We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent location”
Review of Villa Acacia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Acacia
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Playa Hermosa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 November 2012

We rented a villa for 3 nights, its well equipped (fridge, microwave oven, coffee maker, stove, toaster, blender), swimming pool its ok, no very big, but enough for kids under supervision, its 160cm on the deepest, its located at 300 feet from the beach, so you can walk and leave the car at the hotel, there is a very well stocked supermarket nearby and El Coco its a 3 mile drive, there you can find bigger supermarkets and lots of restaurants.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rbth22000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2012

This hotel had great customer service, but was definitely very quiet and slow during our visit. I believe we may have been their only guest as we did not see anyone else on the property the 3 nights we stayed there except the staff/owners. Regardless, they took great care of us!

The first night we stayed in a Standard room at the back of the property. Room was OK, a little on the dirty side and also did not have WIFI. The property has WIFI but since it's located by the front desk, the rooms are too far to get any signal.

However, due to the recent earthquake off the coast of Costa Rica (9/5/12), a window in our room broke the second day we were there so they moved us to villa at the front of the property and we stayed there for the remainder (2 nights). This worked out great! Villas are very spacious, had a nicer bathroom and the WIFI worked! So glad we were upgraded/moved, it really made a huge difference! I suggest going for a Villa if you can. I know it costs more, but worth it seeing that their rooms are quite affordable to begin with especially during "green" season.

Breakfast was delicious. Choice of American or Local (Typico/Tico)! Husband and I had the local option every morning! Freshly cooked!

Only major disappointment was the beach right by the hotel, Playa Hermosa. Playa Hermosa had such great reviews but I did not care for it. Let's just say we spent an hour on that beach the day we got there, and never went back the remainder of the time we were staying there. Sand was dark grey, water looked dirty, and overall just not the beach we were expecting. Luckily there are a few nicer, more private beaches (almost white sand, clear blue water) nearby and that's where we spent most of our time at. Phew.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank babygirljo16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

I stayed at this wonderful hotel 3 years ago when I was traveling solo and have returned w/ my wife who shares my enthusiasm for this impressive hotel. Tico owned and run by a wonderful family, one is immediately impressed by the well kept grounds, great pool and beautifully appointed rooms. the included breakfast continues to be the best. Its a happy place. I feel so welcome and at home here. Travelers have achoice of standard rooms or villas which have a full kitchen and allow guests to self-cater. As before the place is spotless. Everything works well. The a/c, the beds are still very comfortable tho admittedly they are getting older and will probably need to be replaced in about 3 years. Linens and towels are high quality.
The only negative I can come up with concerns the "guard dog" who seems dejected and sad. Im probably anthromorphising but as a tried and true dog lover I feel compelled to mention this. My wife says its cultural and I should accept it and I do yet it bothers me but hell I sleep w dogs. stay here its a fine place you wont be sorry!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

I have stayed at Villa Acacia several times with groups visiting Costa Rica. It is one of the nicest properties that I visit. In a small town that isn't overrun by tourists, the hotel is two short blocks from the beach. (You can see the beach from the front of the property.) There are rooms in a pair of 2-story buildings and several individual cabanas. The basic rooms are spacious, very clean, comfy beds, small fridge, AC. The cabanas also have kitchenettes, sitting areas and a small front porch. They serve breakfasts of Tico and American fare. There is a pool with a nearby shower to rinse of sand from the beach. The grounds are immaculate - always an employee raking and cleaning the grounds and pathways. There is a gated parking area and night watchmen that survey the grounds all night long. The prices are much more reasonable than the hotels on the beach, and many of those properties are not as nicely kept as Villa Acacia. (Yes, I visit the others always thinking ahead of the next group trip to Costa Rica.)

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TreadLightAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

After looking at the highly recommended Hotel Velero and summarily rejecting it, we found
this gem of a hotel just up the street. Though not right on the beach, it is one block from the beach.
The villas are very well equipped, private and comfortable. The pool is small but lovely with chairs well placed in the shade.
Breakfasts were sensational. If you choose not to cook in your room, the breakfast choice are either American or typical. Both were well prepared with the freshest of ingredients.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 23andcounting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2011

My partner and I stayed in an upstairs superior room with one queen and one single bed. The room was clean, bed was OK although the pillows were worn. The bathroom was larger than expected with a nice walk-in shower. The room has an balcony with two rocking chairs (great to place to read and relax) overlooking the grounds which were well manicured. The property has a nice large clean pool with chaise lounges. The breakfast included was a choice between a local 'Tico' style or an 'Americano', it was good and served with good local bean coffee. The property also has individual villas which has a kitchen, therefore breakfast is not included. Playa Hermosa is a sleepy village with a nice beach which is about a 3 minute walk away. Playa Panama (about 5 mintues drive away) was even nicer. They also offer secured parking. If you are looking for a quiet, clean ,moderate place to stay, this may be right up your alley.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AtlantaPerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2011

Excellent high ceiling rooms, great swimming pool for the kids, very close to the beach, clean property, private parking howver the restuarant shut down at 7pm and there were too many food choices nearby.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClevelandSunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Hermosa hotels
0 mi away
Hotel ManGaby
Hotel ManGaby
#1 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
397 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Villas Huetares
Hotel & Villas Huetares
#6 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa del Sueno
Villa del Sueno
#4 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Condovac la Costa
Condovac la Costa
#5 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
563 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bosque del Mar Playa Hermosa
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Velero
Hotel El Velero
#3 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Acacia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Acacia

Address: Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Hermosa
Price Range: £59 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Acacia 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering an extensive garden with endemic fauna, sun terrace, swimming pool and free Wi-Fi throughout, Villas Acacia Beach & Garden Hotel is located 70 metres from the beach. Guests at Villas Acacia Beach & Garden Hotel will enjoy breakfast that they can choose between an American breakfast and Costa-Rican food breakfast for an extra fee. They can also find a variety of restaurants within 2 minutes' walk. This property is 10 minutes' drive from Coco Beach and 20 minutes' drive from Daniel Oduber International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Villa Acacia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Acacia Hotel Playa Hermosa
Acacia Hotel Playa Hermosa
Villa Acacia Costa Rica/Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing