We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villa blanco”
Review of Villa del Sueno

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa del Sueno
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Playa Hermosa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2013

In March 2013, we were without a hotel and Villa del Sueno had a suite available. We enjoyed every minute there and I fell asleep in the hammock while reading. Peaceful and quiet, while sitting on patio, with soft lighting at night. Bathroom is large , lots of towels supplied.
Kitchen is well supplied, range and fridge worked great.
Pool area makes for nice pictures, and good for a relaxing dip. Rooms are comfortable, with lots of closet space. No internet to villa, which is a pain but sitting in the restaurant lounge with laptop was fine. All around this was a pleasant place not far from the beach. Looking forward to another visit.

Room Tip: lower level is better access
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GPS-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
There are newer reviews for Villa del Sueno
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2013

We stayed 7 nights from April 7, 2013-April 14, 2013. We not only stayed at Villa del Sueno, we got married there and spent our honeymoon there. Sylvia, one of the owners of the property, is absolutely a wonderful person! She takes great pride in her property! And Leo and Christian at the front desk… they are the BEST! Super accommodating, top notch people! Randall who served our wedding dinner was top notch! Villa del Sueno is a beautiful place to stay. Great rooms, super clean, and a great looking property. Every morning and every evening we would take the short walk down to the beach which was just awesome. We would wake up every morning to birds chirping. When we return to Costa Rica someday, we’ll be sure to return to Villa del Sueno. No doubt, we loved everything about it. Book with them today!
-Dave and Cindy Smith

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheSmartChic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I stayed for 9 nights (3/23 to 4/1 2013). I reserve this vacation way back September 2012 when it offered bonus (free breakfast) on BOOKIT.COM. Make sure free breakfast is included on your printed voucher. If not complain (BOOKIT.COM) like I did before leaving and it will be arranged. The WIFI is only accessible in the main building (restaurant and pool area) also there is no TV in the room I stayed. The free breakfast is being served by waiters in the main building (7AM- 9:30AM). You need to give the free breakfast ticket given by reception on arrival. Always free coffee and there are 2 menu choices for breakfast Continental (small sliced of assorted fruits, cakes, yogurt with cereal and orange juice) or Tipico (hot rice mixed with black beans, 2 eggs and orange juice). The hotel looks and feels like a time share villas. The beach is five minutes walk and super market (Super Mercado) is 12 to 15 minutes walk from the hotel. It is best to book an activity that picks up on the hotel (with lunch or dinner included) including round trip airport/hotel pickup to enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank moonrays4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Stayed here mid December and left on the 23rd, supposed to be high season but felt like a ghost town. Staff was friendly and accommodating, we were located across the street in one of the upstairs rooms. Not a soul in sight, had the entire pool to ourselves on the villa side. The room was spacious and clean, only complaint were the large ants that roam the floor and walls at night. I don't think they bite but they are a bit of a nuisance.

The walk to the beach was not too far, although a bit tiring at times with the heat it isn't but 5 minutes down the road. The sailing trip part of the honeymoon package was very nice, was about a four trip that included lunch and snorkeling. Highly recommended to book through the hotel.

The hotel breakfast was very nice. Dinner at the hotel was also one of the best meals in Costa Rica, sure beats beans, rice and chicken.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NivekKevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

My Husband and I stayed for 5 nights (3/24 to 3/29) and loved this place. From the minute we arrived, the people were so friendly and went out of their way to help us. Christian and the other 2 guys at the front desk were so nice and extremely helpful to us, as we planned all our excursions by the seat of our pants basically. The place was extremely well cared for, pool and grounds. Just an fyi: if you need a hair dryer, coffee maker, fridge, alarm clock/radio, or TV, we had the superior room and none of this was in our room, which didnt bother us at all. Also, the beds are not the comfiest, and linens are old. There is AC in the rooms though. Complimentary breakfast was fantastic, and Ronnie was a great waiter, super nice guy. We stayed for dinner one night, Tuesday, when there is live music. It was pricey but the food was good. The drinks are not cheap, so head to Coco beach via $12 taxi (the guys at the front desk call for you and they pick you up in 5min) and get the best drinks at Coconutz, they are fantastic. The beach is about a 5min walk and we didn't mind a bit. If you meet Adolfo on the beach, take him up on the offer to go snorkeling with him, he is the best, great guy. We went on the day tour (Coco tours)to Rincon National Park, we were the only 2, along with our tour guide, Carlos who was fantastic also. We loved our stay and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hikingchickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We went to Villa Del Sueno last week (3-9-13) for dinner and had a fantastic time. Food was excellent as usual and Claude, the owner was on stage with his band. What a night! Half of the restaurant was dancing by the end of the night. It was great fun for all. Villa Del Sueno has been a staple for us since we have been going down to Costa Rice for 6 years now. Never a bad time. In December I had my entire family down and we all went in for dinner. Everyone, even the kids had a grab time and meal. Thank you Claude and Sylvia!

Room Tip: We didn't stay there but I am sure if the restaurant is that nice so are the rooms.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ticoscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Very nice, clean and spacious room, wifi worked fine. Breakfast was not included, but it was pretty cheap and very tasty. Lunch and dinner were delicious too. The hotel is not on the beach, but it is only 5 minute walk from the beach (note - the beach itself is pretty long, and all the action and restaurants are actually on the other side of the beach, so we ended up walking another 10 minutes on the beach to get to the other end, but of course if you prefer the quiet and secluded part, you don't need to go anywhere)
The best part is the staff - they were very friendly and helpful (especially Christian, who went out of his way to answer all our questions and requests). Everybody spoke good English.
One thing that bothered us a bit was the live concert they run several times a week. While the show itself is nice (singers are good and you can dance), it gets pretty loud (we had a second floor room) and it runs till 11pm. Since they played same songs all 3 times we got to hear it during our stay, it was pretty annoying, especially because we tried to go to sleep early after a long day. Other than this show, the hotel is very quiet.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Hermosa
0.1 mi away
Hotel ManGaby
Hotel ManGaby
#1 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
373 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bosque del Mar Playa Hermosa
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Velero
Hotel El Velero
#3 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Condovac la Costa
Condovac la Costa
#5 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
551 reviews
2.1 mi away
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
#1 of 3 in Playa Panama
722 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Acacia
Villa Acacia
#8 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Sueno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Sueno

Address: | 150 meters from Playa Hermosa Beach, Playa Hermosa 39-5019, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa Hermosa
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Hermosa
Price Range: £38 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa del Sueno 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location: 4 Hours north of San Jose. Playa Hermosa, northwest province of Guanacaste. A 25 minutes drive from Liberia International Airport. Playa Hermosa: A 1.2 km. sandy bay protected by volcanic rock formations on either end. Ideal for swimming, kayaking, snorkelling and diving enthusiasts. Hotel Description: 43 rooms set amidst tropical gardens, nestled in the heart of Playa Hermosa. 150 meters from beach. Mediterranean style buildings surround freshwater pools (2), thatched bar, open-air gourmet restaurant . Restaurant Villa del Sueno: Romantic open-air setting, restaurant or garden seating available. Features Mediterranean inspired gourmet cuisine. Noted for excellent service and live dinner music presentations. Serving breakfast and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa del Sueno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Del Sueno
Del Sueno Hotel
Villa Del Sueno Costa Rica/Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing