We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint Clean Hotel on Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel El Velero

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel El Velero
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Playa Hermosa
Eden Prairie, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Quaint Clean Hotel on Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

We did a last minute quick trip to Playa Hermosa Costa Rica and found this hotel online. We have never been to Costa Rica and didn't have a lot of time to plan or stay and didn't want to spend a ton on a resort. This property was a wonderful surprise! Small boutique hotel, that on initial sight doesn't look like much, but the rooms are very clean, spacious and the staff was nice. They do not all speak English. The restaurant is right on the beach and has a nice menu. Many people come from other properties to eat here. prices are very reasonable. The breakfast was one of my favorites! You can't beat the location, for the price. Beds are a bit hard, but clean. We are a family of 4 with 2 adult children. If you are looking for something priced right with more of a "locals" experience than a resort this is the place. Seemed safe as well, we had no problems. We would come back again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bobbi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    136
    50
    17
    17
See reviews for
94
166
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

The location of this engaging hotel was wonderful! Right on the beach and for a very decent price! The room was good, the food was good and the service was awesome! It was perfect to unwind just seconds from the bar and on the beach. The beach is a nice one too. There is not much to do in the little town, I was hoping for some souvenir shops, but I was not too disappointed because there were some unique salespeople that came by on the beach and we also had a massage right on the beach, can't beat that...the sound of the waves and the breeze through the coconut trees was terrific as your body is put into relaxation mode! Incredible sunsets as well! We were able to book a short boat tour from the beach also. I would have liked to do the sunset sailboat tour, but you have to have a minimum of people and we were only two. We enjoyed hearing the monkeys early in the morning from our room, could not see them though! All in all, a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Try to get a room near the beachside if possible, there is a bar at the roadside that can be a littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crazeecat63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liberia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

The accommodation is average, but at $75 per night for beachfront, you really can't complain too much. The beach is fairly clean, nice for walking and sunset-watching and the surf is gentle with little current. Certainly there are nicer beaches in Costa Rica, but close to the Liberia International Airport (about forty-five minutes by taxi) you can't do better in this price range. It's a good place to stay for the first few days of your visit while you decide where you want to go next or for your last night in paradise before your fly out. The rooms are okay and the food and drinks are good. The restaurant service was slow at times but since it's right on the beach we didn't mind waiting because we enjoyed the view.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanK7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lunenburg, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

My boyfriend and I visited Costa Rica in late February to early March 2011. We flew in to Liberia and decided (without any hesitation) to start our trip on the coast. We arrived pretty late at night and quickly got a cab from the airport to Hermosa. We arrived at El Velero (with reservations) for check-in and everything went smoothly, We had an upstairs room near the back. We stayed two nights and then went off to explore the country. On our way back, in March, we stayed here for our last night before leaving to come home.

Our room was totally fine, as was the rest of the hotel. No, it's not luxury at all and perhaps the room could use some nicer linens but Hermosa is a pricey area and this hotel is affordable in comparison. And you cannot beat the location. We loved the beach and this hotel is right on it. You can enjoy your yummy breakfast and watch the waves crash. So many people seem to complain of the service but we found it to be completely satisfactory. If you need to be babied and coddled, this is not your place. The management and employees are laid back but will help when needed.

We would wake up very early on our first days there and would always hear the employees already working. There was always someone sweeping or mopping or cleaning the pool. And Playa Hermosa itself is a wonderful beach. It is the main street of the town in many ways and you will see all manner of people walking their dogs, going for a jog or having a swim.

We are planning our February trip right now and nearly went back to Costa Rica just so we could get off the plane and head directly to El Velero to plop down on the beach and have a drink and know that our vacation had truly started.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are prettier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

We stayed at the Hotel El Velero for 2 nights. Towards the end of our 10-day trip to Costa Rica, my husband and I decided to return to the coast for a our last few nights of vacation. We did not have any reservations. We picked Playa Hermosa just by looking at a map and randomly choosing. Now that we’ve seen Playa Panama (the beach just north of Playa Hermosa) and Playa Del Coco (the beach just south of Playa Hermosa), Playa Hermosa was the right choice. The beach is great for swimming and playing in the waves. We drove around town for a few minutes looking at the various hotels and rentals. We choose the Hotel El Velero because: they had availability, they were directly on the beach, they had a fairly secure parking lot, and they accepted credit cards. The cost per night (including taxes) based on double occupancy was $90. That price was higher than we would have liked, but we choose to stay there anyway. Most of our other accommodations in CR were in the $50 - $75 range. The style and decor was fresh and enjoyable. Our room was spacious and averagely clean. We were disappointed to find that we couldn’t open the windows. We had to use the air conditioner to cool the room. The bed was slightly lumpy, but we slept well in it both nights. I have to be honest, there was a dead cockroach in the corner of our room. I didn’t mind too much as we saw a few cockroaches in the cloud forest earlier that week. The bar and restaurant at the hotel was very convenient and we ate breakfast there both mornings and got drinks during the afternoons while we hung out on the beach. The view is beautiful. The staff at the bar/restaurant were pleasant and accommodating. We never used the pool since the ocean was right there. I would recommend this hotel. It’s a bit rough around the edges, but overall a nice stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CC5krunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

You could tell this place used to be a sight to see back in the day. The room decor is straight out of the 50s. Not in a cute vintage way either. Mirrors were dirty, phone was dirty, lampshades covered in thick layers of dust, windows were dirty, floor dirty, and sheets stained. There were bugs dead smashed on the walls, at least those were dead, there were hoards of flying ants streaming in the bathroom. So unbelievable it's was ALMOST comical. We informed crew of ants and they did come and spray. Now dead ants litter the floor, bathroom sink and yes, even our stained sheets. I've stayed in nicer hostels than this. Too bad this place is poorly kept, it's a great location by beach. Oh and our icing on cake? Our safe won't open. Our laptops and passports are stuck inside. Called front desk and they could not open it either. Thy offered to get someone out tomorrow to look at it. Seriously, don't stay here -> unless you are cool with dingy like camping conditions.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 007daphne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

I'm not sure how many employees must have written reviews of this place to give it such high marks, but here's the REAL scoop....

First of all, the beach is in a descent location, but the stray dogs and beach trash fires tend to take away from this otherwise descent location.

This hotel has seen better days....maybe back in the 80s this place must have been nice, but unfortunately the Hotel El Velero suffers from bad management, bad service and indifferent housekeeping.

The sheets had many visible and questionable stains, smashed bugs on the walls and a resident lizard for good measure.

I'm no hotel snob, but this place would better be described as a very nice hostel and should be marketed to drunk teens on vacation and the like.

If you stay, you may not be disappointed, but that depends on how many 2for1 drinks you consume during happy hour.

If this stay improves I will update this review. For now, I say stay away and consider El Bosque.

Be safe my fellow travelers!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Worldhopr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Hermosa
0.1 mi away
Hotel ManGaby
Hotel ManGaby
#1 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa del Sueno
Villa del Sueno
#5 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bosque del Mar Playa Hermosa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Condovac la Costa
Hotel Condovac la Costa
#4 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Villas Huetares
Hotel & Villas Huetares
#6 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
2.0 mi away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Velero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Velero

Property: Hotel El Velero
Address: #1 On the Beach, Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Hermosa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa Hermosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel El Velero, a mediterranean-style, boutique beach hotel just paces from the Pacific blue waters of Costa Rica's pristine Playa Hermosa. Hear the waves crash and breathe the clean, salty air as you relax in our seaside tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel El Velero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Velero Hotel
El Velero Playa Hermosa
Hotel El Velero Costa Rica/Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing