We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 week paradise!”
Review of Hotel El Velero

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel El Velero
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Playa Hermosa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I had the best relaxing time at this place. The service from all staff was tremendous! Over and above. Great team work! They treated me like a king! I highly recommend this special place!
The beach was safe and private. Rooms were very comfortable, had everything I needed. Food had lots of variety, I never got bored with the choices. BBQ night was great! If you want to go get there early because its a full house. Tuesdays is a TNT band.......GREAT! And don't forget the margarita special night. Ask them at the front desk which night that was cause I forget....too many margaritas! Sunrises are also yummy! Great times all around! R Mulcaster. alias Ricky Moe. :)))))))))))))))) xox xoxx thanks Mikey T

Room Tip: ask for one by the pool
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RickyMoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (418)
There are newer reviews for Hotel El Velero
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 418 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014

First trip to Costa Rica. Hotel accommodations where clean and quiet. Location of hotel spectacular (located right on beach). Hotel owner (Mike) and staff were great. The hotel food and drink was amazing. Should have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

March 2014, Our 2nd time to El Velero, would definitely recommend this "sweet" small, hotel! It is right on a beautiful, clean beach. The staff is very friendly, food is good, the sunsets were simply stunning! Loved the many local dogs, not a bad one to be found. Howler monkeys were around and the local school children have planted many new trees to attract more birds and monkeys. Wish I was still there!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Came to this hotel for our first trip to Costa Rica. The view when you step out of your car is spectacular, the staff at the hotel were extremely friendly and very helpful with helping us set up our adventures, the rooms were very clean and the food was amazing. We were very sad to leave the hotel by the end of our week long stay we had established great relationships with the owner Mike and the staff. I highly recommend this hotel and cant wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We recently stayed for a few days at the wonderful El Velero Hotel . This was our second stay and we enjoyed it even more than the first time. The setting right beside the beach is excellent ,the staff very friendly,efficient and helpful There appeared to be many repeat guests ,largely English speaking.The owner,Mike, is a fellow Canadian and was onsite the whole time during our visit;interacting with the guests and seeing that all was well. We particularly appreciate the location of the bar/restaurant which is such a lovely spot from which to watch the magnificent sunsets or to ,start your day with breakfast overlooking the water.The meals were very good with quite a variety from which to choose. The comfortable upstairs verandah /sitting area has a selection of reading material in the bookcase and provides a spot in which to relax or enjoy a conversation with other guests while looking out at the water and the owner's sailboat, Although we did not use the pool ,other guests seemed to enjoy it. We also appreciated the comfortable beach chairs . I noticed that many guests arranged activities through the desk and we were given good advice from the very capable,helpful Jannett for our trip to the National Park, Rincon de la Vieja. We had our own vehicle and it was about an easy 45 min.scenic drive,most of it on a paved road until the last few kilometres where it became rough but was okay.. The hike in the park was so interesting with many birds, iguanas ,squirrel monkeys,howler monkeys ,bubbling mud pots,sulphur pools and huge trees. The actual trail to the rim is closed due to "activity " but the rest of the walk took a couple of hours and was wonderful.You pay a small fee to drive through a private ranch and then $10 each for the actual park entrance fee. The same park pass can be used as well at the Santa Rosa National Park.
We hope to return to the El Velero in the near future and enjoy the wonderful hospitality of Jenaro,Luis,Jannett,Steven and Rafael. It is a great place in which to base your Playa Hermosa stay.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our small room overlooking the pool and beach . It was handy to the common sitting area a...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 154976Happy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I just returned from a week at this hotel, January, 2014. There is nothing bad to say, great food, great location right on the beach and the staff were very helpful and friendly. I really liked the open feel of the hotel including the dining area. I really enjoyed the BBQ on Wednesday and Saturday nights, especially the red snapper. If I was to return to Costa Rica this would be the place for me. Frank G.

Room Tip: There are only 2 rooms facing the ocean which are very hard to get. I suggest rooms on the second f...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Just returned from two days at El Velero Had a wonderful time. Great location, beautiful view, good food, would do it again. Mike was super at helping us through a difficult time. Staff was friendly and helpful. Appreciated the wi fi on the beach in front of the restaurant.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Hermosa
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bosque del Mar Playa Hermosa
0.1 mi away
Hotel ManGaby
Hotel ManGaby
#1 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
372 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa del Sueno
Villa del Sueno
#4 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Condovac la Costa
Condovac la Costa
#5 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
550 reviews
2.1 mi away
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
#1 of 3 in Playa Panama
722 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Acacia
Villa Acacia
#8 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Velero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Velero

Address: #1 On the Beach, Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Hermosa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa Hermosa
Price Range: £73 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel El Velero, a mediterranean-style, boutique beach hotel just paces from the Pacific blue waters of Costa Rica's pristine Playa Hermosa. Hear the waves crash and breathe the clean, salty air as you relax in our seaside tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel El Velero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Velero Hotel
El Velero Playa Hermosa
Hotel El Velero Costa Rica/Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing