We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time at El Velero. Still and excellent option!”
Review of Hotel El Velero

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel El Velero
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Playa Hermosa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 March 2009

As others have said, El Velero is not a fancy hotel, but it's an excellent choice for Playa Hermosa and is really the only place to stay if you want to be right on the beach. The last time I was there you couldn't see the ocean from outdoor bar and dining area, but this time a lot of the bushes had been cut back to provide an excellent view. The rooms are spacious and clean. We moved here from Bosque del Mar when it became obvious that Bosque del Mar was not ready for occupancy. (Although we had been told construction was done except for the restaurant, there was still a lot of construction underway.) We liked the location of El Velero on the beach better as it turned out anyway, and the overall atmosphere was better. The restaurant was excellent and the staff was friendly. Even with the 'special rates' at Bosque del Mar, El Velero was less expensive and offered free internet. The parking area was secure and patrolled at night by a security guard. The pool could definitely use an update, but not many people seemed to use it either on this stay or my last. The bathrooms are small and could use an update but the water pressure was good in general. (Bosque del Mar definitely had nice bathrooms and they also had a fridge which was handy.) We had a car and often drove to Playas del Coco and other areas for lunch and dinner, but the BBQ at El Velero was great. (The meals are more expensive than the last time I was there, though - but I guess that's the case everywhere!) The hotel also offers sunset and day sails on their sailboat - well worth the cost and it includes appetizers and cocktails.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eerickso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (424)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

355 - 361 of 424 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2009

I didn't know what to expect, but Hotel El Velero offers a great place on the beach, and friendly service. We came a day early, and they had a room open. Due to my husband using a cane, the next day they were able to change the gound level room closer to the dining area and less steps. The staff are all very friendly, and make all feel welcome. The food is pretty good, especialy the bbq nights, they had a fixed menu with large portions and fair prices.
The rooms are fairly large, we had 2 double beds, a small bathroom and in room safe. The bathrooms do need a overhaul, there is mold, but it is doable (being on the beach. ). The hotel room is clean, and a good value for the money. If you area expecting the hilton, go there. What I do like, is the friendly service, the fact that you can wear shorts to dinner with flip flops, and it's location on the beach.
The balony upstairs had chairs and tons of books left by others. Also, a big plus is the wifi, it works great! We met a few people who are return customers, so simplicity does say something!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nursepower10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2009

Perfect spot on the beach. The common balcony area on the second floor was very nice with a great view. Restaurant and juice drinks were very good. Best breakfast of the trip. The staff get the coffee cups full. The woman behind the desk during the day spoke great English. She arranged a nice snorkeling trip for us. Recommend the Friday night barbecue. Live music on Friday nights. Music stops around 11 PM and is quiet after that.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brent G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2009

The hotel has a perfect situation on the beach! And that is the most positive thing about this hotel...
I stayed here 10 years ago and then it was friendly, cosy and well kept. That is all gone now and it seems worn out, smelling moulded and some of the staff seems to be unhappy and not interested in serving the guests at all. The menu in the restaurant is small and the food is nothing to "write home about".
The garden is a ruin! The pool is outdated! The owner is drunk most of the time! There are several other hotels on this beach that is a better choice!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank aliho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2009

Hotel is on the beach. Room is spacious, although some light bubs were not replaced and the room was somewhat dark. Room is clean and I felt safe. Some front desk personnel were very helpful, while others were just average with the feeling that you were asking too many questions. The beach is good, but nothing special or something you would say wow. Other beaches (in other countries) that I had visited are nicer. Like other tourist beaches, people try to sell you excursions. Here they were trying to sell scuba excursions. However, it seemed there was a lot of selling and it became quite annoying, although not the fault of the hotel. Hotel El Velero probably should clean the beach in front of the hotel. The town is small. Not much eating options. Taxi to coco with more restaurants and a super market is about $10 or 5,000 colones. There is no shuttle to the airport. Taxi is about $40 or 20,000 colones. The reason I stayed here was based on the fact that it was closer to Liberia airport and the beach is nicer than coco. Wanted a place on the beach and was cheaper than others places in other areas that I saw. Maybe expecting a little more, based on other reviews. Overall would recommend, but can't compare to other beach areas in Guanacaste such as Playa Flamingo or Tamarindo.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leungk115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2008

This is a great option if you are flying into Liberia. It's 20 minutes from the airport and right on the beach. The restaurant is great and the staff is helpful and very friendly. The pool is very nice. Rooms are a good size and clean.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seattle_tvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2008

We were staying at a hotel on Playa Panama, just 5 kilometers from Hermosa so came down to explore. Well, Hermosa is small and not too much in way of shopping but we found this hotel to have a great bar, with very friendly staff. It was beginning to rain so we decided to have a drink in the bar, which overlooks the beach. There were several other people there, tourists, ex-pats, and locals and it turned to be so much fun we stayed most of the afternoon, had some lunch, some more beers and then when happy hour started some gin and tonics. It was great fun, the people were friendly, and the food was very good. Highly suggest to visit. The hotel looked very nice as well. Maybe we will stay there next time.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WillieC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Hermosa hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel ManGaby
Hotel ManGaby
#1 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
388 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bosque del Mar Playa Hermosa
0.1 mi away
Villa Acacia
Villa Acacia
#7 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa del Sueno
Villa del Sueno
#4 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
296 reviews
0.3 mi away
Condovac la Costa
Condovac la Costa
#5 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
559 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Villas Huetares
Hotel & Villas Huetares
#6 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Velero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Velero

Address: #1 On the Beach, Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Hermosa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa Hermosa
Price Range: £73 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel El Velero, a mediterranean-style, boutique beach hotel just paces from the Pacific blue waters of Costa Rica's pristine Playa Hermosa. Hear the waves crash and breathe the clean, salty air as you relax in our seaside tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel El Velero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Velero Hotel
El Velero Playa Hermosa
Hotel El Velero Costa Rica/Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing