goes for dinner.
Diving excursion could immediatly be arranged. Keep in mind there is little shade on the nearby beach, but the hotel can rent you an umbrella.
Thank you to Sabine and Marco!

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank family S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We hated it - the hotel changed hands shortly after I had booked it and the people who now run it are very uptight about their pool, grounds and rooms with lots of little notices asking you not to use sun tan lotion and make sure you don't bring and sand in from the beach. My suggestion to them would be to not buy a hotel in a sunny place next to a beach.
We went as a family and the beach is a good 5 minutes walk away in either direction when we thought it was right on the beach and the beah is not suitable for young children to swim in as it has undercurrents.
The whole hotel has only 5 rooms which is great if you are a romantic couple but not partiualrly good for keeping a viable restaurant going. The restaurant has nothing suitale for children so we had to eat elsewhere.
So yes a romantic couple's remote hideaway but not really suitable for a family - it's too far away from anything in the least bit entertaining.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Clara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cantarana, Owner at Hotel Cantarana, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

Dear Clara,
we want our guests to be happy!
We are here in paradise everyday (from 6:30 am until 10 pm) to help our guests to have a wonderful vacation.
There is always someone here to answer questions.
We prefer that our guests talk to us, not like you leaving the hotel in the middle of the night without notice and without a proper check out.
I am so sorry to read about your complaints, instead of having been able to talk to you and correct the issue.
The beauty of Playa Grande is its tranquility, but we understand that it is not for everyone. The hotel is located in the “Parque National LAS BAULAS” (Sea Turtle National Park), which bans hotels and houses from being built directly on the beach. Our hotel has been a quiet retreat here for the last 9 years.
We are very proud of a sparkling clean pool that all our guests enjoy very much.
There are 2 small signs, one asking guests to rinse off before entering the pool and the second sign showing our guests a little hidden tap to rinse off their sandy feet.
These signs have been at our hotel for many years.
If you would have asked us about a children’s menu, our chef loves to pamper all our guests with special dinners suitable for their needs.
Our restaurant is open to the public, not only to our house guests.
We have lots of returning local guests that are live close by and travelers who are staying in the rental houses in Playa Grande.
We are always willing to help our guests and would have sent you in the right direction of your liking. Sounds like Tamarindo is more your idea of a good time.
None the less, if you would have asked us, we have all kinds of activities available for our guests.
ATV tours, Horseback riding tours, Sailing tours, Zip lining, Kayaking etc.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews