We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Again”
Review of Villa del Sueno

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa del Sueno
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Playa Hermosa
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Perfect Again”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed 2 weeks in a 2 bedroom villa with 2 kids and had a blast. The pool at the condos is amazing as well as the other pool at the hotel. Our Bartender Ronni made us the best drinks of the trip and we had some amazing food in the restaurant. If you are considering a stay in Hermosa this is the place to be. The staff was so helpful and having a suite with a front desk that booked us incredible tours during our stay made it even better. The walk to the beach is just a few minutes and you can see the monkeys on your way.

Room Tip: get a suite and you will have a private deck and be right next to a beautiful pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rumpunch4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    96
    26
    16
    6
See reviews for
61
139
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

This hotel left us feeling disappointed. We stayed for two night s as part of our honeymoon and found it did not live up to the great reviews it has received on tripadvisor. Our room was very small and pretty basic compared to other places we had stayed at in the area for a similar price. The dinner was very good but again it just felt like we were being ripped off and that there is much better value to be had in this part of Costa Rica namely the vista Bahia resort in nearby playa panama- for a similar price we had a beautiful suite set among the trees and the resort has its own little private playita.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cliomon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
245 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

this was a nice villa for the family. we had 2 rooms and 3 beds so it was comfortable. the pools were nice for swimming, relaxing and watching bats at night. the food was good for breakfast and dinner. the staff was really helpful and made the visit much more relaxed. rooster in the morning was an interesting alarm clock at 430, but that was part of the fun as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdrdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turrialba, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

At the risk of sounding arrogant, our business has afforded us the pleasure of having friends in high places (and low places – thank-you Garth Brooks) throughout Costa Rica. As a result, we are often invited to visit particular areas of the country and trial-test tours and activities. We do this year-round, however despite these perks, Ricky and I opt to spend our precious (and rare) vacation time exploring new Costa Rican territory discovered upon a whim – whether this be a corner of the country we have not yet visited, a new accommodation option in a town we are already familiar with, or a restaurant, local attraction, or unique shop that we happen to hear about through the grapevine. On one of our most recent vacations, Ricky and I headed to Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste (not to be confused with Playa Hermosa, Puntarenas). We found ourselves relaxing at a “beautiful beach” (the English translation of “Playa Hermosa”).

Our accommodation of choice was Villa Del Sueno. In my opinion, this hotel is perfectly located within walking distance to the beach – not directly on the water (so you avoid the noise created by beach-goers), yet only a short two minute walk away (offering visitors a much more remote hotel atmosphere and tranquil environment). For those with rented vehicles, parking is widely available on-site (parking is also free), and the hotel is only a few minutes from a supermarket and restaurants. Staple amenities include a pool, free WI-FI internet service (although I was able to surf the net from our room, I found the strongest signal near the lobby/pool area), and an on-site restaurant and bar. Extra bonuses include the friendly hotel staff and nightly live music (think calm and relaxing lounge vibes, not karaoke or rock n’ roll beats).

Villa Del Sueno is a beautiful oasis hidden amongst natural greenery. The property is quiet and is designed to allow travellers to bask in the peacefulness by offering quaint sitting areas outside each room, an outdoor lounge area close to the pool, and indoor/outdoor seating at the restaurant. In addition, we thoroughly enjoyed the on-site food (try the Pasta Mama Mia for dinner). Overall, the small hotel property, its clean and charming rooms offering visitors the basics, helpful hotel staff, and competitive hotel rates make Villa Del Sueno a favourite of ours worth a mention in the northern Guanacaste region.

Truth be told, the entire Playa Hermosa area is a favourite of ours. There is something about this part of the country that is just our cup of tea. It lacks the tourism offered by popular beaches such as Manuel Antonio, Jaco, and Tamarindo (which is great for those who are looking for a beach to relax at, although not ideal for those who are looking to have access to tours and/or watersports).Playa Hermosa is arguably best suited for an older audience (especially when compared to beach towns such as Puerto Viejo and Montezuma that tend to draw a younger crowd), and fortunately it remains a clean and relatively crowd-free beach for visitors to enjoy. In addition, the sand is unscathed by rocks or shells, the water is warm, and the sunsets are beautiful. All in all, a great spot to retreat to from beaches Tamarindo, Conchal, or Flamingo (to the south), Monteverde or La Fortuna (to the east), or else Liberia (home to one of Costa Rica’s two international airports) which is conveniently situated only 45 minutes from this hidden hotspot.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CostaRicaTravelBlog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

In March 2013, we were without a hotel and Villa del Sueno had a suite available. We enjoyed every minute there and I fell asleep in the hammock while reading. Peaceful and quiet, while sitting on patio, with soft lighting at night. Bathroom is large , lots of towels supplied.
Kitchen is well supplied, range and fridge worked great.
Pool area makes for nice pictures, and good for a relaxing dip. Rooms are comfortable, with lots of closet space. No internet to villa, which is a pain but sitting in the restaurant lounge with laptop was fine. All around this was a pleasant place not far from the beach. Looking forward to another visit.

Room Tip: lower level is better access
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GPS-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folsom, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2013

We stayed 7 nights from April 7, 2013-April 14, 2013. We not only stayed at Villa del Sueno, we got married there and spent our honeymoon there. Sylvia, one of the owners of the property, is absolutely a wonderful person! She takes great pride in her property! And Leo and Christian at the front desk… they are the BEST! Super accommodating, top notch people! Randall who served our wedding dinner was top notch! Villa del Sueno is a beautiful place to stay. Great rooms, super clean, and a great looking property. Every morning and every evening we would take the short walk down to the beach which was just awesome. We would wake up every morning to birds chirping. When we return to Costa Rica someday, we’ll be sure to return to Villa del Sueno. No doubt, we loved everything about it. Book with them today!
-Dave and Cindy Smith

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheSmartChic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freeport, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I stayed for 9 nights (3/23 to 4/1 2013). I reserve this vacation way back September 2012 when it offered bonus (free breakfast) on BOOKIT.COM. Make sure free breakfast is included on your printed voucher. If not complain (BOOKIT.COM) like I did before leaving and it will be arranged. The WIFI is only accessible in the main building (restaurant and pool area) also there is no TV in the room I stayed. The free breakfast is being served by waiters in the main building (7AM- 9:30AM). You need to give the free breakfast ticket given by reception on arrival. Always free coffee and there are 2 menu choices for breakfast Continental (small sliced of assorted fruits, cakes, yogurt with cereal and orange juice) or Tipico (hot rice mixed with black beans, 2 eggs and orange juice). The hotel looks and feels like a time share villas. The beach is five minutes walk and super market (Super Mercado) is 12 to 15 minutes walk from the hotel. It is best to book an activity that picks up on the hotel (with lunch or dinner included) including round trip airport/hotel pickup to enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moonrays4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Hermosa
0.1 mi away
Hotel ManGaby
Hotel ManGaby
#1 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
351 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Velero
Hotel El Velero
#3 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
412 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bosque del Mar Playa Hermosa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Condovac la Costa
Condovac la Costa
#5 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
536 reviews
2.0 mi away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
Villa Acacia
Villa Acacia
#7 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Sueno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Sueno

Property: Villa del Sueno
Address: | 150 meters from Playa Hermosa Beach, Playa Hermosa 39-5019, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa Hermosa
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Hermosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa del Sueno 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location: 4 Hours north of San Jose. Playa Hermosa, northwest province of Guanacaste. A 25 minutes drive from Liberia International Airport. Playa Hermosa: A 1.2 km. sandy bay protected by volcanic rock formations on either end. Ideal for swimming, kayaking, snorkelling and diving enthusiasts. Hotel Description: 43 rooms set amidst tropical gardens, nestled in the heart of Playa Hermosa. 150 meters from beach. Mediterranean style buildings surround freshwater pools (2), thatched bar, open-air gourmet restaurant . Restaurant Villa del Sueno: Romantic open-air setting, restaurant or garden seating available. Features Mediterranean inspired gourmet cuisine. Noted for excellent service and live dinner music presentations. Serving breakfast and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and Booking.com so you can book your Villa del Sueno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Del Sueno
Del Sueno Hotel
Villa Del Sueno Costa Rica/Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing