We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tico tours Guanacaste goes 5 for 5 in our book. Awesome & fun.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tico Tours Guanacaste Bernal Mata

Tico Tours Guanacaste Bernal Mata
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tico Tours Guanacaste is a Licensed and Insured Tour Company. Our Company aims to provide you with an active experience of the real Costa Rica. We will take you off of the beaten path for a one-of-a-kind, matchless experience unlike those of the standard big coach tours. Tico Tours Guanacaste provides first-class personal attention, superior customer service and unique adventures for an unforgettable experience. It's truly our pleasure to share the natural beauty of Costa Rica through a native's perspective, while maintaining the desired of comfort and quality of service that today's travelers expect and deserve. Our company uses air conditioned, up-to-date vehicles with full insurance coverage. Customer satisfaction is our #1 goal! Tico Tours Guanacaste prides itself on individual attention to client. We will do all in our hands to ensure that your time in Costa Rica is truly memorable.
Tacoma, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tico tours Guanacaste goes 5 for 5 in our book. Awesome & fun.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Bernal Mata and his staff put their best foot forward on many levels. We booked 4 tours with them and a 5th through them. He was recommended by a close friend who lives near his office. On 3 of the 4 tours Luis (driver) & Juan Carlos (guide) made every part of our tours an adventure and a lot of fun. (Even on the crazy, bumpy roads they say, "no charge for the massage!") The tours were interesting, informative, flexible to our wants & needs as far as restroom, souvenirs & curiosity, and they were very professional. Juan Carlos hung on the edge of his seat looking up into the trees on the way to the volcano to spot toucans & sloths in case there were none in the rain forest when we arrived. He was very patient with all of the questions we threw his way. Bernal joined us on one of the tours and we enjoyed him as well. He ran through all of the tours with us initially and after hearing what we were interested in, helped us sort out the best way to go to see most everything without many repeat activities. All of the food and drink offered on the tours was delicious. Language was no barrier. We will definitely repeat with them on our next visit. Two thumbs all the way up Tico Tours Guanacaste!!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernalMata, Owner at Tico Tours Guanacaste Bernal Mata, responded to this review, 15 April 2015
Steve H thank you soo much for bring out my name, I'll definitely let know JC about your comments, he is actually very good spotting different animals. I'm very happy knowing you guys had such a good time and that you would look for us if you come back, nothing make me happier than satisfied friends, if you guys come back we will happy to help you once again. Thank you very much Bernal Mata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    384
    14
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An Amazing Day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Bernal and his associates made our day an amazing experience in Costa Rica that we will never forget. They were both professional and fun. Our tour started with a bus ride to Borinquen Resort, during which our guide gave us lots of interesting and fun facts about Costa Rica. We then ventured up to the first Zip line via horse back. The horses were well trained and gentle, even our most inexperienced riders were able to navigate their horses independently. We then experienced 13 amazing zip lines, always feeling safe and supported by the Tico Tour's crew. Zip lining was followed by a delicious lunch at secluded restaurant on the resort. Our afternoon involved natural saunas, mud baths, and hot springs, followed by swimming in a flint stone pool which was just breath-taking. An action-packed morning followed by a relaxing afternoon. On our way back to the resort, we stopped at a local market to shop for souvenirs. I highly recommend this tour to anyone visiting Costa Rica.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jackyliddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernalMata, Owner at Tico Tours Guanacaste Bernal Mata, responded to this review, 15 April 2015
jackyliddle Borinquen is such a beautiful place, and you know what? I love that zip lining, for me is one of the best in the are. I'll let my staff know you were very satisfied during your tour and that you enjoyed it so much, Horses know their way up the mountain, even when we go with kids they are very easy going, and after all the activities nothing better than the pools, I definitely love that place. Thank you so much for taking your time to share your experience with everyone that reads it, Bernal Mata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kincardine, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Professional and fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Great driver and fun crew that made sure we had a variety of drinks and plenty of water for our tour. Stopped at a local vendor for souvenirs and pit stops for washrooms.
Very organized and not rushed. Let us digest our lunch before the next activity.
Joked around with us and taught us about the Country, language, and government!
Made us feel safe and relaxed.

Helpful?
1 Thank HuSkie1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernalMata, Owner at Tico Tours Guanacaste Bernal Mata, responded to this review, 18 April 2015
HuSkie1016 no body enjoys a tour when the guide is rushing into everything, we try to do the tours at each person pace, that would give us time to explain as much as we can about Costa Rica an hour customs, our guides love to teach people our ways. I must say thank you for taking the time and write a review for us, hope you guys come back some day. Bernal Mata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epping, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“All the benefits of a larger tour company without the drawbacks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

I chose Tico tours for our family last week when we visited Playa Hormosa, CR. I chose them based on reading other reviews and was not disappointed. We signed up for 3 tours, the all-day adventure to the Borenquean resort by the volcano with zip lining and horse back riding, the Palo Verde jungle/boat tour and a sunset cruise. They showed up at our villa right on time and in both of the first 2 tours we were placed with a another wonderful family of four whom we matched up well with and that made things all the more enjoyable. They took great care to make sure our needs were met, we have 2 small boys ages 4 and 7 and they took the time to make sure they were able to enjoy all the activities - including zip lining! The 4 year old zip lined strapped to the guides and went solo for the last little stretch! Our 7 year old did all 12 lines solo and LOVED it! We all enjoyed every minute. I can recommend definitely going on both the boat tour and the Borenquean adventure tour! It really expanded our view of the Guanacaste region and allowed us the opportunity to see the types of wild animals that we wanted to make sure we saw when we planned our visit.
One last thing, there was confusion (on our part) as to the start time of the sunset cruise. After a couple of phone calls with Bernal, he explained that even though they did send the proper information, they were not like a big tour company and would work with us to ensure we were satisfied. Having already taken the other tours probably helped, but I wanted to make sure I explained to you - potential clients - that this is a very friendly and reputable company and will work to ensure your satisfaction. Go with Tico if you have the opportunity.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnandJeniferT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernalMata, Owner at Tico Tours Guanacaste Bernal Mata, responded to this review, 18 April 2015
no body likes to be on huge lines to do one activity at the time. JohnandJeniferT thanks for bringing up my name, misunderstandings happen all the time, even though there was one we tried our best to work it out, I'm glad to know you spend such a nice time with us, I'll pass on your good comments to my staff, I know they will enjoy that, working with kids could be difficult some times you have to be aware of them the whole time so they don't get injured or anything happen to them. I really appreciate you took the time to share your thoughts with us. Bernal Mata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific Northwest
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“great staff, amazing tours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

I read the reviews on this before utilizing Tico tours and they were spot on. All of our guides were great, the tours were perfect. We did the Boriquen Adventure, Palo Verde Jungle tour and the River rafting. We were travelling with our 12 and 13 year old and everyone love each tour for different reasons. I would highly recommend all of them. Tico tours was prompt, thorough and wonderful.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank jpknw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernalMata, Owner at Tico Tours Guanacaste Bernal Mata, responded to this review, 18 April 2015
Thank you jpknw like you, many people go to trip advisor first, that's why we always thanks for the trip advisor reviews, I'm glad to hear that you loved the tours you did with us, we try to do as much as possible to know our new friends are satisfied. Thank you for this review. Bernal Mata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tico Tours Guanacaste Bernal Mata also viewed

Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Tico Tours Guanacaste Bernal Mata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing