We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and friendly host”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa Hermosa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bombero Adventures B&B
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Like so many other people have said, Gary is a really wonderful host for your time in Playa Hermosa. I wasn't his typical visitor as a solo person who needed a last minute place to stay and get some work done (and who used to live in CR). Gary was super accommodating and friendly. Some of his friends came over for a potluck and welcomed me in, which was really nice as someone traveling solo. The last night of my stay was already booked, so he connected me to some of his friends who have an even more gorgeous place at the top of the hill. They welcomed me in and even taught me how to paddleboard!

While you won't get to hang out with or meet many Ticos, I was really impressed by Gary's relationship with the Ticos around him. For example, he was only a bit hard to get a hold of because he was driving around the women who clean his place (and others) after their car broke down. To be honest, I had my reservations about staying at a place run by a gringo, but I was really impressed.

He is truly a genuinely nice guy who wants you to get the most out of your stay in Costa Rica not to mention the B&B is a great location near the beach with a beautiful view! Playa Hermosa is one of my favorite beach towns in Costa Rica and this is a great place to stay while you're there.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahW26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BomberoAdventures, Guest Relations Manager at Bombero Adventures B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Sarah, Thank you so much for your kind review. You were a pleasure to have and we are really glad we had an opening for you on short notice. You made an impact with our friends here and people are following you on your travels. Please come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

Wonderful, relaxing place! Perfectly decorated, makes you feel at home! Listen to birds and the ocean view is incredible.
Highly recommended. Near to many restaurants and the beach. Perfect sunset view and a very secure place to stay. Hope to come back soon!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AEsquivel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BomberoAdventures, Owner at Bombero Adventures B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

It was a pleasure to have your family stay with us. We look very forward to seeing you in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We weren't able to stay at Gary's B&B because it was already booked but we loved having Gary as our tour guide. He was a pleasure to be with and really took us under his wings. We got set up with two wonderful adventures both of which I would recommend. The sunset catamaran trip and the zip-line, horse-back, mud bath day. Both were just a delight! Gary also let us tag along to his favorite Friday night hang with lots of great people, music and dancing. He gave us a local phone so we could call him anytime with questions or if we needed a ride. It really wouldn't have been the same trip without him. Also, we did get to visit his B&B and I would highly recommend staying there if you can. Absolutely beautiful!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank RinckA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Had a wonderful visit to Costa Rica. Stayed at Bombero B & B with Gary Johnson as host. Excellent location, beautiful views, and expert guidance from Gary about activities. I'm looking forward to a return visit!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We just spent the last two nights staying at the beautiful Bombero Adventures B&B. Our host, Gary Johnson, was gracious, generous and helpful. The room was beautiful, as was the entire B&B. It was quite, relaxing and well situated a 6 minute walk from the beach. I recommend this place unhesitatingly. Gary is very knowledgable about the entire Guanacaste coast, whether it is canopy tours, fishing, surfing, golfing, or sight seeing.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I totally recommend staying at either of these two homes. Facilities were always clean, the beds were very comfortable and the property care taker made our group feel welcome and made our stay exceptional. Gary had all sorts of adventures to recommend and his connections to Costa Rica made it easy for him to make the reservations on a last minute decision.

Room Tip: Before going you need to contact Gary at Bombero Adventures B&B. He will give you all sorts of a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rich R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

A group of 8 friends flew to Costa Rica to meet up with friends who had moved to CR permanently - we were intrigued hearing of their wonderful adventures paddle boarding in the bays, wild and successful fishing adventures, travels over the border to nearby Nicaragua, zip lining, Tabacon Hot Springs near Arenal Volcano, outstanding surfing a few hours away at the pristine Nosara Beach, too many adventures waiting for us just to catch a plane and travel! Gary of Bombero Adventures was a first class host, directing us to the best sites,hosting us on an outstanding property with 2 large and beautifully equipped homes, pools, a blocks walk to the beach! First class accommodations, adventures, restaurants, vehicles, ......... and new friends! Definitely worth doing!

Room Tip: No fitness center persay but our own swimming pool, beach to walk to, direction & help to rent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suespitzl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Hermosa hotels
0.4 mi away
Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Villa Acacia
Villa Acacia
#8 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
112 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel ManGaby
Hotel ManGaby
#1 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Villas Huetares
Hotel & Villas Huetares
#6 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
149 reviews
0.4 mi away
Condovac la Costa
Condovac la Costa
#5 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
567 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa del Sueno
Villa del Sueno
#4 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bombero Adventures B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bombero Adventures B&B

Address: Monte Bello Norte | 80 Meters South of Gingers, Playa Hermosa 50503, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Hermosa
Price Range: £36 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful villa with private pool overlooking the Pacific Ocean in Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste, - Managed by a U.S. newly retired Fire Fighter. The first floor, for a total of 3 1/2 bathrooms. Two second floor balconies provide breathtaking views of the blue Pacific. The house has all new custom built furniture and GE appliances. Top quality bedding, and linens imported from the US.The villa sleeps 6 in beds and has two inflatable beds for a total of 8. Combine it with Villa Aurelia next door and bring a party of up to 16 guests--6 bedrooms, 8 bathrooms 2 kitchens-all for the price of one large house.The pool is surrounded by a stone deck and enjoys a view of the ocean, the village and the surrounding hills- the sunsets will knock you out!We are on the hill just above the tree canopy-close to the village but high enough to enjoy the ocean view-compare to village properties with no view ( or no private pool) and to properties so high on the mountain that walking to the village is impossible. This casa is 8 minutes to the beach on foot, 1 minute by car.Playa Hermosa is the best vacation destination in Costa Rica. Its quiet, safe and is proud to fly the "Blue Flag" for its ecologically clean and safe beach. The surf here is for swimmers, not surfers. On the beach you will find several restaurants. Let us also set up your tours for this area.The village has several American/European restaurants, as well as local eateries. It does not have nightclubs or casinos- you can travel 10 minutes south to Playa del Coco for that. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bombero Adventures B&B Costa Rica/Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing