We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“could be great”
Review of Villa Acacia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Acacia
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Playa Hermosa
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, NY
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“could be great”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

A fine place to stay, could be better. We were given a place in the far corner away from everyone. They said all the other villas were taken, but people were never there. Place could be great...witht a little work. fine for price.

Pros: the price, the gardens, the front desk girl, the friendly gardeners, private space, kitchen for long term guests

Cons: Villas 7 and 8, the owners outdoor gym equipment, the bathroom (smell), the safes.

Room Tip: Not villas 7 or 8 - DEF not 8!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrooklynDanNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    45
    13
    2
    3
See reviews for
23
52
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights in one of the "villas". Although the grounds are lovely and well maintained (2 gardeners seemingly full time!) the villas themselves are dated. The structures are beautifully made but the furnishings were nothing special. Surprisingly actually, because with some small investments, these could be really top of the line and they could charge a premium. The bathroom is another story - it stinks. Literally. It smells like a port-a-pottie. With the door closed and some imagination, it was not a deal breaker but it is not at minimum US bathroom standards.

Also not great: The safe was well, unsafe. It was a cheap-o unit that could be easily removed from the room and was locked only with a tiny luggage lock! Be prepared to carry your valuables with you or get creative with hiding things. The area may look a little sketchy to the average U.S. bear but it was actually quite safe.

That said, the location and staff were great. The woman (young lady?) at the front desk was especially helpful and we loved being a block from the beach. Having the little villa and seating area with rocking chairs outside was wonderful.

A nice home away from home at Playa Hermosa but if you've got the bones, stay down the beach at Bosque Del Mar - but this is pretty great for 1/2 the price if you can stomach the bathroom and have a plan for stashing your valuables.

Owners: fix it up and you've got a first class hotel on your hands!

Room Tip: Spring for the villas - it's worth the extra money. Watch out for villas 7&8 which overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ovelocityo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

First, the positive...nice grounds, proximity to beach and restaurants, and nice pool. Pretty tranquil, in total. However, the management created unnecessary stress for me, my family and staff - around breakfast and pre-payments, etc. Management treatment of staff in front of us almost ruined our entire experience. I would not returned, even if I got a 50% discount. Life, let alone vacations, is too short. En resumen, una estrella

Room Tip: stay away, be warned of rude management toward staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sluckumms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed at this resort for over a month, yes a month, we stayed in a villa, number 3 I think, upon our arrival and being checked in by the highly qualified staff, we were lead to our villa where two maids met us and opened the villa, raising blinds, opening windows to let in the wonderful sea air, and spraying a lovely lavender scent in the air. Our villa consisted of a king bed with large bathroom, kitchenette and lovely sitting area for breakfast, tv, air conditioning, coffee maker, toaster, and everything we would require for our stay. Outside our villa we had two lovely leather rockers for our sitting pleasure which we very comfortable. The villas are impeccable as well as the grounds, the pool is just the right size for dipping off and then suntanning on the lovely deck they have provided, it is very tranquil and you wouldn't realize that you were about a block from the ocean and a busy street up above. Such a lovely spot to take a stroll after dinner or walking in the morning. We felt very safe.

The owner is an amazing person who we got to know after our lengthy stay as well as the rest
of the family, they did everything they could to make our stay the best ever, which they excelled
at with no problem. The food in the restaurant is excellent and we enjoyed meals there on different occasions.

My overall review of Villa Acacia is go and enjoy, I read reviews about other hotels in the area
and advise to steer clear, this should be your place to put your bags and enjoy Costa Rica.

Room Tip: We found the villas lovely as we like to buy locally and cook our own meals and they come equipped w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glenn-judith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We stayed there in a Villa and it was fabulous; the friendly staff went to extraordinary lengths to help us spend a pleasurable time.
The exotic garden is beautyful and very well kept and so is the pool.
Breakfast is done to order; wonderful.
Next to the Hotel there is a nice little place with good food.

Great place!

Room Tip: The villas are great, the little houses
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We stayed in Acacia for 3 days, we booked a "Villa" which is better (I think) than the rooms. The houses are dated but well maintained. Good service overall and nice gardens and pool area.
Playa Hermosa is ok, not a great beach but by staying in Acacia you're really close to some really great beaches.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sphak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pereira, Colombia
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed three days at one of the hotel units at the back of the property by the parking garage. Nice room, very clean. There is free gated parking there under a roof. Very nice small pool and beautiful landscaping. About a block from the beach and great sunsets. Howler monkeys just down the road. Needed help getting an update for my GPS, they called and loaded it onto my SD card on the hotel computer, very helpful. Thinking that this is where I would want to live in Costa Rica, great area.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Hermosa
0.0 mi away
Hotel ManGaby
Hotel ManGaby
#1 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
357 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bosque del Mar Playa Hermosa
0.1 mi away
Villa del Sueno
Villa del Sueno
#4 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Condovac la Costa
Condovac la Costa
#5 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
539 reviews
2.0 mi away
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
#2 of 3 in Playa Panama
680 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Villas Huetares
Hotel & Villas Huetares
#6 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Acacia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Acacia

Property: Villa Acacia
Address: Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Hermosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Acacia 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering an extensive garden with endemic fauna, sun terrace, swimming pool and free Wi-Fi throughout, Villas Acacia Beach & Garden Hotel is located 70 metres from the beach. Guests at Villas Acacia Beach & Garden Hotel will enjoy breakfast that they can choose between an American breakfast and Costa-Rican food breakfast for an extra fee. They can also find a variety of restaurants within 2 minutes' walk. This property is 10 minutes' drive from Coco Beach and 20 minutes' drive from Daniel Oduber International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Acacia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Acacia Hotel Playa Hermosa
Acacia Hotel Playa Hermosa
Villa Acacia Costa Rica/Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing