We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,372)
Filter reviews
1,372 results
Traveller rating
345
436
307
153
131
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
345
436
307
153
131
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swim up bar all inclusive package bedroom villa a la carte restaurant swiss travel costa rica wet bar negative reviews different theme private pool main bar pura vida each meal hotel lobby hot springs beans pineapple
Filter
Updating list...
452 - 457 of 1,372 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I stayed with my partner in a small villa for the weekend. The place is great, the only complaint I have is that there's no wifi in the villas. The staff is nice enough, very clean and the food is good too.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Juliana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Villas_Sol, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Greetings from Villas Sol Juliana B,
Thanks you so much for your feedback, we are glad to hear you had a great experience at the resort. We will be awaiting your next visit next year. Thanks for choosing Villas Sol Hotel & Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed in this hotel in April of 2014 on a vacation with our friends. This was our second trip to Costa Rica. Previously we stayed at the riu. Please let my start with the basics of the hotel. This is NOT a resort, it's a hotel. It's located in the middle of a community. It is not on the beach! It's not even walking distance to a beach. The hotel does offer shuttles to the beach but they run every 15 mins. The pools are very small. The room very well designed however upon check in the sheets had hair on them and the door to the balcony was broken. We had asked for a different room but was rudely denied. Then we were told that someone would fix the door but no one ever came. The food selection is extremely limited. There is however I lovely view from the dining area. The front desk were rude but the wait staff was extremely friendly. This hotel is not 24hr all inclusive. Service of food and drinks stops in the evening. tHERE are Zero activities at night and absolutely no night life. It was so bad we had to check out and relocate to the riu.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank always2nice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Villas_Sol, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Greetings from Costa Rica!!
Thank you for choosing Villas Sol Hotel & Resort for your vacations. Let me start by apologizing for the feeling that was caused. We do thank you for providing a detailed account of your experience with us .
We look forward to welcoming you again; we enjoyed taking care of you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Would just like to briefly comment on my first trip to Costa Rica, which was during NYE 2014. My girlfriend and I were very happy with the accommodations provided at Villas Sol. The room was quiet and clean and well-updated. The hotel is walking distance to the beach and the 2 pools are clean with bars at each. The service was attentive and friendly. The buffet area has an excellent view of the bay. My only complaint is there was never any change available to tip. And I have to give credit to Daniel, one of the waiters/bartenders, who provided exceptionally friendly service and advice for all things local. Thanks Daniel! -"Nick" and Leslie

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Nicholas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Villas_Sol, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Greetings from Villas Sol Thanks you so much for your feedback, we are glad to hear you had a great experience at the resort. We will be awaiting your next visit next year. Thanks for choosing Villas Sol Hotel & Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Looking for a place off the beaten path? This hotel is the place. 10-20 minutes from Playa Coca or Liberia, yet a short walk to a nice beach and with lots of tours to state parks, volcanoes, or Nicaragua. It's no wonder the hills are studded with celebrity homes. The buffet style meals were healthy, wholesome, and filling. The staff was great, going so far as to let Dannie teach a water Zumba class. We made a ton of friends from all over the world.

Room Tip: The higher up, the better the views if you stay in the hotel. If you're using the time share villas, stay downhill if you don't want to have to use the shuttle buses.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Villas_Sol, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Greetings from Costa Rica!!
Thank you for choosing Villas Sol Hotel & Resort for your vacations. We do thank you for providing a detailed account of your experience with us .
We look forward to welcoming you again; we enjoyed taking care of you .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed here in February 2014 and had a nice relaxing time here. Wish we could have stayed longer. Our room was clean and everything was in good order. The view from our balcony was really nice - looked right out to the bay & we were situated over the small pool. The resort was quiet at night and lively during the day. The pools were nice but they really should have umbrellas by the pools for shade. I burn very easily and found it hard to stay out of the sun without any type of umbrella over my lounge chair. The resort is located on a hill but the shuttle to the beach came often so there were no worries there. The buffet food was good but not exceptional - met our needs. The drinks were good also. The entire staff was friendly and always willing to lend a helping hand if needed. We took a shuttle to Coco beach, nice town. Took the river tour and had an excellent time - saw lots of wildlife and the tour guides were fun. We did not spend much time in our room, we mostly just slept & showered there. We kind of wish the bars stayed open later at night but who needs to drink that much ? We will go back as we were not there long enough to do all we wanted. The restaurant staff and bartenders were all very friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank D-Klickitat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Villas_Sol, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

D-Klickitat, Thank you for choosing Villas Sol Hotel & Resort for your vacations.
we are glad to hear you had a great experience at the resort.
We will be awaiting your next visit next year.

We look forward to welcoming you again; we enjoyed taking care of you.

Thanks for stay at Villas Sol Hotel & Villas Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews