We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly helpful staff”
Review of Condovac la Costa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Condovac la Costa
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Playa Hermosa
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed at Condo Vac La Costa April 18 thru 26. We were there on an RCI exchange. We stayed in a 1 BR 1 Bath unit in the 400 level. Our unit was a little dated as far as decor but it was clean and well maintained. Also, we had daily maid service so there was always fresh linen and towels. In RCI terms, I would give the resort a silver rating on accomodations. The restaurant was adequate, the pool area was very nice with a nice ocean view from the infinity pool, especially at sunset. Staff was friendly and helpful. Almost everyone spoke English and they were always asking if there was anything they could do for you.
The Mardigi tours which is on site at the hotel is excellent and highly recommended. We did the Arenal and Rincon De La Vieja tours. Both were long days but well worth the time and expense.
There are several eateries on the beach and on the 2 streets accessing the beach. We were especially pleased with the food at Pescado Loco, The Mangaby, El Quijote and Ginger.
The ocean water was in the low 80's, as warm a Pacific water I have been in.

Room Tip: we had room 408. Not a luxury accomodation but clean and comfortable and it had an ocean view. The k...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank enochNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CondovacLaCosta, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Condovac la Costa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

We're glad to read that you enjoyed your stay in Condovac.
We really appreciate your review, it'll help us to improve our services.
Hope you visit us back soon.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (551)
There are newer reviews for Condovac la Costa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 551 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

Did not stay at the facility but did spend a long day there.
Pools and the facility are clean. Staff is attentive and friendly. There's a small bus that transports guest around the grounds and down the hill to the beach. There a number of vendors who will swarm you when you first get off the bus but they are not pushy.

I do recommend the massages on the beach ($25 for one hour), Great bargain, especially at sunset.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Condovac L, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Condovac la Costa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

We're happy to read that you enjoyed your vacation in our resort.
We really appreciate your review.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We spent a week here for our winter getaway. The resort could use some refreshing (there are a lot of frayed edges), but the friendly staff, beautiful views and inviting pool area more than make up for it. We think we're in pretty good shape, but those shuttles were a lifesaver! It would help to have a little shade at the pool. We did our tours with an independent tour guide, Herson Segura, and enjoyed every minute of them. We wanted something more personalized and small and with his back roads travel, use of small local restaurants and individual attention, he fit the bill. He was very knowledgeable about his country-flora, fauna, culture, politics, you name it, and shared it all in excellent English. He made us feel we had a friend we could count on while we were there and we highly recommend his services. Oh, and we loved the resort's recycling program!

Room Tip: We stayed in the 500 block, middle of the block has more shade and there are great views from here
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Condovac L, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Condovac la Costa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

We're glad to read that you enjoyed your stay in Condovac.
We're always looking forward to improving our services, hence, we really appreciate your review.

We hope you visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Recently spent two weeks at Condovac and was delighted with the accommodations and proximity to the beach. The public pool area is lovely and boasts a wonderful view of the bay below. The reception and housekeeping staff are gracious and helpful, and the shuttle that carries you up and down the steep hills was terrific - we rarely had to wait more than a couple of minutes.

The restaurant, though attractive, offered rather uninteresting food at high prices. However, since we had a car and our unit featured a nice kitchenette with granite countertops and a good-sized refrigerator, we had no problem having good meals. There are also several nice cafes within walking distance, and the Luperon grocery store a short ride/walk down the main road was well-stocked with meat, produce, dairy products, and beverages.

Mardigi Tours, which has a desk in the lobby of the hotel, offers fantastic tours of every type. It is a relatively small company, run by a delightful couple named Marvin and Digi, and the primary booking agent, Diana, is fluent in English and very helpful in booking the kind of adventure you are seeking.

Great resort, with something for everyone.

Room Tip: Units in the "500" range are roomy and well-situated for a quick walk to the beach. The po...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SaraMae50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Condovac L, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Condovac la Costa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Thanks for your review.
We're glad to read that you enjoyed your stay in Condovac.
We hope you visit us again soon.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Condovac for our honeymoon. The staff was amazing! Over the top customer service! The rooms are very basic. Nothing fancy but a nice place to sleep. The pool area is very nice. Swim up bar overlooking the ocean! Ask Alexis to make you a piña colada!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessy Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Condovac L, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Condovac la Costa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Thanks for your review.
We're glad to read that you enjoyed your stay in our resort.
We hope you visit us again soon.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Our family just returned from two wonderful weeks at Condovac with enough good memories to last a lifetime. The resort was worthy of the gold crown rating, mostly because of the three beautiful pools, one of which was an infinity pool, the beach, and the delicious food and excellent service at the restaurant. It was so nice to be able to eat outdoors in February. Even though it was hot the cool ocean breeze made it very comfortable. Mardigi Tours did an excellent job planning tours for us, adventurous ones for our sons and more sedate tours for my husband and myself. Diana, Mark, Marvin and Humberto were very helpful, caring and knowledgeable about Costa Rica so we came away with a good ooverview of Costa Rica, even though it would take more than two weeks to see it all. Four of us shared a one bedroom condo because that was all that was available when we made our reservations. However, there was plenty of room for us and our belongings even though another bathroom would have been helpful. The condo was a little old fashioned but everything worked. The main criticism we had was that the sofa beds in the living room were not suitable for adults. They were futons with thin foam mattresses placed on a plywood plank. Children might have been able to have a good nights sleep on them but not adults. Also, there was no dishwashing soap, kitchen sponge, dish towel, face cloths(I realize these are not common in foreign countries but RCI resorts usually supply them), or a clock except in the TV remote. If any of these things are important to you bring them with you or buy them in the market you pass on the way from the airport. The mini mart at the resort does not have liquid dishwashing soap. Also, believe them when they say this resort is not suitable for the elderly or for those with difficulty walking. My husband has trouble walking but he enjoyed himself anyway because the shuttle was very reliable(the most we ever waited was 3 or 4 minutes) and it goes everywhere on the resort. The staff was more than willing to help him and was very caring. However, keep this in mind if you have an elderly person with you, even though, as I said, my husband loved it here anyway. In conclusion all I can say is that this is a wonderful resort worthy of its gold crown rating, especially due to its beautiful surroundings, beach, pool area and restaurants, and especially due to the wonderful, caring people who work here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the ocean.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Filomena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Condovac L, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Condovac la Costa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

We're glad to read that you had a great time during your stay in Condovac.
We're always looking forward to improving our services, hence, we really appreciate your review.

We hope you visit us again soon.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Had a wonderful stay at Condovac la Costa celebrating our 15th anniversary and husband's 40th birthday. The view of the ocean from lobby area is breathtaking. Construction crew was busy repairing sidewalks and the road during our stay. We were in the 500 block (exchanged with RCI timeshare) and had a beautiful view of ocean from our front porch.

PROS: The room seemed recently renovated with granite counter tops, ceramic tile, and nice colors. Excellent housekeeping from Cristina, who made us towel animals. Friendly front desk staff and most of them spoke good English. Quick turn around from maintenance crew when we discovered our front door wasn't locking. Beautiful pools (especially the infinity pool at sunset) and outdoor restaurant. Fast shuttle service to the top of the hill. We walked it most times for extra exercise. Loved the close access to the beach. Tienda near beach sold t-shirts and souvenirs. Mini Market up top to pick up a few supplies. Diana, Mark, and Marvin from Mardigi Tours was the highlight of our trip.

CONS: Room lacked basic amenities liked a sponge/dish rag, dish soap, salt & pepper that is usually provided at this type of place. Large amount of ants in kitchen. Hard bed took a few nights to get used to. Locals on beach trying to sell you: tours, pottery, food, jewelry, etc.

MARDIGI TOURS: Loved working with Diana to plan tours before our trip.
Hacienda Guachipelin: Went with Mark to Rincon de la Vieja to the Hacienda Guachipelin adventure tour. This was a 10 and the most exciting trip day of my entire life. Tour included ziplining, rock climbing, 1 rappel, horseback riding, white water tubing, delicious lunch buffet, mud baths and hot springs. Mark was friendly, informative, and took awesome pictures of our day.

Miravalles Volcano- Went with Marvin on this tour to Las Hornillas Volcanic Activity Center. Rode horses to the trails. Hiking over suspension bridges and saw several waterfalls. Hubby had the chance to "cliff dive" off the platform into the waterfall. Walked in crater area to see steam and boiling mud. Rode the crazy water slide 2 times each, thankful for the helmet. Delicious casado lunch in restaurant. Tour ended with sauna, mud bath, and hot springs. Marvin is a nature buff and pointed out many incredible sights and was a master with our camera.

Thanks Condovac for the memorable stay!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NCDenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Condovac L, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Condovac la Costa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

We're glad to read that you had a great time during your stay.
We're always looking forward to improving our services, so we really appreciate your review.

Hope you visit us again soon.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Hermosa
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bosque del Mar Playa Hermosa
0.3 mi away
Hotel ManGaby
Hotel ManGaby
#1 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
372 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Velero
Hotel El Velero
#3 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villa del Sueno
Villa del Sueno
#4 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
294 reviews
1.8 mi away
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
#1 of 3 in Playa Panama
721 reviews
1.7 mi away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Condovac la Costa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Condovac la Costa

Address: 400 Metros Norte de la Iglesia Catolica | Club Condovac, Playa Hermosa 000011, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Playa Hermosa
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Hermosa
Price Range: £69 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Condovac la Costa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Condovac la Costa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Condovac La Costa Hotel
Condovac Costa
Condovac La Costa Playa Hermosa
Condovac La Costa Costa Rica/Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing