We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location, But . . .”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel & Villas Huetares
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Playa Hermosa
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Location, But . . .”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

There were a few positive things about Villa Huetares, being so close to a beautiful and uncrowded beach was the best. The manager was also a very pleasant and helpful person.

But...
We stayed for two nights in a standard room and two nights in a villa. In both I felt there was not a high enough standard of cleanliness. The doors and walls were very dirty, and in the standard room, the room with the toilet smelled like a sewer. There was a different strange and unpleasant smell in one of the bathrooms after we moved as well. There was even a dead bug on one of the beds, and the towels are stained. In addition there are no beach towels available (which is minor, but an inconvenience).

The beds were a bit hard, and not terribly comfortable, but the pillows were the worst I have ever slept on. When I mentioned the pillows to my husband, he said, "You got a pillow, I got a bag of socks." That about sums it up.

In the standard room there was one overhead light fixture with a single bulb, making the room very dim, and no other accent lights. The villa was definitely an improvement for lighting.

Because kids are not always aware of the details of a room beyond does it have a TV, and is there a pool outside, mine were not bothered by the rooms except the dead bug (and we definitely didn't draw there attention to anything). The thing that put them off the most, and bothered us as well, was that we were required to wear armbands for the duration of our stay. It felt a little like being at a cheap amusement park.

The weekend atmosphere was of a big block party. Lots of families as well as couples, swimming, dancing, eating, etc until after midnight. The pools were nice, but maybe overused, as the largest turned quite cloudy, and ended up being drained. One of the others was nice the whole time, and the girls enjoyed it. By Monday night, I think we were one of two families on the premises-very different from the weekend.

You may ask why we didn't talk to the manager about the conditions. We felt that when it is not just a room issue, but a property issue, there really isn't a point. We made the best of our stay by spending the majority of the time outside our room, and we decided not to let this small feature of the trip overshadow a fantastic vacation.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristine70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vinicio85, Gerente at Hotel & Villas Huetares, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Hello Mrs.

I hope you and your Family are doing well
Thank you so much for your feedback unfortunately what I can do at point is take very seriously this comment and start to work on those details that you are mentioned on your feedback.
Once again thank you very much and I really appreciate every single thing that you are telling us.

Have a wonderful day and all the best for you.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    48
    19
    5
    3
See reviews for
76
26
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alajuela, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

First time here was last weekend 30/6. Even we stay just one night is was great: the welcome was great, the price was just perfect (given the fact that we are on mid-year vacations here in Costa Rica) and is it perfectly located; just 2 min walk away from Hermosa beach.
From there you can drive to other great places such as Coco and Panama beaches, it is just a 10 min by car.
Again, highly recommended during any season of the year. I am willing to spend more nights on this great place.

Room Tip: Villas on second floor have a different design than the ones located on the first floor. I would rec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SergioCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vinicio85, Gerente at Hotel & Villas Huetares, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Google Translation
Muchisimas gracias Sergio, para nosotros será un honor tenerlo nuevamente por aca, Agradecemos profundamente sus buenos comentarios y le deseamos un dia lleno de muchos exitos.

Vinicio Briceño

Gerente de Hotel & Villas Huetares.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oskaloosa, Kansas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

My wife and I stayed at Villa Huetares for a week in March 2013 in one of the villas with a kitchenette. The kitchen had all the essentials. The facility was clean however showing its age. We were within easy walking distance of the beach approx 300 yards. There was a good restaurant attached to the hotel and next door a local soda that had good food when we decided not to cook. Very nice pool and well kept grounds.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BruceAimee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brattleboro, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 October 2012

This is a fantastic hotel with an amazing staff. They go out of their way to make your stay comfortable, safe, and easy. Will recommend activities or places to eat and help you barter down prices. Mostly Costa Rican families and the staff speaks mostly Spanish, delicious food from Danny, the chef.

Room Tip: Villa's have two bedrooms, 1-2 bathrooms and a kitchen. Habitaciones are standard doubles. Reque...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MG5346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

This is a great place to spend your last 1 or 2 nights before flying out of Liberia as it's only 1/2 hr from the airport. We had a standard $50 room and it was spacious & clean with lots of storage, a room safe & AC. They have a great pool, nice grounds and gated lot with night watchman. The staff is friendly & helpful. The rooms include breakfast but only during busier times, so ask. They have an outdoor kitchen area where you can prepare light breakfast & coffee/tea. The quiet beach is a short walk away and there are a few restaurants in the area. Howlers can be heard and spotted in the nearby mango trees.

Room Tip: Rooms have refrigerator, villas have kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bligede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stony Plain, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

I have stayed at this property now for 8 years in a row for 4-5 weeks at a time. It is a Tico hotel so not many Westerners. It is like a little paradise that no one knows about. I have many friends that live down here in Playa Hermosa and they hardly know about it. The people that run it do not speak a lot of English but the are so helpful in trying to make your stay a great one. The rooms are very clean, have AC, fridge and TV. The courtyard and pool area are also very well maintained. You are a block from the beach and you have a small store right next to the hotel. The best sunsets in Costa Rica are just down the road.
I maybe shooting myself in the foot telling the world about this place but it needs to know.

Pura Vida

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hookedby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Playa Hermosa was great, not very touristy, but still very beautiful. No one bothered us on the beach at all, best beach day ever. As for Villa Huetares, it was great! Good value, not very expensive. Softest beds in Costa Rica, nice big room, air con, clean. Nice pool with very helpful and friendly staff. Free Internet and close to the market, beach and very close to the main bus stop. Very pleasant surprise all around.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pretzolio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Hermosa hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel ManGaby
Hotel ManGaby
#1 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Velero
Hotel El Velero
#3 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa del Sueno
Villa del Sueno
#4 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Condovac la Costa
Hotel Condovac la Costa
#5 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bosque del Mar Playa Hermosa
0.1 mi away
Villa Acacia
Villa Acacia
#8 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Villas Huetares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Villas Huetares

Property: Hotel & Villas Huetares
Address: Calle Principal, Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Hermosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel & Villas Huetares 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel & Villas Huetares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel & Villas Huetares Costa Rica/Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing