We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible time. We left.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Playa Hermosa
Acampo, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Terrible time. We left.”
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

The rooms are on par with a Super 8. Two double beds which my husband did not fit in. The A/C was unable to cool the rooms. They were shabby. This was a common complaint amongst other guests we talked to. The lounge chairs had pads that were dirty and split. No one wanted to lay in them. The food was very good but the drinks were watered down and used very cheap liquor. We were booked for 4 days and left after two. The general staff was good but the front desk and managers were unwilling to address any problems we had. The spa is separate from the hotel and it is very good. There are so many places that are much better than this place.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank PoulG_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Villas_Sol, Asistente at Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Hi PoulG_13

We will like to apologize for all inconveniences that you had during your stay, what we will consider to give you the best solution to this problems.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    398
    282
    134
    108
See reviews for
344
511
28
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Great resort with excellent service. If you are looking for a great vacation without worrying about getting overcharged or bad service, Villas Sol is THE PLACE. I and my wife went there after a resort stay in Cancun where we got overcharged and made us very uncomfortable. Villas Sol wasn't as fancy as Villa Palmar in Cancun but their service, nature, honesty, etc.. were the best.
We'll return there soon as we had a great time.

Room Tip: Everything was fantastic, except alcohol. If you want decent wine, beer, or liquer, bring some with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Seung L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Villas_Sol, Asistente at Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Hi Seung L

We are glad that your stay was enjoyable and that met your expectations, we hope you at your next visit.

Thank you very much for choosing VIllas Sol Hotel & Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Our family of four (including two boys, ages 8 and 10) just returned from a mid-January weeklong stay at the Villas Sol. The weather was great (January is a wonderful time to visit). The views from the resort are beautiful - we observed a number of amazing sunsets and loved the view of the ocean from the restaurant every day. The pools are nice (although the hot tub is not hot at all), the beach is an easy shuttle ride (or walk, if you don't mind hills) away, and the staff was always pleasant.

We booked the stay as a timeshare exchange and were only able to get a studio unit during this time of year (basically two beds, a desk, TV and bathroom). This is a tight fit for a family of four, and there was not enough storage space. The beds were also quite hard. We also had to purchase the all-inclusive option. We did not find the food to be very good. My husband and I were OK with the food, and my kids tried some of the options available, but they ate a lot of bread and white rice. The a la carte restaurant was better, but we could only eat there twice.

Villas Sol seemed to change their Web site not long before we left. The old Web site showed more options available as far as kid's activities, etc. This is not shown on the new site. There is not a kid's club (just a few activities here and there during the day by the main pool or on the beach). Our kids loved playing volleyball in the pool, and everyone was always very accommodating in allowing them to join in. Also, they do have kayaking and snorkeling for free, but these are tours you sign up for on select days (we did kayaking, which was quite nice). There is also a sunset cruise for a fee. We elected to do tours on three different days, but I had prebooked these through a different company before arriving. There are many tour options available to book through the concierge upon your arrival.

We were not aware until about a week or two before our arrival that our stay included free transportation from the airport to the hotel (no documents that we received showed this). I had already booked transportation. Return transportation is not free.

Unfortunately, the Web site showed that the gym was closed through November for upgrades, but it was still closed during our stay. WiFi is only available in the lobby, and for a fee. We have AT&T cell service, and had no service the entire stay. There was one day that we had to call maintenance due to bugs in the room, and they responded quickly.

Overall, we had a very nice stay. I'm not sure that we would return to Villas Sol, unless we had the option to stay in a villa, and not have to purchase the all-inclusive plan.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank BJS_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Villas_Sol, Asistente at Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback.

We are glad to hear that your stay was enjoyable and you could do different activities.
our GYM as mentioned was remodeled and relocated during the last weeks, we regret that for this reason he could not use it during your stay with us. And we would like inform the are Kids Club its open from 11 am at the Pool with contest for theme and face painting every 2 days.

Looking forward to your next visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We really enjoyed our vacation to Costa Rica; the Villas Sol was a lovely place to stay. The food was amazing; fresh and tasty every day. The bartenders kept our drinks topped up too! Gilbert helped us to organize a few day trips at great rates, so go see him for the "deals"! We can't wait to go back...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cindy523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Villas_Sol, Asistente at Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Greetings from Costa Rica!
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. It is so good to hear that the our staff made for a great stay.
Thanks for choosing Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Our family of four stayed here for a week over New Year's. The view was incredible, the room was fine and the staff tried their best to be helpful. The beach was nice, except for the trash (I imagine it is cleaner and quieter at other times of year). One glaring problem is that the hotel charges for wifi. We've traveled all over Costa Rica and parts of Nicaragua and nearly every restaurant, hotel, and bar has free wifi if you are a customer. Yet at this place you are paying a high price to stay there and they want to charge you for it! We went down to a restaurant on the beach and used it there, and maybe this is what they want so you eat somewhere else and don't use the all inclusive. The food was ok, especially breakfast was good, but at other meals it was just ok and there was not much for the kids. Also, no fish was served all week and we are right on the coast! We were disappointed about that. I would say the all inclusive was not worth the money.

It was like pulling teeth to get into Heliconias, the reservation restaurant. We had two meals there included with our package and were given tickets to redeem for reservations. The first morning I went after breakfast and was told all the spots were taken for that day. The next day they told me it was closed. Then they tried to tell me it was full again but finally I had to ask for the manager and explain in Spanish that we had paid for these meals and we needed to get in twice. I do not like having to be so demanding, so this was unfortunate. Such a ridiculous song and dance to get something you have already paid for! And the food and service was indeed much better in Heliconias.

Then, New Year's Eve. I will say that this hotel caters to Costa Ricans, and we liked that about it. There was a big party planned for New Year's Eve, a very loud dance party which we understand is what ticos like to do for New Year's. But LOUD. It would have been nice to know this was going to happen. There was a really awful DJ - not an actual band, but a guy with a screen showing videos and he shouted over the music his own interpretation. He was shouting from 9pm to 2am. Thank goodness our room was not right there by the pool, because all of this (with big speakers) took place 5 feet from some people's rooms. Yikes. Again, I understand this was popular among some guests but they really should have warned us, because you could not sleep until it was over. Also there were fireworks going off right outside our room until 2 am too.

The bar was lovely with an excellent view and helpful, hardworking bartenders. The shuttle to the beach was always there when we needed it. The hotel is a nice size as far as all inclusives go because you don't have to walk forever to get to the front desk or the pool, and the check-in was fast. It was a nice vacation but for the price I think the above issues should be addressed.

We never met Gilbert, but people seem to rave about him. Having someone like that who we felt was on our side and sharing information to improve our trip might have made the place seem a bit friendlier and made us feel like valued guests. The staff we did meet were friendly enough but weren't going above and beyond as we have experienced in many other Costa Rican hotels.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Amy MN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Villas_Sol, Asistente at Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
That thank you very much for your feedback, like you say its more quieter in other times of year. We apologize for the inconvenience you might have encountered during your stay with us.

Thank you again for sharing your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

This hotel is a good choice as long as you don't encounter any additionnal problem. As soon as a problem arise, the hotel's management is not incline to help you out at all. They just stay on their ground even though the mistake is theirs. As for our part, we were told by the desk employee that we could make a local phone call from our room through them without any fees, but it actually costs you 1$ per minute. Though, if you go down to the front desk, the local call will be free. Unfortunately, we were only told that later on from another front desk employee. So not every employee is knowledgeble or understant what you are asking them when you speak in english.

Other than that, we had a blast! The view from the hotel room on the side of the ocean is just incredible. The service at the restaurant is in general pretty good. The food is well diversified. Most of the employees are really nice to you. The room was fairly clean when you know what to expect in a tropical country. The beach is nice and only at 5 minutes walk from the hotel though it is a good climb. There is also a shuttle available every 15 minutes.

All and all, we had a great time but it was just sad to leave the place with a bitter taste.

ps. I was always told you judge a business by how you handle a problem and I have to say that this one didn't quite reach these expectations.

Room Tip: ocean view on the main hotel on the third floor is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Myriam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Villas_Sol, Asistente at Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It is regrettable that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. Thanks for providing the details . Our guests' feedback is very important for us.
Please accept our apologies on behalf of the team.

Thank you again for sharing your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

My friend and I went here in the middle of December. It was the best vacation ever!!!! The staff really made the trip. They are so nice and friendly and took care of us so well. Even getting us drinks when we didn't order them :) The resort is amazing and relaxing. I spent so many hours floating in the pool looking over Costa Rica. I came back feeling so relaxed.

Definitely go down to the beach! We had massages on 2 days for only $20 each. We ziplined and did river rafting through the Agency at the resort. Both were great trips.

The atmosphere is great. We met so many nice families and couples and you get to know them well since it is all-inclusive. We will definitely go back!

Room Tip: If you stay at the Hotel, you are really close to all ammenities. The rooms are really nice too and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank michelle a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Villas_Sol, Asistente at Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Greetings from Costa Rica!
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. I am very happy to hear that the staff knocked your socks off and that the property offered . Thanks for choosing Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Hermosa
4.3 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 14 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
1.7 mi away
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
#2 of 3 in Playa Panama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#1 of 1 in Playa Matapalo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 7 in Playa Flamingo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,002 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
15.4 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort

Property: Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort
Address: Promotora La Costa, Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Hermosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort is a development of 100% Costa Rican capital located on Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste on the northern Pacific Coast and managed by Promotora La Costa, a pioneer company in tourism development in Guanacaste. We are a 4-star resort, and have a Tourism Sustainability Certification (CST) of the Costa Rican Tourism Institute (ICT) and we are affiliated with Resort Condominium International RCI, being the only resort in Central America included in the Gold Crown category granted by this company. We work under an all-inclusive service in 54 deluxe hotel rooms and 109 fully equipped villas of 1, 2 and 3 bedrooms. With unbeatable view of Papagayo Gulf. Among many alternatives for entertainment and sports offered by Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, you’ll find a wide variety of activities for all ages - water sports (motorized & non motorized), sport fishing, diving, kayak & jet ski as well as many one day tours that will take you to the many national parks and hide-away beaches in the area surrounding our resort. Our great location makes not only our resort a great destination but also offers a convenient closeness to all major tours and activities taking place in the Guanacaste area and surroundings. Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort is a place for all ages and types of vacationer. A great choice for families traveling with children, single travelers, honeymooners, people looking for a relaxing vacation or those looking for fun and excitement. Our friendly, helpful staff welcome all guests with a “PURA VIDA” and a smile & the best service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Sol Hotel And Beach Resort
Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Playa Hermosa
Hotel Sol Beach
Sol Hotel Playa Hermosa
Playa Hermosa Sol Hotel
Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort Costa Rica/Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing