We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing scenery” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Playa Hermosa
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing scenery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

but a pity the food didn't live up to much. It was an amazing place and the staff were amazing throughout. The room service seemed to be takeaway food and was delivered as such which was a surprise, considering it was all inclusive and this was the only thing we paid for we expected some proper plates etc. but oh well. The pool is awesome too!

Room Tip: Go up in the hills to the villas for the best views (at a cost) or just walk up and catch the sunset...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nordydave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Villas_Sol, Guest Relations Manager at Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Greetings from Costa Rica nordydave !!

Thank you for choosing Villas Sol Hotel & Resort for your wedding we are so glad to hear you had a great experience at the resort. We look forward to welcoming you again; we enjoyed taking care of you.

Thanks for stay at Villas Sol Hotel & Villas Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    390
    278
    133
    107
See reviews for
339
503
27
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

I had so much fun . Mainly because of the entertainment that was provided by the hotel. The bartenders and entertainment staff were awesome. Very fun !! The actual reception desk staff were not that great. We did have a few issues with our room and unfortunately they were not able to accommodate us . But other than that it was a great vacation and we definitely will return! Pura vida !

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2001adriana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Villas_Sol, Guest Relations Manager at Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear 2001adriana,

Thank you for your comment, we appreciate. Thank you for the advise that you give it to others travelers, you place a lot of positive points and reaffirms two weaknesses we are trying to improve. I hope that you want to come back soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

The staff are friendly and the scenery is very beautiful! The beach is just a short shuttle ride away, and the shuttle comes around often enough. The hotel is situated on a hill, so if you have difficulty walking long distances, and prefer not to wait on a shuttle, try to get a room by the main building and buffet restaurant. There are a few day time events during the day (beer pong, aqua aerobics, pool volleyball, etc) and some night time things (poker night, dancing). It's not a place for young people who are just looking to party. You'd have to go into Coco beach to do that (it's a $10 USD shuttle from the hotel including return). You can also do a bit of shopping at Coco beach for cheaper prices than the hotel. The food is just okay. If you're a very picky eater, you may not enjoy eating here. There's always plenty of meat options (beef, pork, fish and chicken), some kind of rice, beans and vegetables. For breakfast, there are no fresh egg options (omelettes, fried eggs) like I've experienced at other resorts but there were scrambled eggs. They could have been cooked a bit longer...as they were a bit runny. There was bacon served for ONE breakfast....every other day it was small wiener/sausage type things. The a la carte option was delicious and you get to eat here twice during your stay. I had the steak which was AMAZING and my friends had the salmon and mahi mahi, which they enjoyed. The servers, bartenders and front desk work very hard and are eager to help you out with whatever you need. Overall, I'm glad I went, because it was Costa Rica!! I'd recommend this to someone who isn't too picky and is looking for something decent at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Rooms are located on a hill so try to stay in the main building for easier access to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luvs2TravelAllOver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Villas_Sol, Guest Relations Manager at Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Greetings from Costa Rica, Luvs2TravelAllOver !!

Thank you for choosing Villas Sol Hotel & Resort for your vacations. we are glad to hear you had a great experience at the resort.
We look forward to welcoming you again; we enjoyed taking care of you.

Thanks for stay at Villas Sol Hotel & Villas Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

My family and I had extremely bad experience with this place. We paid for renovated 1 bedroom villa, but they gave us very old, dirty with very bad smell, old furniture, with broken air conditioner, broken blinds villa. When we asked for a different place and said that we paid for renovated, the management said they do not have any other place, while we witnessed them placing other people in better villas. The air conditioner and blinds were fixed only on third day. They put us in a cheaper hotel room after 3 days but refused to give us credit, very unfriendly, very bad place. It was our first time in the country, will never go back... Very disappointed, we lost money, had very bad vacation because of the management of this place...

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Villas_Sol, Guest Relations Manager at Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Gretings from Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort Dina M,

First let me start by apologizing for the feeling that was caused to you in during your experience with us. We take all of our guests' feedback very seriously, and appreciate it as a valuable teaching tool.

Thanks again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Playa Hermosa hotels

Ottawa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

My husband and I stayed a week in early April. The hotels staff did the miniminal required, never going out of their way, especially the front desk. We had booked an excursion through the company on site and the front desk never passed on the message that the fellow had called to say he would be late, so we waited over half an hour. To top it off, the tour guide Daniel (who also drove that day as we asked for a private tour) rear ended a money truck because he was driving like a bloody idiot in construction to make up for his tardiness. The company said they would re-imburse us but never did. Food was ok at the restaurant. The A-la carte restaurant is not open every night, so it is best to reserve asap.
We did a couples massage at the on-site salon which I highly recommend. The view on the bay is breath taking.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mimionthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Villas_Sol, Guest Relations Manager at Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Gretings from Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort

Let me start by apologizing for the feeling that was caused to you in during your experience with us. Thank you for the advise that you give it to others travelers, you place a lot of positive points and reaffirms two weaknesses we are trying to improve.

We take all of our guests' feedback very seriously, and appreciate it as a valuable teaching tool.
Thanks again for your feedback. We hope you...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neptune Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
133 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

It's a nice all inclusive resort, but not the best. Built on a hill, the beach is either a steep hike from the hotel or a shuttle bus ride. When we were there the beach and the resort was quite crowded. The restaurant's food was good, tending toward more local fare, which was nice. There was no wi-fi, but there was a TV in the room.

Room Tip: Stick with the white wine or beer, the liquor is so watered down and the red was terrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank neptune-mick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Villas_Sol, Guest Relations Manager at Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Neptune-mick ,

Thank you for your comment, we appreciate. Thank you for the advise that you give it to others travelers, you place a lot of positive points and reaffirms two weaknesses we are trying to improve.

I hope that you want to come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

A great place to stay & play. One of the workers - Daniel Cruz was amazing! Great worker & made us feel right at home!! The resort has transportation readily available & many excursions you can book through the hotel. We did sunset snorkeling cruise, Nicaragua day tour, & river boat cruise. All 3 were excellent.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adventure0880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Villas_Sol, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Greetings from Costa Rica, Adventure0880 !!
Thank you for choosing Villas Sol Hotel & Resort for your vacations. we are glad to hear you had a great experience at the resort. We look forward to welcoming you again; we enjoyed taking care of you.
Thanks for stay at Villas Sol Hotel & Villas Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Hermosa
4.2 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 14 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,377 reviews
1.7 mi away
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
#2 of 3 in Playa Panama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#1 of 1 in Playa Matapalo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 7 in Playa Flamingo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,945 reviews
15.4 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
6.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort

Property: Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort
Address: Promotora La Costa, Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Hermosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort is a development of 100% Costa Rican capital located on Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste on the northern Pacific Coast and managed by Promotora La Costa, a pioneer company in tourism development in Guanacaste. We are a 4-star resort, and have a Tourism Sustainability Certification (CST) of the Costa Rican Tourism Institute (ICT) and we are affiliated with Resort Condominium International RCI, being the only resort in Central America included in the Gold Crown category granted by this company. We work under an all-inclusive service in 54 deluxe hotel rooms and 109 fully equipped villas of 1, 2 and 3 bedrooms. With unbeatable view of Papagayo Gulf. Among many alternatives for entertainment and sports offered by Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, you’ll find a wide variety of activities for all ages - water sports (motorized & non motorized), sport fishing, diving, kayak & jet ski as well as many one day tours that will take you to the many national parks and hide-away beaches in the area surrounding our resort. Our great location makes not only our resort a great destination but also offers a convenient closeness to all major tours and activities taking place in the Guanacaste area and surroundings. Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort is a place for all ages and types of vacationer. A great choice for families traveling with children, single travelers, honeymooners, people looking for a relaxing vacation or those looking for fun and excitement. Our friendly, helpful staff welcome all guests with a “PURA VIDA” and a smile & the best service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TravelUp, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Sol Hotel And Beach Resort
Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Playa Hermosa
Hotel Sol Beach
Sol Hotel Playa Hermosa
Playa Hermosa Sol Hotel
Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort Costa Rica/Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing