We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expand Your Circle of Friends”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Gaviota Tropical
Certificate of Excellence
Frederick, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Expand Your Circle of Friends”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The B&B Owners Bette & Dawson were wonderful. They have a top quality B&B. Bette arranged 3 fantastic outings for our group of 10 people. The restaurant Owner Roberto and his staff were very friendly & efficient and provided excellent meals at reasonable prices. The coffee and breakfast was complimentary. Each morning we would be served fresh fruit and juices along with a typical Costa Rican breakfast.
There is no spa but Bette has a local masseuse schedule appointments.

Room Tip: We saw all the rooms. Each had a unique quality which provided you with several options depending o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TiimeToTravel08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
76
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We truly enjoyed our time at Roberto's and La Gaviota Tropical. We spent 3 nights but easily could have stayed longer. The restaurant food was excellent and well priced. The service was outstanding and appropriately paced for a leasurely day at the beach. The rooms were beautiful with all of the amenities needed. We stayed in the Guanacastle room with bunk beds and our son loved it. Each morning we joined the stream of runners and walkers on the beach and then enjoyed a wonderful breakfast- coffee, smoothies, fresh fruit and a different daily breakfast dish. The roof deck pool was refreshing and was amazing for sunsets. The hotel has beach chairs and children's toys available for use. The drink prices (especially at happy hour) we excellent. There is snorkeling and kayaking off the beach as well. there were several other restaurants within walking distance. We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagnoliaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mineral, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We escaped a cold, blustery week in February at La Gaviota and we are making plans to return next year with a group of friends. The owners Bette and Dawson greeted us and gave us referrals for restaurants and great adventures to zip line and the exciting river cruise. The ambience at the restaurant Roberto's, set the tone for the whole week. The food was delicious and the staff competent and friendly. Luis, Johnny and Tigre will call you by name and remember your personal drink orders. Everything is clean and well maintained. Roberto and Sila are pleasant and organized and manage the hotel and restaurant with positive energy. The community of Playa Hermosa is family oriented and beautiful. We circled the bay area for a couple of hours and enjoyed seeing the white sand beaches and local caves. Most nights we could be found at the roof top pool watching the sunset with our favorite beverage. I was lucky enough to have Carmen gives me two fabulous massage sessions. Book your trip today if you want to enjoy the hospitality of this quiet hotel and take advantage of all that Costa Rica has to offer.

Room Tip: All the rooms have beautiful décor and are very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mamaschu2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Beautiful hotel with helpful and friendly staff. Direct access to the warm inviting beach and ocean. Hotel provided towels and beach chairs which added to our enjoyment of time spent at the beach.
Breakfast and dinners were delicious. We thoroughly enjoyed the live music during our dinners. After 2 weeks in Costa Rica, this was the perfect place to end our trip. We highly recommend it!

Room Tip: If you want to hear and see birds be sure to ask for the "bird room" but if you want the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This place is gorgeous. The rooms are spacious and the a/c is great. You might be tempted to turn the A/C off and open the windows, and listen to the waves! Only feet from the walking path that goes up and down the beach. Breakfast was great too!

Would highly recommend this hotel. I'll be staying here again for sure!

Room Tip: All rooms have a balcony that lets you see the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicholasCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

What a fabulous last stop on our vacation through Costa Rica. We could have easily stayed much longer! We stayed in the Pajaro Room with our 3 children (12, 10 and 6) for three nights. The two queen beds and futon comfortably accommodated all of us. The room was modern, very clean and spacious. We enjoyed watching the howler monkeys eat mangoes right outside of our balcony.

Breakfasts downstairs at Roberto's were fantastic. The food was delicious and fresh with an amazing ocean view just steps away. They even made sure the breakfasts were kid-friendly for our children.

We were very pleased with Playa Hermosa. The beach was laid back and not crowded at all. We enjoyed exploring the tide pools at both ends of the beach, and our children loved boogie boarding, shell hunting and building sand castles. Roberto's had beach chairs and equipment for our family to borrow. This was the place where we were able to completely unwind and relax. It was also very convenient to have happy hour and dinner with live music at Roberto's.

When we needed a break from the sand, we loved the pool on the roof! Amazing views during the day and it was great for star gazing at night. We'd love to go back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sherrykgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay!! The location, pool, views, rooms, food/restaurant, service were all superb. Just steps away from the beach and oceanfront, it is the perfect location for both beach bums and those looking for a more active stay who can take advantage of their kayaks, boogie boards, and paddle boards. The 4th floor infinity pool was the perfect place to watch the stunning sunsets each night while still taking advantage of the happy hour special at Roberto's. Having Roberto's restaurant on site was also fantastic and could not have been any more convenient- we didn't even have to leave the hotel to enjoy 5-star meals and drinks! Roberto, Sila, and their entire staff (especially Johnny, Roy and Luis) were extremely accommodating, friendly and really care about their guests- they are the absolute best!

With such a perfect beach front location, luxurious rooftop infinity pool, spectacular sunsets, top-notch fresh good, and attentive staff why would anyone stay anywhere else?! We can't imagine staying anywhere else and would highly recommend it to all of our friends and family!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justyna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Hermosa
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bosque del Mar Playa Hermosa
0.2 mi away
Hotel ManGaby
Hotel ManGaby
#1 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
362 reviews
1.9 mi away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa del Sueno
Villa del Sueno
#4 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
293 reviews
2.0 mi away
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
#2 of 3 in Playa Panama
699 reviews
4.5 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Gaviota Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Gaviota Tropical

Property: La Gaviota Tropical
Address: 2nd Beach Road to End | Right 75 Meters to Roberto's, Playa Hermosa 5019, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Hermosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully appointed boutique guest house located on the beach. All rooms have ocean views. Only the Sol y Mar Suite is ocean front. Full breakfast included ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Gaviota Tropical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Gaviota Tropical Costa Rica/Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing