We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“horrible rooms”
Review of Hotel El Velero

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel El Velero
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Playa Hermosa
Certificate of Excellence
chicago, IL
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“horrible rooms”
Reviewed 21 January 2011

if the rooms at this hotel didn't smell so bad (mildew) and the common spaces weren't so dirty I might come back because the location on the beach is terrific and also liked the little restuarant (not great value but convenient)-
really hated the poor housekeeping and dreaded going back to our rooms especially when we discovered a beautiful resort down the beach had rooms for just $25 more a night (but now availability the nights we were there)

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    141
    50
    18
    17
See reviews for
96
173
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Courtenay, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2011

My wife, son (15) and I stayed here for 6 days over the Christmas break and were pretty happy with our selection.

1) The hotel was clean and organized. Beds were a little firm, rooms were spacious, towels, bathroom, TV, AC were all good.

2) The hotel staff and the restaurant staff were very helpful, polite and attentive. If anyone tells you different then they caught someone on a bad day. We stayed for almost a week and never had any issues or problems. The front desk staff also helped book our shuttle to San Jose when we headed home.

3) The hotel is right on the beach - you walk out of the restaurant and "Voila" you're on the warm sand of Playa Hermosa. There is no doubt about the fact that the majority of the hundreds of people on the beach at any given time, about 85% were local families. But.....there are fairly affluent people and did not pose a threat or risk to our family. They came to the beach much like European, Canadian or American families. They had their cooler of beer (yes they can drink...), blankets, sand buckets and toys for their kids, packed lunches, etc. They're not interested in stealing your money, or your sandles or hastling you to buy this or that. Been to Mexico many, many times and the beach flavour here was one of you being like everyone else. You just blend in to part of the crowd. If you want a beach where all the locals are prevented from accessing and it's reserved for tourists only, then this isn't the place. Unlike some posts, we were never interupted by the music playing at the bar across the street. It probably has something to do with where your room is located in relation to the street.

4) The beach was clean from one end to the other for the entire 6 days. My wife and I walked it every morning. One time a dead fish washed up on shore and it was gone in an hour or two. The water is very calm here - some water skiing takes place in the bay. The calm waters are great for swimming, throwing a frisbee, renting jetskis, etc. but if you want to surf then you're in the wrong place. When the locals pack up at the end of the day, they take their stuff, garbage included, with them. Clean is good..... We had very few vendors trying to sell us their wares which was nice.

5) We checked out Playa de Coco one afternoon (just the next bay south) and we were not impressed at all. It is a much busier place, tons of touristy shops (they get a little boring after a while), lots of traffic, lots of places to eat, etc. If you're younger and single then this may appeal to you as they have some nice bars and clubs for drinking, dancing or partying. I did find the beach quite filthy however and they were far fewer people on the beach than at Playa Hermosa. Coco just has a different flavour than Hermosa: Coco is busier, more party opportunities, more tourist stuff and a beach that was on at least one day, much dirtier and less used by beach goers. Hermosa has a nicer, cleaner beach, far fewer places to eat and party and less of a tourist flavour.

6) Around Hotel El Velero within 15-20 min. walking distance: a couple of places to eat including a very modern sports bar where you can watch NFL football, hockey, etc. decent food too. An ATM is located right beside the sports bar. A sizeable grocery store is nearby if you wanted to get some fresh fruit, pastries, juice, booze, etc.

All in all, we were quite happy with our hotel selection, we never felt threatened or that we'd been taken advantage of and that's important if you're traveling with your family. I hope this review helps :)

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blurr4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburn, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

If being on the beach is your #1 priority, then pick this hotel. Once you exit your room, you are literally two minutes from getting in the water. The only other positives I can say is that the hotel staff at the front desk and restaurant were very friendly and attentive, and the restaurant food was always good.

Some of the things I did not like:

1) Had to sleep with earplugs because the bar across the dirt road, Pescado Loco, played loud music well into the night. Someone also set off fireworks in the hallway one night.

2) Hotel stated it had free Wi-Fi, but it was down for half or our stay. When we asked what was the problem, they stated sometimes the wind direction impacts the service. Huh?

3) Beach towels were old, bleach-stained, and torn. If you lose one, be prepared to shell out $20.

4) Hotel has ~12 beach chairs for guest use, but numerous times locals squatted on them leaving the guests no where to sit.

5) Speaking of locals, the hotel seemed to be a transit point from the road to the beach for them. They seemed to park in the "secure" parking lot at will and walk through the restaurant/pool area to the beach.

6) The maid never seemed to clean out glasses or empty out the water in the ice bucket. I also came back to the room after her cleaning service with some personal toiletry items strewn over the shower floor.

Good location, but the price was not worth it. I would recommend staying at another hotel on the hill.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2010

This was our fourth trip to C.R.Our first stay at El Velero.Our 7 day stay couldn't have been
better.The staff is great anything we asked for we got .Louis and Jose are the best. Make
sure to have dinner at the hotel on Wed. or Sat. night the outdoor B.B.Q.is very good.Get
the whole Red Snapper.If you have transportation a trip to Coco is fun,lots of rest.to choose from.There is a what we call a "C"store on the main road in Hermosa it has a good wine selection and snacks, if you want to have your own cocktail hour on the second floor porch(a nice view of the ocean.)

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timberlakejim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donegal;PA
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2010

We just returned from Playa Hermosa and although we did not stay at the Hotel El Velero, we had several breakfasts and a dinner there. The food was delicious and a good value. The staff was great, especially Luis. Very friendly and helpful. Service was the best and the location right on the beach is perfect!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acmepanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2010

We did not stay at Hotel El Velero, but we joined our friends who were staying there for dinner and drinks. First, we four adults and four kids ages 6 to 11 swam in the warm ocean surf while the sun slowly set. Amazing. Swim suits still on, we walked up to El Velero, where the kids continued their fun in the swimming pool and we grown ups enjoyed happy hour. Drinks extended into dinner... The menu options were limited, but everything was grilled fresh right next to the outdoor dining area and tasted great.

The service was friendly and attentive, and the location outstanding. Overall it was a perfect evening. What really won us over was that when we asked for help calling a cab to get back to our hotel up the hill the waiter wouldn't hear of it. He said Playa Hermosa only had one cab and he wasn't on duty that night. Otherwise we'd have to call a cab from Playa del Coco and pay the trip value from there. So he drove to our hotel himself! Now that was great service!

The desk staff also booked us a great morning snorkeling trip. They found us the best price, only $150 for all eight of us for a three hour morning tour. Playa Hermosa is a great place to visit, and I really appreciated the great service from Hotel El Velero.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monkey_family4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2010

We stayed at El Velero one of the last nights in Costa Rica.

The hotel is right on the beach and very near a place that rents out kayaks, snorkel equipment and jet skis. Rooms are big, clean, and have an in-room safe. There was not an ocean view from the room but the King size bed and cable TV made up for that.

Restaurant was OK. I guess there are others that are better nearby. They do fire up the BBQ on Wednesday and Friday and offer grilled fish, lobster, and other items.

Hotel has a small pool, offers sunset cruises, a does have a great view from the restaurant and veranda. They also have friendly staff that speaks English.

Moderately priced ($80 with tax and fees). Definitely a place we would check out again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WonderWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Hermosa
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bosque del Mar Playa Hermosa
0.1 mi away
Hotel ManGaby
Hotel ManGaby
#1 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
357 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa del Sueno
Villa del Sueno
#4 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Condovac la Costa
Condovac la Costa
#5 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
539 reviews
2.0 mi away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
2.0 mi away
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
#2 of 3 in Playa Panama
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Velero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Velero

Property: Hotel El Velero
Address: #1 On the Beach, Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Hermosa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa Hermosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel El Velero, a mediterranean-style, boutique beach hotel just paces from the Pacific blue waters of Costa Rica's pristine Playa Hermosa. Hear the waves crash and breathe the clean, salty air as you relax in our seaside tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel El Velero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Velero Hotel
El Velero Playa Hermosa
Hotel El Velero Costa Rica/Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing