We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Taco Tuesday”

El Velero Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Costa Rican, American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, View
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wernersville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Taco Tuesday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We ate here for Breakfast and Dinner (a couple of times). Good food with average prices. Taco Tuesday was very good – you get 1 Beef, 1 Chicken, & 1 Fish Taco for about $11 per person. We missed the BBQ on Wed. and Sat but it was the talk of the beach. The owner invited us to look around the property. It is simple but we would not hesitate to stay for a few days if we returned to Hermosa in the future.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    91
    33
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rollinsford, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“good beach location, ok food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Average quality food and prices for the area. Meals were good but not great. The fish I had was overdone and the burger very average. Right on the beach so convenience factor is high

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank enochNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food and view!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed at the Hotel el Velero on our recent trip to Playa Hermosa so we ate at the restaurant 3 times. My boyfriend and I had breakfast there twice which was very good. We had both the traditional Costa Rica breakfast with eggs, cheese, tortillas, and rice, and a regular american breakfast - both were very satisfying. We also had dinner there one night, and my tuna steak was absolutely delicious.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chittenden, Vermont
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Every meal was delicious! And the sunsets a delight!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

We stayed at El Velero Hotel and loved it AND the meals at the beachside restaurant attached. The grilled tuna, the ceviche, the San Luis ribs, EVERYTHING, was so delicious. Fresh, local, beautiful. And the service is excellent - lovely warm people, efficient operation. Wish we were on the patio right now enjoying a cervesa or two and watching another remarkable tropical sunset.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not my first choice”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

First and last time at El Velero! After waiting 45 min. After we ordered the owner came over and said there was a PROBLEM no fresh Red Snapper! Huh? 45 min and now you know this. Remember it is what it is! Ok changed order up and ordered Tuna which was fair. Caesar salad fair, baked potato ok. But...... I have to say he comped our brownie and ice cream, which was actually chocolate cake. But, it was pretty good. Moral of the story ...go to ROBERTO'S.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Velero Restaurant also viewed

Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to El Velero Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing