We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Life is Good at La Gaviota!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Gaviota Tropical

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa Hermosa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Gaviota Tropical
Certificate of Excellence
Mineral, Virginia
1 review
“Life is Good at La Gaviota!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

We escaped a cold, blustery week in February at La Gaviota and we are making plans to return next year with a group of friends. The owners Bette and Dawson greeted us and gave us referrals for restaurants and great adventures to zip line and the exciting river cruise. The ambience at the restaurant Roberto's, set the tone for the whole week. The food was delicious and the staff competent and friendly. Luis, Johnny and Tigre will call you by name and remember your personal drink orders. Everything is clean and well maintained. Roberto and Sila are pleasant and organized and manage the hotel and restaurant with positive energy. The community of Playa Hermosa is family oriented and beautiful. We circled the bay area for a couple of hours and enjoyed seeing the white sand beaches and local caves. Most nights we could be found at the roof top pool watching the sunset with our favorite beverage. I was lucky enough to have Carmen gives me two fabulous massage sessions. Book your trip today if you want to enjoy the hospitality of this quiet hotel and take advantage of all that Costa Rica has to offer.

Room Tip: All the rooms have beautiful décor and are very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mamaschu2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
74
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Beautiful hotel with helpful and friendly staff. Direct access to the warm inviting beach and ocean. Hotel provided towels and beach chairs which added to our enjoyment of time spent at the beach.
Breakfast and dinners were delicious. We thoroughly enjoyed the live music during our dinners. After 2 weeks in Costa Rica, this was the perfect place to end our trip. We highly recommend it!

Room Tip: If you want to hear and see birds be sure to ask for the "bird room" but if you want the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

This place is gorgeous. The rooms are spacious and the a/c is great. You might be tempted to turn the A/C off and open the windows, and listen to the waves! Only feet from the walking path that goes up and down the beach. Breakfast was great too!

Would highly recommend this hotel. I'll be staying here again for sure!

Room Tip: All rooms have a balcony that lets you see the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicholasCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

What a fabulous last stop on our vacation through Costa Rica. We could have easily stayed much longer! We stayed in the Pajaro Room with our 3 children (12, 10 and 6) for three nights. The two queen beds and futon comfortably accommodated all of us. The room was modern, very clean and spacious. We enjoyed watching the howler monkeys eat mangoes right outside of our balcony.

Breakfasts downstairs at Roberto's were fantastic. The food was delicious and fresh with an amazing ocean view just steps away. They even made sure the breakfasts were kid-friendly for our children.

We were very pleased with Playa Hermosa. The beach was laid back and not crowded at all. We enjoyed exploring the tide pools at both ends of the beach, and our children loved boogie boarding, shell hunting and building sand castles. Roberto's had beach chairs and equipment for our family to borrow. This was the place where we were able to completely unwind and relax. It was also very convenient to have happy hour and dinner with live music at Roberto's.

When we needed a break from the sand, we loved the pool on the roof! Amazing views during the day and it was great for star gazing at night. We'd love to go back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sherrykgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay!! The location, pool, views, rooms, food/restaurant, service were all superb. Just steps away from the beach and oceanfront, it is the perfect location for both beach bums and those looking for a more active stay who can take advantage of their kayaks, boogie boards, and paddle boards. The 4th floor infinity pool was the perfect place to watch the stunning sunsets each night while still taking advantage of the happy hour special at Roberto's. Having Roberto's restaurant on site was also fantastic and could not have been any more convenient- we didn't even have to leave the hotel to enjoy 5-star meals and drinks! Roberto, Sila, and their entire staff (especially Johnny, Roy and Luis) were extremely accommodating, friendly and really care about their guests- they are the absolute best!

With such a perfect beach front location, luxurious rooftop infinity pool, spectacular sunsets, top-notch fresh good, and attentive staff why would anyone stay anywhere else?! We can't imagine staying anywhere else and would highly recommend it to all of our friends and family!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justyna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

This quaint b&b has a great staff, a great restaurant, comfortable rooms, and an amazing location. It is nestled in the middle of the gorgeous playa hermosa. It has a rooftop pool (4th floor) which is the perfect setting to catch the sunset with buy one get one free drink from the bar on the main level. Shout outs to the staff of Roberto, Sila, Luiz, Johnny, and Roy who became our friends and are one of the best parts of this spot in paradise.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

That was the word most frequently used by our group of 5 couples who spent a week here, and hopefully, this review explains why!

Location: Beautiful! Right on an UNCROWDED beach, rimmed with the shade of coconut palms, soft salt and pepper sand, facing west for gorgeous sunsets, great for walking – about 45 min. worth at a brisk pace, shells and sea glass found sometimes at south end, rocks to climb and tide pools at north end. Great place for a wedding – see my photo of one during our stay- and for a multi-generational family gathering. There is something in this area for everyone – ocean and pool for swimming, sand for little ones, golf, deep sea fishing, snorkeling, zip-lining, horseback riding, sightseeing (the float trip along the Palo Verde River with so many types of monkeys, crocs, birds, etc.) It is also about 2 hours from the Monteverde Cloud Forest and Arenal Volcano area. It is only 30-40 min. from Liberia International Airport.

Rooms: All simply lovely, each beautifully (and professionally) decorated with a theme – beach, birds, rainforest, Guanacaste (a western look and particularly appropriate for a family with kids)- very spacious. Very comfortable beds with quality linens and overhead fans (in addition to quiet a-c) in bedroom, bath, sitting areas and on decks provide for your comfort. The bathrooms are spacious, too, with thoughtful touches such as magnifier mirrors on extension arms, quality lotion, shampoo, etc. Lots of big, fluffly towels. Very clean. Every room has its own deck either facing the sea from the front or from the sides. In addition, there is an outside sitting area on each floor, also with sea view, for the two or three rooms on that floor to share.

On-site amenities:
See their website for all the equipment and beach toys they have to share. There are also games and books to check out. There were always plenty of chairs, etc., for sitting on the beach (in the shade or not). The rooftop pool has the most gorgeous views of the ocean and especially of the sunsets (with your favorite adult drink in hand)!

Their masseuse Carmen gave me the best massage I’ve ever had! $30 for an hour! You can choose to be beside the roof-top pool (but under the shaded part), on the beach, or in your room.

The structure itself is unique and very attractive, with lovely landscaping – in addition to the greenery, one wall has slabs on which each of the grandchildren has created a painting (see my photo) - and sitting areas.

Restaurant on site: Roberto’s restaurant on the ground floor is fantastic! He buys the seafood fresh from local catch every day and then shows such expertise in preparation! There was such a variety and such quality that our party of 5 couples ate dinner there every night of our stay. There are two for one specials at least 2 nights per week – ex.- 2 for 1 filet mignons - $20 per couple! Don’t miss the whole red snapper (he will fillet for you if preferred) and the ceviche – incredible! Indulge in the amazing mango daiquiris, margaritas (both BIG), and martinis. On a challenge, Johnny, one of the bartenders, even made a martini based on the favorite dessert, a bananas flambe martini! Delicious! Seating is under a roofed area and on the grass under the trees (lit with tiny lights at night) facing the ocean.
Breakfast (included in room price) beginning at 8 is a full plate of fruit, freshly prepared juice, coffee, followed by a different egg selection (or choice) with ham, bacon, etc., beans, rice, or potatoes, and toast with jellies made from local fruits.

The staff and the owners are wonderful people who all work to make you feel like family and are always willing to help with any request. We took all of our excursions based on recommendations from Bette and Dawson, the owners. Dawson even talked me through my fear into zip-lining, and I’m so glad I did!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank movinmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Hermosa
0.2 mi away
Hotel ManGaby
Hotel ManGaby
#1 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Velero
Hotel El Velero
#3 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bosque del Mar Playa Hermosa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
Hotel Condovac la Costa
Hotel Condovac la Costa
#5 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa del Sueno
Villa del Sueno
#4 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Gaviota Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Gaviota Tropical

Property: La Gaviota Tropical
Address: 2nd Beach Road to End | Right 75 Meters to Roberto's, Playa Hermosa 5019, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Hermosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully appointed boutique guest house located on the beach. All rooms have ocean views. Full breakfast included ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Gaviota Tropical Costa Rica/Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing