We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bill Beard's Costa Rica

Bill Beard's Costa Rica
Book In Advance
More Info
US$95.00*
and up
Guanacaste Snorkel and Sunset Cruise
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Bill Beard's Costa Rica has been operating scuba diving and adventure tours in Costa Rica since 1970. We assemble packages with or without international & domestic air for diving, fishing, surfing, soft, moderate & extreme adventure tours, transportation and accommodations throughout the country for individuals, families, groups and honeymoon couples.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage, Activities for older children
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

We went to Costa Rica with a family of six so I wanted all of our trips planned out in advance. I contacted Bill Beard's Costa Rica to arrange our tours, two days in Arenal and two in Manuel Antonio. First, I have to say that Daniel in their office was unbelievably helpful and pro-active. He even told me about the crocodile boat tours and recommended that I make the reservation myself (rather than through him) because I would have more time flexibility if I did it that way. Daniel set up four tours for us. It is important to note that some tour operators are employed by Bill Beard's Costa Rica and some are contracted out. I was a bit disappointed by our tour around the Arenal Volcano, which including time at the Baldy Hot Springs, because I thought that more time was going to be spent hiking whereas the tour envisioned (but didn't tell me that this was the case) most of the time at the hot springs, which is more like a spa and which, as a result, probably accounted for a large portion of the cost of the day's tour. In addition, the tour operator came 30 minutes late, which meant that much of our hike was in the dark. (This obviously is not Bill Beard's fault.) The tour that Daniel set up a Rio Celeste/Tenorio was simply fabulous and was the highlight of our trip. If you do that hike, ask for Francisco as your guide. He was one of the best guides I have ever used. The mangrove boat tour was also excellent. The final day's hike through Manuel Antonio National Park left a bit to be desired and didn't really live up to our expectations for several reasons. If you do this hike, make sure to clarify how you will get back from the beach to where you are staying and make sure that the guide brings water and snacks. Let me conclude by saying that upon our return I shared both our compliments and our criticisms with Daniel and he was very eager to hear both, and especially to use our criticisms to help them improve their customer service experience. I would definitely use their services again if I return to Costa Rica.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rsmith90211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBeardCostaRica, Owner at Bill Beard's Costa Rica, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Thank you so much for taking your time to post such a comprehensive review of your trip to Costa Rica with Bill Beard's. It made our day in knowing you enjoyed your trip and our service & plan to return. We really appreciate it and Daniel is extremely happy with your compliments of him and the nice job he did in setting up the logistics on your itinerary so you could do everything you wanted to do. You made a couple of points about communications between the driver guides and the clients that Vanessa, our CEO, has already spoken with you & the guides about and addressed the issues you mentioned. We thank you for bringing that to our attention as that is how we grow and improve our service. Thank you again and we look forward to working with you on your next trip to Costa Rica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    5
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Extremely helpful Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

We just returned from our first but not our last trip to Costa Rica. Not knowing the area, we relied on the advice of Bill Beard's Costa Rica to guide us in a selection of accommodations, airport transfers and dive operation.
They are incredibly helpful, timely and efficient.
We highly recommend them!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Harriet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBeardCostaRica, Owner at Bill Beard's Costa Rica, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
Thank you very much for your nice review and the letter you sent to our agents. They were so happy to get your report and to know that you were happy with the itinerary & vacation package they set up for you. We particularly appreciate the praise for Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort and our drivers, guides and scuba diving operator. We are looking forward to having you visit us again in Dec. 2014. We wish you a prosperous and happy new year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful planning, excellent recommedations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

Bill Beard's planned our honeymoon to Costa Rica. Nadine set us for a number of activities ranging from diving in the Pacific site (Coco Beach) to Cloud forest guided tours, to relaxing at Tabacon Spa near volcano Arenal. She did an excellent job not only from the logistical point of view, but also suggesting nice hotels, sending us to guides for tours and diving (Rocket Frog divers) that were very professional and friendly. On top of that, she got us a really affordable price for an entire package of 10 days.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Josep C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBeardCostaRica, Owner at Bill Beard's Costa Rica, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are so happy that you had a fantastic honeymoon. You are correct, when it comes to logistics, planning, matching clients with the correct accommodations, activities and guides, there isn't anyone better than Nadine. Our association with Rocket Frog Divers and Wave Expeditions for tours has been a wonderful relationship for us all. Thank you again. We hope you will return to Costa Rica and it will be a pleasure to handle your trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic trip set up by Bill Beard's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

We used Bill's Beards to help set up our family vacation with 4 teenagers to Costa Rica in July. We worked with Nadine and she was wonderful in arranging the 8 day trip that we desired while staying in our $6000 budget. The accommodations were great, particularly Casa Quinta at Costa Verde near Manuel Antonio which was perfect for our family of six. All of the tour companies that Nadine set up for us were great - the guides for our rain forest tours were very knowledgable and helped us spot everything that we wanted to see. We would definitely recommend Bill Beard's to anyone interested in going to Costa Rica

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBeardCostaRica, Owner at Bill Beard's Costa Rica, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
We are so happy that you enjoyed your vacation in Costa Rica arranged by Nadine and Bill Beard's. It is particularly gratifying for us since we have four children and nine grandchildren that we have had travel with us around Costa Rica many times over the years. Nadine sets up family vacations as it were her own family and understands staying within a budget. She can definitely get a family more bang for the vacation dollar since she knows the country, accommodation and tours like the back of her hand. Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review. We look forward to arranging your return trip in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seminole, Texas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bill Beards Costa Rica”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

My wife,myself and two other couples just returned from the Rui Palace in Costa Rica. We had an outstanding time. Weather was perfect. This is our second trip and both times we booked all of our excursions with Bill Beards. In our eyes,they are the best. The guides are great and very knowledgeable of the country. We whitewater rafted on the Tenorio River,did a Catamaran with snorkeling, combo ATV,zip line,spa at Rinco de Vieja and half day fishing trip. Let me tell you- it was all great!!! The only small problem we had was with the fishing. Our 31' boat was late due to a mechanical problem. But, a 37 footer showed up at no extra charge and we had a great day. The first fish we caught was 120 lb sailfish. Caught lots of Maui Maui and black tuna. What a great company to book with. We will again. Pura Vida !!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Brett W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBeardCostaRica, Owner at Bill Beard's Costa Rica, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Wonderful report, Thank you for the kind words. We agree with you, it's the guides that give you an insight into the country and it's culture. We go to great lengths to have the best guides for our valued clients. We also love the Tenorio having rafted it the first time many years ago before it was open to the public, and Rincon de la Vieja, as you know is a great place to spend the day and the zip line in Kazm Canyon is the most beautiful and exciting in the country. We are so happy for you on your fishing trip, we always try to upgade to something better if possible. Costa Rica has 124 IGFA world's records in her waters and we love that you caught such a large sailfish. Thank you for traveling with us and we look forward to handling your third trip to Costa Rica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bill Beard's Costa Rica also viewed

Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Bill Beard's Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing