We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pros and Cons - Overall great place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Condovac la Costa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Condovac la Costa
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Playa Hermosa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pros and Cons - Overall great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

My husband and I just finished our stay here and overall it was a good experience. I'm not sure if we were in a renovated room or not, but we didn't feel like the rooms were terribly outdated like other reviews suggest. This place seems to be more family friendly than couple friendly, but we didn't mind. Though if you're looking for a romantic feel, this place isn't it.
Pros: Having the kitchen is nice so you don't have to eat out every meal; there is a pool table and table tennis near the pool; the restaurant had good food and reasonably priced; the beach is a quick walk (we were int he 500 section); the shuttles come around often to take you to/from the pool and reception area; there are several restaurants/bars along the beach which you can walk to.
Cons: We didn't see any monkeys, which we were expecting based on other reviews; there's a small mini-market on property but it doesn't have the necessities to cook much in your room (you have to travel to a larger market by taxi) and it was closed at random times during the day.

Room Tip: Keep the doors closed to each room so the a/c doesn't work overtime to cool the room. Our a/c in...
See more room tips
Helpful?
Thank Amber C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    232
    94
    23
    16
See reviews for
188
175
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

After reading so many reviews I was a little skeptical about staying here but once we arrived it was a beautiful resort, very well maintained, the staff is so nice and they definitely go out of their way to make sure everything goes smoothly. Appliances worked great, everything you need is there. I do suggest to buy salt, pepper, oil and things of that sort when you go grocery shopping. I do not have any bad things to say about the resort.

Guanacaste was very dry when we arrived, I really did not understand the whole dry/wet season until we arrived. Most tours are a far drive so be ready to travel early mornings and return late in the evenings. We did most of our tours thru Mardigi Tours they are the best, pricey but they go out of their way. We did the Monteverde, Arenal, and White water rafting through them.

Room Tip: We stayed in 806 which wasn't that bad, we didn't have a great view but we did have monkeys...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lizzet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverview, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

Me and my wife spent a week here and i have to say the only thing that i didn't like was that you cant find ice tee with out lemon because the tee they serve everywhere was per made or bottled. but as far as the people that worked everywhere and the natives we came across in our travels we found everyone to be VERY polite and accommodating. and most went over and beyond. as for the food it was just what i like seafood but my wife did not care for the lobster from the Pacific it is not like the ones from Maine nor Caribbean. yet the price on everything seem to be fair except gas with the avg. month salary being 500 to 600 US.dol. 3.76 a litter seems a bit high. but most locals take the bus. defiantly going back in July next year if not sooner.

Room Tip: ask for one close to the bus pick up the hills are not something most want to deal with your whole s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Charlotte, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

There is one restaurant and one bar. Day time cooks not so great. Chef Luis a few evenings in the week was awesome and saved the day! Staff all very friendly and good spirits but sloooow.
Place in bad need of renovations and cleaning. On site tour company pricey but worth it. Beware of scammers and tours for other resorts especially at the bottom of the property entering the beach. Ripoff artist's and do not deliver on promises. They waste your precious vacation time. The all inclusive food and bar is not a typical package so beware. You do not get the same deal as other all inclusive resorts and most tours include some meals. Entertainment needs to be more open to English speaking guests. It is a Long ride or drive to most tour areas. I suggest no one visit in dry season, was dry, brown and control burns everywhere so very smokey every day.

Room Tip: This is definately for the budget minded and not romantic couples get a way vacation. The old sayin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolyn b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

My wife and I brought our 8 month old and a friend to Condovac, and it was very nice. Many of the staff were very pleasant and helpful. The grounds were lovely, and the two-story, two bedroom units were clean, expertly kept throughout the stay, and modern. The kitchen was great, with apliances to allow us to make our son's baby food and have breakfast at "home" each day. I cannot think of anything the unit or resort lacked overall. The pools are great, the beach lovely.

One experience marred our stay. It appears that our room's main door was opened by someone other than us or the cleaning staff twice in one day. Security was called and was unbelieving. Once I convinced management of the reality and gravity of the situation, we were moved to another unit promptly. On the positive side, our new unit hosted many monkeys in the adjacent ttrees, to the delight of my son.

Despite this mishap, Condovac was very pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank psullivan904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nassau, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

Spent a week at Condovac in February 2013 and loved it. The place is clean with an excellent location. The staff was ALL very friendly and bend over backwards pleasing. We loved the accomodations and the location. The shuttle drivers were VERY good, I can't say enough good things about this place. We did not take a food plan and only ate one dinner at the Hotel and that was the only dinner we were not crazy about the entire week. The food was overly salty, the only negative about the entire week.
We did a couple of excursions with Mardigi tours and were extremely pleased. Marvin ,Digi, Mark and Diana are all OUTSTANDING people. We will go back and will use Mardigi again.
Our only negative was the timeshare tour at Playa Las Palmas. They are thieves and will rip you off if you let them. We "bought", then did some homework when we got back home to NY and found out that the rental agents they use in Minnesota does NOT have a license. Another one of their sources gave a US address and they do NOT exist. It is an overall SCAM. DO NOT BUY from them.
I hope this review helps some people stay away from Playa Las Palmas.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 129j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013 via mobile

Good place, comfortable villa rooms, amenities are nice one week excellent planned.... Definitely will like to come back

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CuisineLov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Hermosa
0.3 mi away
Hotel ManGaby
Hotel ManGaby
#1 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Velero
Hotel El Velero
#3 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa del Sueno
Villa del Sueno
#5 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bosque del Mar Playa Hermosa
1.7 mi away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
1.8 mi away
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
#2 of 3 in Playa Panama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Condovac la Costa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Condovac la Costa

Property: Hotel Condovac la Costa
Address: Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Playa Hermosa
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Hermosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Condovac la Costa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Condovac la Costa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Condovac La Costa Hotel
Condovac Costa
Condovac La Costa Playa Hermosa
Hotel Condovac La Costa Costa Rica/Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing