We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best fish tacos. Great friendly service.”
Review of Hotel El Velero

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel El Velero
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Playa Hermosa
Certificate of Excellence
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
231 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Best fish tacos. Great friendly service.”
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel and restaurant right on the beach. Clean quiet swimming pool just meters from the beach. Will definitely return. Bbqs wed and fri nights. Some nights live music. Parking on site, clean new bathrooms.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jimimy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    139
    50
    18
    17
See reviews for
95
173
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2014

This was my second time at the El Velero.
I absolutely love everything about this hotel.
My extended family has been staying here for the past 7 or 8 years.
All the staff is super friendly and genuinely happy to help you with whatever your needs may be. You CANNOT get closer to the beach.
One of the best beaches (very private and everyone is super friendly)
If you are a pretentious person who needs people waiting on you hand and foot who doesn't like authentic vacations and treat the service industry like slaves, do us all a favor and stay somewhere else.
I cannot wait to go back next year!!!!!
Thanks for everything guys!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

My family and I just got back from El Velero hotel. I have read the previous reviews and I feel I need to add my bit. This hotel has it all. Great staff who treat you with respect, great location, on the most beautiful beach in the area and excellent food. We only had two negative experiences that have nothing to do with this hotel. I booked a snorkeling tour on the beach and had a very disappointing experience. We did not see very much and the operator did not communicate very well. We did not know what was happening from one moment to the next. I speak Spanish so it was not a language barrier. We were on this boat for 3 hours with no water which by the way was promissed. In any case if you would like to go snorkeling speak to the staff at the hotel. They will book it for you. They know who the professional operators are. We also ate ceviche on the beach. We all got sick. Again, use your judgement on this one. Its not pleasant to have food poisoning. One thing I would encourage you to do is to buy a piece of pottery from the guys who come every morning to sell their beautiful stuff. They work hard and are selling this stuff for very little money. My favourite young man is Francisco. He was so gracious. There are also three dogs who have made the Velero hotel their home. I was touched that the owner has taken it upon himself to provide health care for the dogs. When we were therer one of the dogs was just neutered. These dogs are certainly part of the Velero family and are very very sweet.This hotel is definitely on top of my list and eventhough I usually don't go back to the same places I may yet go back to this one. To finish off. This hotel is for everyone. We met elederly couples, young couples, families, kids, single people. When you are there you have a feeling you are part of a family. People are friendly and the hotel staff make you feel like you are at home.

Room Tip: The first thing that struck me was that the windows do not open. Luckily the air conditioner makes i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunnville, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I had the best relaxing time at this place. The service from all staff was tremendous! Over and above. Great team work! They treated me like a king! I highly recommend this special place!
The beach was safe and private. Rooms were very comfortable, had everything I needed. Food had lots of variety, I never got bored with the choices. BBQ night was great! If you want to go get there early because its a full house. Tuesdays is a TNT band.......GREAT! And don't forget the margarita special night. Ask them at the front desk which night that was cause I forget....too many margaritas! Sunrises are also yummy! Great times all around! R Mulcaster. alias Ricky Moe. :)))))))))))))))) xox xoxx thanks Mikey T

Room Tip: ask for one by the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RickyMoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2014

First trip to Costa Rica. Hotel accommodations where clean and quiet. Location of hotel spectacular (located right on beach). Hotel owner (Mike) and staff were great. The hotel food and drink was amazing. Should have stayed longer!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean Shores, Washington
Level Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

March 2014, Our 2nd time to El Velero, would definitely recommend this "sweet" small, hotel! It is right on a beautiful, clean beach. The staff is very friendly, food is good, the sunsets were simply stunning! Loved the many local dogs, not a bad one to be found. Howler monkeys were around and the local school children have planted many new trees to attract more birds and monkeys. Wish I was still there!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Titusville, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Came to this hotel for our first trip to Costa Rica. The view when you step out of your car is spectacular, the staff at the hotel were extremely friendly and very helpful with helping us set up our adventures, the rooms were very clean and the food was amazing. We were very sad to leave the hotel by the end of our week long stay we had established great relationships with the owner Mike and the staff. I highly recommend this hotel and cant wait to go back!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Hermosa
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bosque del Mar Playa Hermosa
0.1 mi away
Hotel ManGaby
Hotel ManGaby
#1 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
350 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa del Sueno
Villa del Sueno
#4 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Condovac la Costa
Condovac la Costa
#5 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
536 reviews
2.0 mi away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
2.0 mi away
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
#2 of 3 in Playa Panama
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Velero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Velero

Property: Hotel El Velero
Address: #1 On the Beach, Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Hermosa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa Hermosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel El Velero, a mediterranean-style, boutique beach hotel just paces from the Pacific blue waters of Costa Rica's pristine Playa Hermosa. Hear the waves crash and breathe the clean, salty air as you relax in our seaside tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel El Velero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Velero Hotel
El Velero Playa Hermosa
Hotel El Velero Costa Rica/Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing