We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the beautiful Playa Hermosa Beach”
Review of Hotel El Velero

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel El Velero
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Playa Hermosa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2011

This hotel is a great value. The rooms are super and the property is on the beach. Breakfasts are great, and they can do wonderful dinners for you. Some of the furniture in the common area upstairs is a bit tired, but the bar/restaurant downstairs is great. The staff is very attentive!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbahr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (437)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

331 - 337 of 437 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2011

We stayed at El Velero for the second half of a 10-day Costa Rica vacation. We loved every minute. The veranda on the second floor was my personal favorite -- we could sit there and watch the beach, read, feel the breezes, watch the rain come in from over the ocean, look at the iguanas and coconuts in the trees. Heaven. We had tropical fruit every morning at the restaurant and pina colodas or beers most afternoons. It was wonderful to be in a spot where we didn't have to drive -- everything was right there. Our 12-year-old son would swim for hours in the waves and then hole up in the room watching cable -- our first hotel with cable in 6 days. He was blissed out. The rooms were good sized. The staff was marvelous. The waves were fantastic. And the final bill for our restaurant and bar items wasn't bad at all. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovedcostarica_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Went for a 50th bday celebration. What a nice spot. Quiet, beautiful, serene. Rooms
were clean , the AC worked unbelievable and the staff became like family. And not
to mention the food was outstanding. Looking to book again for next year. They
couldnt do enough for you.

Room Tip: Try to book a room on the bottom floor. They stay cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cfranz2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

We liked the Hotel El Velero -- it's a great location with nice-enough, big rooms for a great price. The rooms have air-conditioning, a closet, a safe, a coffee-maker, and a TV. We were very well-treated by the staff, who were helpful in getting our bags to the room at check-in and helping us with the air conditioner remote control. Our room was clean, if a bit musty. If the air conditioner had been running before we checked in the mustiness might have been reduced, but personally, I'd rather they not waste the electricity. The one kind of yucky note was that the wrapping of our Pura Vida soap appeared to have been gnawed on by some type of critter. The hotel has plenty of beach chairs for guests and the seafront bar and dining area was extremely pleasant. The pool was small but nice and clean The beach there is nice enough, but it's not the white powder, Caribbean/Florida Gulf Coast type of sand that we're more used to. The beach there does have some fairly aggressive people selling pots and fishing trips and other excursions, but they were on the whole pretty friendly and not threatening. We were lucky enough to be there the night of the El Velero barbecue, where they cook all kinds of seafood and meat over a wood fire, and it was truly wonderful. The two of us had a couple of drinks and lobster for around $60. Breakfast the next day was also really good. I had my first Costa Rican iced tea, where they combine tea, lime juice, sugar, and ice and throw it in a blender to make a slushy, tasty drink. (I liked it so much I tried to replicate it at the house we stayed at later not very successfully.) The biggest minus for us was that there really wasn't a great place to just hang out and look at the ocean if you weren't in the bar or on the beach itself. There's a nice lounging area upstairs, but with pretty limited seating. If we weren't past our lay-on-the-beach-all-day-and-bake days, we would have gone back at the end of our trip as planned, but instead we changed our plans and spent the last three nights of our trip at La Finisterra, which I'll separately review. All in all, I think El Velero was a good deal for $69 a night right on the beach.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gibby56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

May 2011. Hotel El Velero seemed well reviewed in our travel books, and after a long drive, we just wanted to catch the sunset with a pina colada in hand. We quickly checked in, and like some hotels, they made my boyfriend sign a blank authorization of his credit card.

The room we got overlooked the pool and beach, but was disgusting. Dirty tiled floors, tiny tv, saggy low bed, and the smallest bathroom we've seen. It had an air of 70s decay, with bright orange walls. For $75 a night, it felt like a rip off.

We went downstairs to their quaint open air bar, and the bartender was very friendly, and they had a happy hour 2 for one special. We got drinks and took a quick stroll down the beach and discovered a beautiful huge hotel, Hotel Playa Hermosa - Bosque Del Mar on the other side of this small beach. We inquired within, and after negotiating a cheaper price got a huge room for $85 a night!!

We promptly returned to El Velero and asked to check out, as we had only put our bag inside the room, and left it untouched. We were immediately refused, and told we'd have to pay for the full night even if we checked out. After further discussion the clerk told us he didn't have the authority and that the boss was out of town, and he didn't want to look like he was "stealing". In the end, we agreed to paying half the night.

Cheap motel quality. Save your time and money, and go to Hotel Playa Hermos - Bosque Del Mar.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CREBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2011

filthy pool and rooms - you could write your name in the dirt on the phone in the room and rude slovenly staff - need I say more

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cherryrock1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2011

We stayed at El Velero for 10 days and enjoyed just about all aspects of the hotel.... location is great, food is wonderful, staff is very friendly. The rooms were average at best and some nights were noisy but the staff and beach made up for the minor inconvenience.....overall the stay was very relaxing. We meet alot of great people and have tons of memories.....it was our first time in Costa Rica and felt comfortable right away. If we needed anything all we had to do is ask the staff and they were very helpful. We can't say enough about the possible experience we had during our stay and are looking forward to returning there next year.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dlcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Hermosa hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel ManGaby
Hotel ManGaby
#1 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
417 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bosque del Mar Playa Hermosa
0.1 mi away
Villa Acacia
Villa Acacia
#8 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa del Sueno
Villa del Sueno
#4 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
306 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Villas Huetares
Hotel & Villas Huetares
#5 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
149 reviews
0.3 mi away
Condovac la Costa
Condovac la Costa
#6 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Velero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Velero

Address: #1 On the Beach, Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Hermosa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa Hermosa
Price Range: £71 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel El Velero, a mediterranean-style, boutique beach hotel just paces from the Pacific blue waters of Costa Rica's pristine Playa Hermosa. Hear the waves crash and breathe the clean, salty air as you relax in our seaside tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel El Velero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Velero Hotel
El Velero Playa Hermosa
Hotel El Velero Costa Rica/Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing