We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel and restaurant - we miss Hotel El Velero already!”
Review of Hotel El Velero

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel El Velero
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Playa Hermosa
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel and restaurant – we miss Hotel El Velero already!”
Reviewed 24 April 2010

Picture-perfect sunsets, exquisite cuisine (fantastic fresh pineapple slices, and mahi-mahi with choron sauce were my favourites), friendly and extremely helpful staff who make you feel like family, and the wonderful second-floor verandas complete with rockers, wicker chairs and a catch-all library . . . these are just a few of the highlights from our trip two weeks ago that was the perfect antidote to months of working overtime. The relaxed, easy atmosphere was precisely what my husband, my 18-year-old daughter and I relished. We didn't want a resort where staff hustled to get you to partake in activities all the time. Instead, we took things at our own pace, enjoying a day of sailing and snorkeling aboard the hotel's sailboat a few days after we arrived, then a few days later had a fabulous time during a full-day excursion to Monteverde Cloud Forest in the mountains, where we went zip-lining during a canopy tour of the forest. (I highly recommend Alejandro Rodriguez Gomez, a naturalist tour guide in the area. Hotel El Velero organized the trip for us. They can arrange for you to do tours with a number of operators, not just Papagayo Vargas Tours, which is listed on the hotel's website.) We had a wonderful time and would definitely return to Hotel El Velero again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarionS18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    138
    50
    18
    17
See reviews for
95
170
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midwest
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2010

We enjoyed Joshua helping us although he did seem exhausted many times working many many hours. I felt bad for him; thinking he needed a brain break and personal time. Yet, he still was there every time he noticed we sat down and helping us with every question.

Marcel from the boat journey was absolutely wonderful and kind! He took special care of our family! The captain was also kind, but he seemed more shy or quiet.

The beach is nice and warm water! Very very nice to walk. The area is still able to inhabited by locals. I pray the government protects them, so it doesn't loose is local Tico feel. Remember during the dry season this area is arid with little to NO green.

We love the Veranda where we met other people staying and enjoyed a group sailing adventure with all of them. Now, we have more new traveling friends from the US and abroad.

The only suggested improvements that we suggest new beds and give a discount if the people don't snorkel on a cruise or use their own equipment.

You can see Howler Monkeys to the south of the hotel in the mango trees. Be aware one night of 3 the Howler Monkeys came to the hotels mango tree and fought on the roof! It was exciting and memorable to say the least!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoseyJake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2010

I was there with my daughter and 6 of my friends. We had a great time. The beach was real close. Hotel staff nice. We also took a sail boat ride through the hotel. All 8 of us 5 hours of boating, snorkeling, lunch snack and drinks. $67. each well worth it. You must eat at the Costa Rica restaurant around the corner. Awesome food $6 breakfast $7 for dinner. typical Costa Rica food.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heartheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooks
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2010

The hotel is right on the beautiful Playa Hermosa beach. The service is friendly and the atmosphere laid back. The water is calm and the beach a great place to relax. The food was also very good. Our only disappointment, after supper there is no entertainment and that we were unable to go on the El Velero sailboat as there needed to be a minimum of four people. We had hoped for some local music at least on the weekends. The staff were great, and helped us set up a couple of tours including a wonderful snorkle trip. We will be back if we get lucky enough to return to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2010

Initially we were disappointed, but we had just come from a 5* in La Fortuna. The Hotel El Velero however was beautifully located overlooking an amazing bay and the sestet was incredible. The pool seemed small, but was really only used to freshen up after the beach. Having visited Ocotal Beach and Playa Coco, this was by far the cleanest and most pleasant beach and bay. It was perfect for family fun, although the dark fine sand does get very hot.
The hotel restaurant produced some American sized meals which were excellent; $50 for 2+2. The upstairs rooms were clean, but some of the fixtures were a little dated. The back rooms were extremely noisy at the weekend. We were moved to the mid section of the 22 room hotel, which was far better.

Playa Hermosa is basic and there is little infrastructure. There is a supermarket, but you need a car to get there. Snorkelling on the north end of the beach was a highlight of the visit and eminently suitable for under 10s.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BiancaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
Reviewed 4 January 2010

I just stayed at this hotel with my boyfriend and another couple. We stayed for 2 nights and loved it. This cute little hotel is located right on the beach. The staff is amazing, very friendly, helpful they were nothing but pleasant & fun to be around. It's a very fun and charming little hotel. It's a public beach which made it fun because there were a lot of people on it. If you like a private quiet beach then this isn't an ideal choice-you can't leave any personal items unattended. The food was very good, the rooms were clean, and it was right on the beach, that made us very happy..

The town has nothing in it, I wouldn't walk around outside of the hotel but if you take a taxi to Coco Beach town which a ten minute car ride its a fun few hours to walk around and explore all the little shops and restaurants.

I would go back next time I visit Costa Rica

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lbelle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2009

Stumbled upon this place and fell in love with it. Incredible value and clean rooms in an idyllic setting. The staff was kind, courteous, and knowledgeable about the area. The locals who frequented the place were nice, engaging and social.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ullr2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Hermosa
0.1 mi away
Hotel ManGaby
Hotel ManGaby
#1 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa del Sueno
Villa del Sueno
#4 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bosque del Mar Playa Hermosa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Condovac la Costa
Hotel Condovac la Costa
#5 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Villas Huetares
Hotel & Villas Huetares
#6 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
2.0 mi away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Velero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Velero

Property: Hotel El Velero
Address: #1 On the Beach, Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Hermosa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa Hermosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel El Velero, a mediterranean-style, boutique beach hotel just paces from the Pacific blue waters of Costa Rica's pristine Playa Hermosa. Hear the waves crash and breathe the clean, salty air as you relax in our seaside tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel El Velero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Velero Hotel
El Velero Playa Hermosa
Hotel El Velero Costa Rica/Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing