We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel & Villas Huetares
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Playa Hermosa
Certificate of Excellence
Alajuela, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place!!”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

First time here was last weekend 30/6. Even we stay just one night is was great: the welcome was great, the price was just perfect (given the fact that we are on mid-year vacations here in Costa Rica) and is it perfectly located; just 2 min walk away from Hermosa beach.
From there you can drive to other great places such as Coco and Panama beaches, it is just a 10 min by car.
Again, highly recommended during any season of the year. I am willing to spend more nights on this great place.

Room Tip: Villas on second floor have a different design than the ones located on the first floor. I would rec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SergioCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vinicio85, Gerente at Hotel & Villas Huetares, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Google Translation
Muchisimas gracias Sergio, para nosotros será un honor tenerlo nuevamente por aca, Agradecemos profundamente sus buenos comentarios y le deseamos un dia lleno de muchos exitos.

Vinicio Briceño

Gerente de Hotel & Villas Huetares.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    49
    19
    5
    3
See reviews for
77
26
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oskaloosa, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

My wife and I stayed at Villa Huetares for a week in March 2013 in one of the villas with a kitchenette. The kitchen had all the essentials. The facility was clean however showing its age. We were within easy walking distance of the beach approx 300 yards. There was a good restaurant attached to the hotel and next door a local soda that had good food when we decided not to cook. Very nice pool and well kept grounds.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BruceAimee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brattleboro, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 October 2012

This is a fantastic hotel with an amazing staff. They go out of their way to make your stay comfortable, safe, and easy. Will recommend activities or places to eat and help you barter down prices. Mostly Costa Rican families and the staff speaks mostly Spanish, delicious food from Danny, the chef.

Room Tip: Villa's have two bedrooms, 1-2 bathrooms and a kitchen. Habitaciones are standard doubles. Reque...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MG5346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

This is a great place to spend your last 1 or 2 nights before flying out of Liberia as it's only 1/2 hr from the airport. We had a standard $50 room and it was spacious & clean with lots of storage, a room safe & AC. They have a great pool, nice grounds and gated lot with night watchman. The staff is friendly & helpful. The rooms include breakfast but only during busier times, so ask. They have an outdoor kitchen area where you can prepare light breakfast & coffee/tea. The quiet beach is a short walk away and there are a few restaurants in the area. Howlers can be heard and spotted in the nearby mango trees.

Room Tip: Rooms have refrigerator, villas have kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bligede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spruce Grove, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

I have stayed at this property now for 8 years in a row for 4-5 weeks at a time. It is a Tico hotel so not many Westerners. It is like a little paradise that no one knows about. I have many friends that live down here in Playa Hermosa and they hardly know about it. The people that run it do not speak a lot of English but the are so helpful in trying to make your stay a great one. The rooms are very clean, have AC, fridge and TV. The courtyard and pool area are also very well maintained. You are a block from the beach and you have a small store right next to the hotel. The best sunsets in Costa Rica are just down the road.
I maybe shooting myself in the foot telling the world about this place but it needs to know.

Pura Vida

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hookedby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Playa Hermosa was great, not very touristy, but still very beautiful. No one bothered us on the beach at all, best beach day ever. As for Villa Huetares, it was great! Good value, not very expensive. Softest beds in Costa Rica, nice big room, air con, clean. Nice pool with very helpful and friendly staff. Free Internet and close to the market, beach and very close to the main bus stop. Very pleasant surprise all around.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pretzolio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Hermosa
0.1 mi away
Hotel ManGaby
Hotel ManGaby
#1 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
357 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bosque del Mar Playa Hermosa
0.4 mi away
Condovac la Costa
Condovac la Costa
#5 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa del Sueno
Villa del Sueno
#4 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
290 reviews
1.9 mi away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
Villa Acacia
Villa Acacia
#8 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Villas Huetares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Villas Huetares

Property: Hotel & Villas Huetares
Address: Calle Principal, Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Hermosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel & Villas Huetares 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Hotel & Villas Huetares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel & Villas Huetares Costa Rica/Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing