We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Day Trip to Nicaragua” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plus Papagayo Tours and Transfers

Plus Papagayo Tours and Transfers
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Plus Papagayo Tours and Transfers was founded with the goal of providing all tour packages in Costa Rica, Nicaragua and Central America, we specialize in tour guides to Nicaragua we are pioneers in this colonial tour to Nicaragua.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Day Trip to Nicaragua”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Was in Tamarindo, Costa Rica and booked a day trip to Nicaragua. The tour was EXCELLENT.
It started around 4:30am and ended at 9:30pm. Saw Monbacho Active Volcano, Boat tour of islands on Lake Nicaragua, Granada, and shopping. We never stayed long at any place, but long enough to see it and enjoy it. The guide (forgot his name) and driver (Johnny) were GREAT.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ruth j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    32
    9
    11
    15
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
137 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Nicaragua is a great trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

My family and I booked a trip to Nicaragua through another tour company who contracts with Plus to take large groups into Nicaragua. While the trip is very long and starts early in the morning, it is completely worth your time.

We were able to walk right up to the crater of an active volcano, ride a boat and look at beautiful homes and monkeys on Lake Nicaragua, shop in the Masaya market and walk around the beautiful colonial town of Granada.

Our guide was Eric, who was top notch. Eric grew up in Nicaragua and knew so much history of the country and was very passionate about his homeland. All through the trip he explained different things about where we were and the history behind the areas.

I was amazed at how different Nicaragua was from Costa Rica. First, surprisingly the roads were much smoother and better in Nicaragua than Costa Rica. Things in Nicaragua are much cheaper and much less developed.

The scenery of the country was absolutely beautiful and the old colonial towns were something to behold.

My 9 year old especially liked walking to the crater of the Masaya Volcano and the fact that he got 4 new stamps in his passport on the trip.

We talked to several people in our resort who did the Nicaragua trip, but we were the only ones who got a special gift from our tour company. Right before you cross the border Plus tours presents you with a personalized gift. I thought this was an extra special touch and something I'll remember and cherish from my trip into Nicaragua.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Hogsraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nicaragua Excursion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

I went on a Nicaragua excursion through this company with my best friend. Our trip was great. Our tour guide Hector was very friendly, personable and knowledgeable. Nicaragua is a beautiful country. Our trip included a traditional Costa Rican breakfast, lunch in Nicaragua, an active volcano, an inactive volcano, a river boat ride where we saw monkeys, souvenir shopping in a local flea market, an option cigar factory tour and sight seeing in Grenada. We didn't get to spend a whole lot of time at any one location, but that's what you get when you try to get when you try to fit so much in in one trip. So no complaints there! There are two complaints that I have. There was a couple times we had pit stops where all the passengers were sitting around waiting for the driver & tour guide so we could get on our way. These pits stops were nice, but the amount of time spent there was not necessary. The other thing is toilet paper! There was a couple places we stopped that didn't provide toilet paper and the roll that the tour guide brought was almost empty and not enough for 6 or 7 females! Very important...If you go on this tour...BRING A FULL ROLL OF TOILET PAPER!!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Hishoelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nicaragua trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Nicaragua is a fascinating contrast to Costa Rica, a socialist republic much less developed from a tourism infrastructure standpoint, and much less expensive. Be prepared, this is a very long and tiring day, but well worth your time if you like to get off the beaten path. The volcanic scenery is beautiful, the markets and food good, and the colonial cities historic. Do not take children who ask "are we there yet", nor family members who will complain of a few flies at the restaurant and stray dogs. The border crossing is a bit wild and wooly and was very efficiently handled by our guide. I felt very safe the whole time, much more so than on visits to rural Mexico.

I was very impressed with this tour company when a medical emergency forced a change of plans at a most inconvenient hour. I booked directly with Sergio who handled everything with utmost professionalism. These guys work long hours, put you first, and are deserving of your business. If you want a cultural experience, an adventure beyond another zipline, and a different perspective of life in Central America, just do it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AnotherOpinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful trip! So glad we did this!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We did the day trip to Nicaragua and are so glad we did this. We woke up extremely early and were picked up in our hotel lobby at 5:45am, then we picked up other passengers. We were taken to a local restaurant that was on the way towards Liberia. We were served a breakfast and the loaded on to buses. This was the longest part of the trip, it took hours to get through this process and to get to the border. Once at the border it took another 30 minutes to get through. Very important tip: bring your own toilet paper and hand sanitizer!!!!! It took another hour and a half to get to our first stop which was the Masaya volcano. This was a great spot, the bus drove us all the way up and we got to spend about 15 minutes looking around and taking pictures. Then we headed to the market in Masaya where we had lunch, which was excellent and there was live music. Beware of all the kids who present you with "gifts" but then want money. We did not have enough time to shop after lunch, only 45 minutes but the market is huge and I don't like to be rushed through. We got back on the bus and drove to Granada which is a beautiful city but again we only had 45 minutes to explore which was not nearly enough time!!!! We wanted to ride a horse carriage but not enough time. They should give 2 hours to spend in this city. We the. Drive to Nicaragua Lake and got on boats for a tour of the homes on the islands on lake. We stopped to seethe monkeys on their own Protected island and this was fun. After the lake tour we got back on the buses and headed back to Costa Rica. When it was all said and done we got back to our hotel around 8:45pm. It was a long day of sitting, just wish we had more time in each location but it was still worth it. Our guide was David and he was very nice and knowledgeable.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank blkjakbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Plus Papagayo Tours and Transfers also viewed

Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Plus Papagayo Tours and Transfers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing