We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eating on the beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel El Velero

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel El Velero
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Playa Hermosa
Pacifica, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Eating on the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

We were staying at the resort down the beach but wanted to eat with are feet in the sand. They have a good happy hour and we were able to have good drinks and watch the sunset. They have a BBQ on Sundays and Wednesdays
,we went on Wednesday and had fresh fish that was caught that day, had breakfast there once and it was also very good and fresh.the service was great and the staff very warm and friendly. Walk back to the resort late one night, felt very safe.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank polocoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    133
    49
    16
    17
See reviews for
91
159
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redondo Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

If you are looking for a diving into the culture, friendliness, and beauty of Costa Rica - I highly recommend the Hotel El Velero. The Hotel El Velero is nestled on a beautiful beach steps away from the hotel's pool and restaurant. The staff is always friendly and smiling, the food is fresh and excellent, and the rooms are clean and comfortable. I have stayed at the hotel over the last 8 years many times and have made this hotel my home while I'm in Costa Rica. The staff is long term employees making each visit feel like I'm catching up with family and friends. There is plenty to do within driving distance and the hotel is more than happy to help with any arrangements that need to be made from renting a car to traveling up to the volcano or zip lining. One unique feature that this hotel has is the beautiful boat for day excursions and great sunset views. I think so fondly of this hotel that when my girlfriend said she was traveling to Costa Rica last December to get married - my father, Mike the owner, and I helped arrange a sunset rehearsal dinner at the hotel and all the guests were simply blown away by their experience.
I strongly recommend visiting the El Velero on your next trip to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ceastw0332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altamone springs florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

As a repeat traveler and guest at El Velero I can report that the service and stay at this wonderful little hotel is delightful. My last trip down was in mid August and as usual I was very pleased with the staff and their friendliness. I have always been fond of the restaurant and bar. The pool is very close by and the ocean is right in front of you making your breakfast, lunch or dinner a pleasant experience. The El Velero will remain as my first choice when I am vacationing in Costa Rica.
P.S.
Great Value
WPM

Room Tip: I like the second floor. They seem to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank walter m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Having stayed at the el velero on several occasions over the years my rooms have always been clean and have never noticed bugs or other critters!!! The service both from the maids to the waiters has been excellent along with the food. Feel the few negative reviews are from disgruntled travelers!!!

Room Tip: rooms 211 and 212 are ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cecil f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Niguel, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

I highly recommend the Hotel El Velero for the following reasons: I have been staying at the Hotel El Velero for over ten years and have never had a bad room, service, or experience. The staff speak good English so there are no problems in communication. The hotel continues to amaze me with upgrades, cleanliness, and great food and service. The servers are the best in the area, and the food is valued prices and excellent. Happy hour specials and dinner specials are well worth considering for both guests and the locals. Barbeque Nights are the best. Air conditioning, free wireless internet, coffee, and TV in the room is a nice touch for me. I love to walk out of my room and step right onto the beach. In addition, the staff is very helpful for information on the many things to do in the area, as well as longer trips to country highlights. They are also very helpful in coordinating trips for the guests.
Not every place is perfect, but the Hotel El Velero offers the best value in the Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste area. I have always found the staff respectful, courteous, and responsive to any issues I may have encountered.
I think my experience has been so good because I start by treating people with respect, and therefore they in turn treat you with respect back. Try it - it works wonders.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are the best. Be respectful and kind and it pays off.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jceast7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Backnang
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

having been drawn to the hotel by the pictures on the internet, my parents and me were looking forward to a nice stay at the beach, as the hotel's advertisement was "we are the beach". That was about all of the truth to its promises: the beach was only steps away and one could hear the waves while having breakfast at the hotel's terrace. The staff even carried my Mum's and my luggage up to our room. But the room itself was rather a big disappointment - we got to agree with a guest's opinion earlier on: it smelled like a "moldy damped towel" and the worst part: one could not open the windows at all and instead of fresh air there was only the option of air conditioner (staff's explanation for this: to keep away the mosquito!). Merely by seeing this my mum almost got claustrophobic. We managed to stay at the hotel for one night (during which we didn't find any comfortable blankets against the cold of the AC) and afterwards decided to leave the etablissement for good instead of staying 2 more nights as it was planned. To cut the hotel some slack - checking out earlier was no problem at all (maybe, though, because I speak Spanish). To recommend a relaxation for that hotel - why not move a beach further to Playa del Coco to the hotel "La Puerta del Sol" - same prize but way better! Cheers.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank corinnaschwozer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013 via mobile

El Velero is just right! Right on the Beach. Right on the service. Right on the price. A sweet, casual place that aims to please, El Velero is owned by a gregarious Canadian who works with you to make a great experience for all! Be sure to have dinner there. The steak is FABULOUS!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mbahr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Hermosa
0.2 mi away
Hotel ManGaby
Hotel ManGaby
#1 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa del Sueno
Villa del Sueno
#4 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Condovac la Costa
Hotel Condovac la Costa
#5 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bosque del Mar Playa Hermosa
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Villas Huetares
Hotel & Villas Huetares
#6 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
2.0 mi away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Velero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Velero

Property: Hotel El Velero
Address: #1 On the Beach, Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Hermosa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa Hermosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel El Velero, a mediterranean-style, boutique beach hotel just paces from the Pacific blue waters of Costa Rica's pristine Playa Hermosa. Hear the waves crash and breathe the clean, salty air as you relax in our seaside tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel El Velero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Velero Hotel
El Velero Playa Hermosa
Hotel El Velero Costa Rica/Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing