We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Unique restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ginger

Ginger
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$40
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A tapas bar with a twist: Asian and Mediterranean fusion, great list of New World Wines by the glass, cocktails made with fresh tropical juices. Exciting and eclectic cuisine like no other in Costa Rica!
London, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Unique restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Very busy and we waited a while for our drinks. Food excellent. This restaurant is run by a Canadian, and has won architectural awards for its design. The tapas are expensive, but very tasty. The pavlova is outstanding.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ellen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    551
    209
    57
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Great twist on Asian fusion, everything was delicious. Not your low cal meal but for a treat highly recommended. Not
By our typical Costa Rican restaurant to put it mildly. Service was excellent and nice outdoor location.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravels123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rollinsford, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Tapas style well done. The best meal we had all week (among several good ones) Ginger Tuna and the Pavlova dessert were the highlights

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank enochNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific Northwest
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“wonderful food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

loved the small plates, everything was fantastic. atmosphere great too. only thing that would have made it better is if it had a different view. otherwise highly recommend

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank jpknw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washburn, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Modern vibe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

I loved Ginger-it's like going to a swanky, hip bar with yummy appetizers. We sat outside on the deck and it was a beautiful night with a nice breeze. My husband was a little disappointed in the small portions, but I thought it was perfect. Fun place, but don't plan on getting filled up with food!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ginger also viewed

Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Ginger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing