We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rustic and relaxed!”
Review of Papagayo Village

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa Hermosa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Papagayo Village
Port Orchard, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rustic and relaxed!”
Reviewed 1 April 2012

It is only by good fortune that we found out about Papagayo Village but we are definitely glad we did.

The facilities are a rustic but well maintained and the service from the owners down to the house keeper could not have been better.

A single week is simply not enough time!

Room Tip: Go for the villas to have a kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jwest98366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    12
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
15
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Ludlow, Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Had a wonderful experience at Papagayo Village, a perfect place for a family reunion. Allen made our stay very comfortable and he is an awesome tour guide as well. We had 16 family members stay for 8 days. Having the whole place to ourselves we really felt comfortable. Beautiful pool with a BBQ for thos big dinners, karoke in the evening, quick strolls to the beach. What a wonderful time and super venue for a group. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We had a girls week away to celebrate my birthday. It was one of the most incredible weeks I've ever had. The place is beautiful and very comfortable. Our host, Allen, was at the airport to pick us up; picked us fresh grapefruit for breakfast and thoroughly entertained us while we were there. He often played movies for us outdoors in the evenings and entertained us with his sax playing. We made new friends with the other guests. The highlights for me on my trip were the beautiful sunsets, the wonderful breakfast at Mario's Cuisine a couple of blocks down the street and the great tour that Allen lined us up with to go Zip Lining - it was incredible! It was nice being able to sit by the pool and update our adventures on Facebook on a regular basis so friends and family felt like they were experiencing the trip as we went. Papagayo Village is a great place for all ages. The kids, along with adults, will receive a great treat if they have the opportunity to meet Theodore on Sunday morning! Can't wait to go back!!! Thanks for the great time Allen!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pohearts2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

My wife along with our friends and their daughter spent 6 nights in Playa Hermosa at the Papagayo Village and we all wish we could have stayed longer. The villas are beautiful inside and out. Our particular villa included a kitchen including a microwave, toaster, coffeemaker, pots and pans. The villa also included a television with cable service and wireless internet, though we did not find ourselves eager to remain connected to the outside world. Depending on your pace, Papagayo Village is about a 10-15 minute walk to the nearest beach which we visited nearly everyday. There are a number of nearby restaurants and a grocery store should you decide to dine in. If that weren't enough, Allen is an excellent host who helped us with any needs and answered our many questions about the area. We definately plan to return and when we do we will be staying at the Papagayo Village!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Central Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Papagayo village is a great, casual place for families who are looking for something more than a hotel room. We stayed in a large two bedroom villa with a stunning full kitchen, including microwave, oven, toaster, coffeemaker, stove, pots/pans and more...there was a television with cable service (the first for us ever in Costa Rica as we usually stay in more basic lodgings), board games in the cabinets (we played Clue one night), ample towels and bedding in the linen closet and, gasp, a washer/dryer!! The bedroom had air-conditioning and there was a pleasant outdoor terrace and a path leading to the pool/barbeque area. Oh yeah, wifi as well...Really, for the money (around 60-75 USD a night I believe), this was a great value. It was like being in your own home that has just been miraculously transported a few blocks from the Costa Rican beach! The well-stocked grocery is just a couple of blocks away, and the beach is a 10 minute walk down a side street. Allen, one of the owners, was a great guy (with many talents...you may be treated to a saxophone solo, for example). We will be forever grateful to him for transporting us to the airport on Christmas morning at 5am. This was a great place for us to just "chill out" after a week roughing it in the more undeveloped northern forest area of the country. And the kids loved the copas treats sold by the pushcart vendors on the beach!

Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank jammin11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

My fiance and I spent eight days at Papagayo Village and loved every moment. Allen one of the owners of this beautiful quaint resort lives on site and takes great pride in the upkeep and maintenance of the lovely grounds, pool and individual villas. The villa we stayed in had a full kitchen, washing machine, living room area with a TV ( that we never once turned on) AC and a great covered patio with a table, chairs and my favorite feature a hammock!
The beach is a short walk away as is a grocery store and several restaurants. For night life Playa Coco is a quick taxi ride away and has everything from sports bars to dance till you drop nightclubs as well as many small and interesting shops. Allen is a great resource to help you plan or decide what activities you want to enjoy and can help book your adventures. We went deep sea fishing, Zip lining, horseback riding, enjoyed a river trip where we saw croc's,colorful birds and monkeys, went snorkeling, rock wall climbing, rode over some crazy rapids on inner tubes, hiked to a beautiful waterfall and were the only ones there the whole time. Oh and after the hike we restored our tired bodies in thermal hot springs and a mud bath. The beaches were beautiful and the scenery lush and exotic. We are tempted to change our wedding day ideas and return to Playa Hermosa to exchange our vows, Allen can even handle that as he has married many couples through the years as a minister back in the United States as well as in Costa Rica. Great spot for couples, families or group vacations.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TexasVinoMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Orchard, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2011

The villas are charming, clean and comfortable. The lush surroundings just make you want to put away that cell phone and computer, turn off the television and just sit back and enjoy the beauty of nature, the wam, wonderful weather and the comfortable accommodations. There is even maid service!!! What a great place to relax, rejuvenate and rejoice.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nnorman15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Hermosa hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Condovac la Costa
Hotel Condovac la Costa
#5 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bosque del Mar Playa Hermosa
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Velero
Hotel El Velero
#3 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel ManGaby
Hotel ManGaby
#1 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa del Sueno
Villa del Sueno
#4 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hermosa Heights Villas
Hermosa Heights Villas
#1 of 3 in Playa Hermosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Papagayo Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papagayo Village

Property: Papagayo Village
Address: 300 Metros Despues de la Primera Entrada a la Playa, Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Playa Hermosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Papagayo Village is a beautiful garden oasis in the heart of Playa Hermosa. We are an easy 10 minute walk to the beach. The property consists of a gated community of seven separate villas situated around a central swimming pool, bbq area, and tropical garden. The villas include such amenities as covered patios, hammocks, roof top terraces, wi-fi internet, cable TV, phone, air conditioning, and housekeeping. Our natural well-fed water is great for drinking right out of the tap. The one and two bedroom villas also include a fully-equipped kitchen, living area, and washing machine. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Papagayo Village Costa Rica/Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing